$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
502 reviews
Fabulous

This hotel was brilliant. Great location, amazing room, and the staff were terrific! See full review

  • CBlax
  • Dec 19, 2014
Girls trip

Staff was polite accommodating and helpful. We asked about the quickest way to get to SFO an were... See full review

  • Las Vegas Lorie
  • Oct 22, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (502)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 502
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Las Vegas Lorie
Business
Las Vegas NV
Oct 22, 2014

Girls trip

Staff was polite accommodating and helpful. We asked about the quickest way to get to SFO an were given three different options. The doorman was able to quote prices and made a call for the super shuttle. Enjoyed the Starbucks complimentary continental breakfast. Access to shopping transportation and rental car was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do take cable car to wharfs. Allow plenty of time if you use cable car for there is always 30 to 90 min. When returning to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAB
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 25, 2014

HILTOOOOOON

This is a great hotel to stay at, if you are looking for a place in/close to Union Square. The restaurant it's attached to is fantastic! The grand lobby is very appealing and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagogy85
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 24, 2014

Nice location, average everything else.

Went for a friend's birthday weekend. The hotel was fine. Only problem is that it ended up being $425 a night for a basic room. Just too much in my opinion. Other than that, the room was adequate and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New Yorker Vistor
Business
London, England
Sep 23, 2014

Lacking in four star magic

I would have to say that I was totally underwhelmed by the Hilton. Other than the grand entrance hall the rooms were of a very average (if not poor) standard and in my opinion it is lacking in some four star magic (to compare it to other 4Star hotels).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pauli08
Business
Luxembourg
Jun 29, 2014

Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you enter the hotel. The rooms are in 3 towers. We had a room with 2 king size beds, it was clean and tidy, and staff was helpful and friendly! The hotel has their own private-"taxis" too, which cost you only 40 dollars from San Francisco International Airport, that's less expensive than normal taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

just walk over union square to market street, where cable cars depart from too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcheea
Business
NYC
May 18, 2014

Met expectations

Needs update to become 4 star. They didn't have a refrigerator in the room but quickly provided one at my request. Basically, considering the price and location, I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to buy the $15 transportation ticket- unlimited access to bus and cable cars !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kymmie88
Business
Fremont
Mar 31, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Great Place to stay! Easy to get to from Bart, but my Friend drove in and the hotel garage was full:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Randee Layne
Business
California
Mar 31, 2014

Girls trip to San Fransisco

I looked online for a decent amount of time to find an affordable place in a good location. The Hilton seemed to be the best. We were shocked that not much was included in the hotel, or told in advance. No free wifi, parking was outrageously expensive, even as a hotel guest, and room service there was small print of extra expenses; ex; our small pint of icecream came to $18. It was super busy, load, and chaotic. Hard to think of it as a relaxing get away. We enjoyed San Fransisco but wouldn't recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Chestnut Street and Union Street had cute boutiques and great local vibe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
94115mom
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Good Location Terrible Room

Check in was a long process. Hotel was very busy and I was not happy with the room I was assigned. I was put on lowest floor next to the elevator in an accessible room (no tub or counter top) with a view of a concrete wall below the pool. I was told it was a good room upon check-in and I was very annoyed because once I got to the room it was obviously not. With such an incredible line for check-in it was not worth the time or energy to get back into line and try to get a different room. The same things happens whenever I book a hotel room through any site other than the hotels. It is very disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bar at top of hotel is closed for renovation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marybeth2
Business
Stockton, CA
Oct 22, 2013

Wonderful experience

There were four ladies in our group and we were all happy with the Hilton. We came to run the Nike Women's Marathon so we needed our rest the night before. The beds were so comfortable we almost didn't wake up in time. We'll definitely be back next year. Only gave 3 stars on value but that's how I feel about the whole SF room rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top