$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Placerville, CO
May 31, 2009

Disappointed

The location was great. The room was disappointing in cleanliness - we finally found the tv remote under the bed! The extra charges per day per person to use the Fitness Center should be noted in their description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at Fish and Farm around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Coast, Ca.
May 28, 2009

Great hotel for price & location.

The hotel was great, perfect location, everything walking distance. Service was excellent. The only inconvenience was that one of the elevators was out of service so we had to wait everytime we had to take it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
legmayker
Business
Santa Fe, NM
May 26, 2009

better value elsewhere

Check in was wonderful, Room seemed to be the worst one they had. They put us in the room closest to the elevator, it was extremly noisey. Toilet clogged twice and both times had to wait over an hour for maintanence to come fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
May 26, 2009

Memorial day weekend

We firstly were allocated a smoking room but it was changed immediatly. The location and cleanliness were great. Staff were excellent, friendly and courtious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the cable car up Powell St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
May 25, 2009

Over Rated

Very good location but very poor value with some rude staff members. No complementary anything! You have to pay $16/day for wired in room internet, no wireless available in your rooms. The wireless internet in the lobby was also pay for use at $15/day. Parking is $50 per day and they charged me $16 to park just to check in and unload my car. If you want to work out it's $15 per day, and stay clear of the mini bar that charges $10 for a bottle of water Old school small tube TV in corner that can't be viewed from bed. I travel quite a bit for work and pleasure and this definitely goes down as my most disappointing hotel stay that I can remember. The door men stood around outside and didn't open the door for you even when your hands were full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother with a rental car. Parking is very expensive, and the public transportation is excellent. Lot's of Taxi's around too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheroz
Business
San Diego, CA
May 25, 2009

Nice

Perfect Location. Great amenities, nice staff. Very noisy outside and on the floor that we stayed on. The room doors slam shut very loudly. No fan in the bathroom, so it got very humid in the room after we took our showers. Very easy to get around San Fran from where we were. Great Shopping, Great Dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blasian Mom
Business
dumfries, virginia
May 24, 2009

Downtown Hilton in San Francisco

Great hotel for a quick trip to San Francisco. Took the BART from airport to Powell stop. Hotel was within easy walking distance. Quick registration and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take BART for only $5.65 rather than the $40.00 taxi ride from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 23, 2009

Great stay for the price

I have stayed in serveral hotels in and out of the city. This stay at the Hilton was the best ever. Wonderful service, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley,CA
May 21, 2009

S.F. Traveler

We visited all the local attractions. Parking was very expensive everywhere.Public transportation was easily accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 20, 2009

No Service in the time of need

There was a race event at the end of my stay. I called the hotel trying to get directions to reach the highway. I was put on hold a total 6 times by the operator that answered the phone and the concierge. It was easier to drive back to the hotel than to get any service over the phone. They had no control over the event but did have control over the level of service they give to their guests. If you're looking for a hotel that has service you're better off staying at a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top