$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
505 reviews
close to entertaiment

walking distance to everywhere, fisherman wharf and exploitorium, shopping and great restaurants See full review

  • Katherine G.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Fabulous

This hotel was brilliant. Great location, amazing room, and the staff were terrific! See full review

  • CBlax
  • Dec 19, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (505)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 505
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zeev the Warrior
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Great location, newly renovated

Great service by the front desk staff. Great location, walking distance from Union Square and restaurants. The only thing that was a bit of an inconvenience is that the elevators get very busy when there's an event and you try to get to your room at the same time the conference ends. Hotel is not new but was recently renovated and looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street (Taylor Street exit) there's a great diner, my favorite breakfast place in SF: Taylor Street Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Village Hospitality
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2014

Easy access to everything San Francisco offers

Rooms clean, service was impeccable and the overall stay was convenient and welcoming. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Original Joe's a true San Francisco Landmark. About 25 minute walk to North Beach. The salmon was great! Atmosphere and service was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 6, 2014

Business Trip

I stayed in room 1658 at the Hilton on OFarrell this week. Its an interior room facing the pool. Too bad the kids weren't with me this trip. A little noisy out there at 9p but nothing terrible. This is a very busy hotel and I was very glad that Hilton offered me the opportunity to check in early for $25. Totally worth it for me. The only negative to this hotel is the location. Its close to Union Square but its in a rougher part of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 91923
Business
Carmel, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Not a great experience

Although our room was nice and available at a reasonable rate, the hotel makes up for it by gouging you financially on every other front. From exorbitant wifi fees, to the $10 cup of coffee that was worse than any cup of instant I've ever tasted. Combined with their parking fees, you will easily end up spending more per day on all the miscellaneous stuff than for your nightly rate. Our in room coffee maker was broken and a replacement was not delivered either. I'm never going back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Chutney" a few blocks a way is the best Indian restaurant I've ever experienced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OFC 2014 attendee
Business
San Francisco
Mar 17, 2014

OFC 2014

Enjoyable, within walking distance to show, galleries and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Geary Street has great galleries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn Eads
Business
Seattle
Mar 8, 2014

Good hotel with Starbucks in the lobby

I happen to be a Starbucks morning drinker. Without my latte it is hard. This is one of the pluses of this hotel for me. They have more economical parking across the street for $39 for 24 hours and $25 for $12 hours. The lobby is big for talking with many group areas. I stayed in tower 3. Stay in Tower 1 if you can. Tower 3 has the smaller rooms and small bathroom. No tub just a shower. Not good if you are not alone. I don't care about the view as I just fall asleep with the TV. The room service menu has a variety but not necessarily the best choices but will do. I found out that they will not honor your loyalty points through a 3rd party reservation apparently do to the discounted pricing. For my reasons, I was willing to give up the points for the discounted price. San Francisco is pricey these days and to be able to make many trips there it is worth it to book the packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
duke the traveler
Business
Oregon
Feb 24, 2014

Ok, but could be better

This hotel is rated as a 4 star, however, the value for the money is not as high as I would have expected. The room service and food is excellent, but very overpriced. There are no robes provided, and the room was pretty small. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful Overall, the stay was fine, but for the money, I would have expected a little bigger room, and robes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pswayze
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 14, 2014

Nice view. Reasonably priced

I like Hilton properties and this one is nice. The view from my room was great, for SF, the room was a decent size, the internet was free (Hilton Honors) and with a strong signal, and the heat and hot water flowed freely! The restaurant in the hotel Urban Tavern was just OK. The Starbucks inside was convenient and the large seating area in the lobby made for a good meeting place. I come to SF regularly for business. Most of my meetings were a cab ride or a long walk away so other hotel properties are more convenient but this was reasonably priced. The fitness center is decent with plenty of working machines. And I rented a car from across the street later in my trip which was very convenient. I used to live in SF so the neighborhood where the hotel is located is not my favorite (edge of the Tenderloin) but it's fine. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Top of the Mark for an overpriced drink but a world class view! It's nice hill climb from the hotel. Hey, you can earn your extra calories.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suzukm1
Business
mountain view, ca
Nov 10, 2013

clean rooms

upgraded rooms are nice. I would have liked to have some mini bar or glasses in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gonzo the Great
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 21, 2013

Nothing special, just ok.

Not the greatest of locations. Large hotel with minimal amenities. Much better options nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top