$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
505 reviews
close to entertaiment

walking distance to everywhere, fisherman wharf and exploitorium, shopping and great restaurants See full review

  • Katherine G.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Fabulous

This hotel was brilliant. Great location, amazing room, and the staff were terrific! See full review

  • CBlax
  • Dec 19, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (505)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 505
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Giants Fan 2013
Business
Chico, Ca
May 27, 2013

Horrible Place to Stay!

I would highly recommend staying somewhere other than this place. The place is falling apart and the rooms are tiny. The front desk staff was very nice, however the restaurant and parking staff was not. I was extremely disappointed with our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Randee Layne
Business
California
Mar 31, 2014

Girls trip to San Fransisco

I looked online for a decent amount of time to find an affordable place in a good location. The Hilton seemed to be the best. We were shocked that not much was included in the hotel, or told in advance. No free wifi, parking was outrageously expensive, even as a hotel guest, and room service there was small print of extra expenses; ex; our small pint of icecream came to $18. It was super busy, load, and chaotic. Hard to think of it as a relaxing get away. We enjoyed San Fransisco but wouldn't recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Chestnut Street and Union Street had cute boutiques and great local vibe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno
Oct 24, 2010

Nothing fancy about Union Sq. Hilton

Hotel was nothing exciting to speak of. It did not include any wireless internet in my room or fridge so for the price paid, I was disappointed. Room was clean but very small. The hotel was in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vacaville, CA
Oct 17, 2009

Overnighter

Good LocationReasonble price[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New Yorker Vistor
Business
London, England
Sep 23, 2014

Lacking in four star magic

I would have to say that I was totally underwhelmed by the Hilton. Other than the grand entrance hall the rooms were of a very average (if not poor) standard and in my opinion it is lacking in some four star magic (to compare it to other 4Star hotels).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LMS04
Business
Boise, ID, USA
Oct 31, 2011

girls' weekend getaway

Nice hotel, nice rooms, and close to everything that we were interested in seeing/doing. On the downside, parking cost $53 for one night!!! And, that was self-parking! Outrageous! $47 + $6.53 for a city tax! That is more than double what I've paid in Seattle, Portland, Tampa, Miami, etc! There is a parking garage across the street that offers parking for $32/night. If you can, park there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFshopaholic
Business
Sacramento, Calif├│rnia, USA
Jan 9, 2012

nice place to stay!

It was for just one night and we arrived late and left by 10am. The room was good and the bed was comfortable, but someone walked in our room at 8am without knocking or anything which I thought it was really weird. An hour later one of the cleaning staff knocked on our door to ask at what time we wanted the room to be cleaned but we only had a one night stay and checkout was at noon. So, I felt like they just wanted us to leave. The other downside is that everyone who walked by the hallway sounded like they were in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kerenbu
Business
Seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2013

Hilton

The hotel Wes nice, well located and the room was comfertable. The room was not very clean at first but otherwise it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Biscuits and blues - very nice blues club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
94115mom
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Good Location Terrible Room

Check in was a long process. Hotel was very busy and I was not happy with the room I was assigned. I was put on lowest floor next to the elevator in an accessible room (no tub or counter top) with a view of a concrete wall below the pool. I was told it was a good room upon check-in and I was very annoyed because once I got to the room it was obviously not. With such an incredible line for check-in it was not worth the time or energy to get back into line and try to get a different room. The same things happens whenever I book a hotel room through any site other than the hotels. It is very disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bar at top of hotel is closed for renovation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 9, 2009

It was cool for the most Part

The hotel experience was excellent. I did not like the fact that they charged for every little thing. You could go down the street to a less fancier hotel and get more for less money. The parking was not free for hotel residents and no complimentary breakfast at all. I would have paid less money for more of the simple things that they did not offer. The refrigerator was not big enough to store food. They also kept it stocked in hopes of you getting hungry at night and paying for the high price items that were stored in there already. Overall the hotel was nice. But next time I will pay less and get more I am sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top