$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
484 reviews
Great location and value. Urban Tavern bartenders were very knowledgable and friendly.

Exceeded my expectations, making my visit to SF fantastic. See full review

  • Reeddf
  • Apr 7, 2014
Peaceful and relaxing

The lady at the front desk, I think her name was Emma. Helped me with my check in with a breeze.... See full review

  • Bossy saucy
  • Mar 31, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (484)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
484 out of 484
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Reeddf
SF Union Square
Apr 7, 2014

Great location and value. Urban Tavern bartenders were very knowledgable and friendly.

Exceeded my expectations, making my visit to SF fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
kymmie88
Fremont
Mar 31, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Great Place to stay! Easy to get to from Bart, but my Friend drove in and the hotel garage was full:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Bossy saucy
San Francisco, California
Mar 31, 2014

Peaceful and relaxing

The lady at the front desk, I think her name was Emma. Helped me with my check in with a breeze. She was very nice and bee enthusiastic about helping me. The room was very nice and updated! And my stay was very relaxing and I got a lot of rest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
Randee Layne
California
Mar 31, 2014

Girls trip to San Fransisco

I looked online for a decent amount of time to find an affordable place in a good location. The Hilton seemed to be the best. We were shocked that not much was included in the hotel, or told in advance. No free wifi, parking was outrageously expensive, even as a hotel guest, and room service there was small print of extra expenses; ex; our small pint of icecream came to $18. It was super busy, load, and chaotic. Hard to think of it as a relaxing get away. We enjoyed San Fransisco but wouldn't recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Chestnut Street and Union Street had cute boutiques and great local vibe.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
Fredmichigan
Michigan
Mar 24, 2014

Good location

Hotel well located near Union Square. Wi-fi charged 13.50$ expensive for a 4* hotel. Very busy hotel. I checked 10 minutes before 12:00 and have been charge 50$ to. To my point of view there some others hotel around less expensive and with a better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
OFC 2014 attendee
Business
San Francisco
Mar 17, 2014

OFC 2014

Enjoyable, within walking distance to show, galleries and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Geary Street has great galleries

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
Frida k
Canada
Mar 16, 2014

Just acme home

Great hotel and service. My only complaint was being placed in a room with a blocked view of a parking garage with cars going in and out all day and night. I asked for another room and the hotelier moved me. It is a lot of money to pay for a view of a parking garage. ..and the noise associated. Service was excellent room clean. Location close to the bart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Murals in the mission district are amazing. Walk the neighborhoods you will see lots of architectural beauties. Food...Sparrow on haight was outstanding.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
Karisssssa
San Francisco
Mar 10, 2014

Expect to pay $50 extra for parking....

The lobby was very impressive, very pretty. Other than that, the room was ok. We stayed on the 8th floor and could hear cars honking and other street noises. We weren't high enough to get a view of anything but the building next to us. THEY DO CHARGE FOR PARKING!!! $50 + a 40% tax! I have never heard of that before.... When you pay $200 a night, you shouldn't be charged for parking. That's ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than 2 miles away from fishermans wharf. They charge $50+ a night for parking, maybe find a cheaper place for that as well!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Lynn Eads
Business
Seattle
Mar 8, 2014

Good hotel with Starbucks in the lobby

I happen to be a Starbucks morning drinker. Without my latte it is hard. This is one of the pluses of this hotel for me. They have more economical parking across the street for $39 for 24 hours and $25 for $12 hours. The lobby is big for talking with many group areas. I stayed in tower 3. Stay in Tower 1 if you can. Tower 3 has the smaller rooms and small bathroom. No tub just a shower. Not good if you are not alone. I don't care about the view as I just fall asleep with the TV. The room service menu has a variety but not necessarily the best choices but will do. I found out that they will not honor your loyalty points through a 3rd party reservation apparently do to the discounted pricing. For my reasons, I was willing to give up the points for the discounted price. San Francisco is pricey these days and to be able to make many trips there it is worth it to book the packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
duke the traveler
Business
Oregon
Feb 24, 2014

Ok, but could be better

This hotel is rated as a 4 star, however, the value for the money is not as high as I would have expected. The room service and food is excellent, but very overpriced. There are no robes provided, and the room was pretty small. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful Overall, the stay was fine, but for the money, I would have expected a little bigger room, and robes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top