$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
562 out of 562
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnny B Good 999
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 14, 2014

Good location, issues with staff.

For business or pleasure, this Hilton offers a great location. We had an issue with the hotel staff where they were extremely difficult about issuing a new key card when one got demagnetized. Without getting into details, I think they did their best to remedy the situation after the fact by providing some free breakfast buffet passes. But when similar situations have arisen at other hotels, we never experienced such difficulty in dealing with staff to resolve this type of issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMorales
Business
New jersey
Oct 14, 2014

Nice hotel

The Hilton Union Square is nice, nothing outstanding, but nothing to complain about either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Village Hospitality
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2014

Easy access to everything San Francisco offers

Rooms clean, service was impeccable and the overall stay was convenient and welcoming. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Original Joe's a true San Francisco Landmark. About 25 minute walk to North Beach. The salmon was great! Atmosphere and service was wonderful.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joannagrace00
Business
Elk Grove, Ca.
Oct 3, 2014

Constantly trying to charge more

Hotel employee kept trying to upgrade us and charge us more for an already pre-paid room. Parking was astronomically priced high!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAB
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 25, 2014

HILTOOOOOON

This is a great hotel to stay at, if you are looking for a place in/close to Union Square. The restaurant it's attached to is fantastic! The grand lobby is very appealing and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagogy85
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 24, 2014

Nice location, average everything else.

Went for a friend's birthday weekend. The hotel was fine. Only problem is that it ended up being $425 a night for a basic room. Just too much in my opinion. Other than that, the room was adequate and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New Yorker Vistor
Business
London, England
Sep 23, 2014

Lacking in four star magic

I would have to say that I was totally underwhelmed by the Hilton. Other than the grand entrance hall the rooms were of a very average (if not poor) standard and in my opinion it is lacking in some four star magic (to compare it to other 4Star hotels).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I love to Travel Ms Dee
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 18, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to assist us when we needed anything additional like extra towels, etc. The complimentary Starbucks breakfast drink and free pastry was a nice extra. The hotel room was clean. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance or a quick cab ride.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 6, 2014

Business Trip

I stayed in room 1658 at the Hilton on OFarrell this week. Its an interior room facing the pool. Too bad the kids weren't with me this trip. A little noisy out there at 9p but nothing terrible. This is a very busy hotel and I was very glad that Hilton offered me the opportunity to check in early for $25. Totally worth it for me. The only negative to this hotel is the location. Its close to Union Square but its in a rougher part of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pauli08
Business
Luxembourg
Jun 29, 2014

Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you enter the hotel. The rooms are in 3 towers. We had a room with 2 king size beds, it was clean and tidy, and staff was helpful and friendly! The hotel has their own private-"taxis" too, which cost you only 40 dollars from San Francisco International Airport, that's less expensive than normal taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

just walk over union square to market street, where cable cars depart from too.

Back to menu Return to top