$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
563 reviews
Great stay

I tried booking a room in June for an October event and there were no rooms available. When I tried... See full review

  • Norma G.
  • Jun 22, 2015
Great stay!

All of our expectations were exceeded - we had a great stay! See full review

  • GoSpursGo
  • Jun 16, 2015

Within walking distance to Chinatown, Nob Hill, Telegraph Hill and fabulous shopping, the Hilton Union Square in San Francisco has a downtown setting near the famed cable car turnaround. This landmark hotel offers stunning vistas of the city from Tower 1 rooms as well as a heated rooftop pool. Rooms are available in a variety of decors, including Classic, trendy Urban Contemporary, Skyline Bay View for awe-inspiring views of the city, and luxuriously appointed suites with a contemporary flair, for the ultimate in entertaining business guests as well as for relaxation. Work out at the fitness center and then get ready to tour the city; a hotel concierge is there to give you advice on the attractions, tours and culture of the City by the Bay.

Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Property features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). This is a 100% smoke-free property.

Highlights

Grab your morning coffee at the Starbucks, located inside the hotel. When dinnertime rolls around, visit the Urban Tavern within the Hilton with its locally sourced cuisine featuring innovative food and wines. Located in the lobby, friendly service and a blend of urban and country make this a unique dining experience. Walk to the cable car and head out to Fisherman's Wharf or stay downtown, shop and visit the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts nearby. Theaters and abundant restaurant choices are all close to the hotel.

Nearby attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 563
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ole
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

Excellent hotel, very pricey

This hotel is located at a very central place with easy access to all the shopping areas. The only down side was the price that did not include wifi or breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edward J.
Business
N/A
May 17, 2015

just ok for the money

WIFI was not good and expensive. i think for the price wifi should be included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John R.
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Business Stay in SF

Very good experience at the Hilton while on a business trip. Room, amenities, and staff were wonderful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zeev the Warrior
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Great location, newly renovated

Great service by the front desk staff. Great location, walking distance from Union Square and restaurants. The only thing that was a bit of an inconvenience is that the elevators get very busy when there's an event and you try to get to your room at the same time the conference ends. Hotel is not new but was recently renovated and looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street (Taylor Street exit) there's a great diner, my favorite breakfast place in SF: Taylor Street Cafe.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbra C
Business
Irvine
Dec 2, 2014

SFO

Nice safe comfortable hotel close to shopping and union square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Village Hospitality
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2014

Easy access to everything San Francisco offers

Rooms clean, service was impeccable and the overall stay was convenient and welcoming. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Original Joe's a true San Francisco Landmark. About 25 minute walk to North Beach. The salmon was great! Atmosphere and service was wonderful.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 6, 2014

Business Trip

I stayed in room 1658 at the Hilton on OFarrell this week. Its an interior room facing the pool. Too bad the kids weren't with me this trip. A little noisy out there at 9p but nothing terrible. This is a very busy hotel and I was very glad that Hilton offered me the opportunity to check in early for $25. Totally worth it for me. The only negative to this hotel is the location. Its close to Union Square but its in a rougher part of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 91923
Business
Carmel, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Not a great experience

Although our room was nice and available at a reasonable rate, the hotel makes up for it by gouging you financially on every other front. From exorbitant wifi fees, to the $10 cup of coffee that was worse than any cup of instant I've ever tasted. Combined with their parking fees, you will easily end up spending more per day on all the miscellaneous stuff than for your nightly rate. Our in room coffee maker was broken and a replacement was not delivered either. I'm never going back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Chutney" a few blocks a way is the best Indian restaurant I've ever experienced.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OFC 2014 attendee
Business
San Francisco
Mar 17, 2014

OFC 2014

Enjoyable, within walking distance to show, galleries and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Geary Street has great galleries

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn Eads
Business
Seattle
Mar 8, 2014

Good hotel with Starbucks in the lobby

I happen to be a Starbucks morning drinker. Without my latte it is hard. This is one of the pluses of this hotel for me. They have more economical parking across the street for $39 for 24 hours and $25 for $12 hours. The lobby is big for talking with many group areas. I stayed in tower 3. Stay in Tower 1 if you can. Tower 3 has the smaller rooms and small bathroom. No tub just a shower. Not good if you are not alone. I don't care about the view as I just fall asleep with the TV. The room service menu has a variety but not necessarily the best choices but will do. I found out that they will not honor your loyalty points through a 3rd party reservation apparently do to the discounted pricing. For my reasons, I was willing to give up the points for the discounted price. San Francisco is pricey these days and to be able to make many trips there it is worth it to book the packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top