$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
501 reviews
Girls trip

Staff was polite accommodating and helpful. We asked about the quickest way to get to SFO an were... See full review

  • Las Vegas Lorie
  • Oct 22, 2014
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (501)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 501
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K & L
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Sep 1, 2009

Not worth it!!

I am not sure if it was Hilton or Orbitz that mislead us to believe there was continental breakfast and free parking..... We are not very happy at all!!!! It costed 50.00 for parking which was unexpected. If we had known that ahead of time, we would have not stayed there. And for the price, coffee and food would have been nice. Other places provide it why can't they? We will not pay 7.00 for a pot of coffee in our room. Way uncool!!!!VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH ORBITZ!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Bad choice for romance

No bathrobe, no tissues, broken shower, no wine glasses, no late check-out. Valet parking and you have to walk a half mile to get to lobby. It's a wonder how this hotel is 4 star rated. Never go there unless your company pays for it~!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the public garage in front of the hotel, where it is half priced and MUCH nearer than Hotel parking lot~!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
May 25, 2009

Over Rated

Very good location but very poor value with some rude staff members. No complementary anything! You have to pay $16/day for wired in room internet, no wireless available in your rooms. The wireless internet in the lobby was also pay for use at $15/day. Parking is $50 per day and they charged me $16 to park just to check in and unload my car. If you want to work out it's $15 per day, and stay clear of the mini bar that charges $10 for a bottle of water Old school small tube TV in corner that can't be viewed from bed. I travel quite a bit for work and pleasure and this definitely goes down as my most disappointing hotel stay that I can remember. The door men stood around outside and didn't open the door for you even when your hands were full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother with a rental car. Parking is very expensive, and the public transportation is excellent. Lot's of Taxi's around too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Winetasters
Business
Tracy, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Not Happy

We are Hilton Honors members and have stayed at Hilton properties frequently - we were not greeted in any welcoming way. Furthermore - we were told that because our stay was booked through a third-party reservation [...] - we would not get any points applied. I had never heard of that and asked why - and was just told it was their policy....The agent at Hilton hotel made me feel like pond scum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Karisssssa
Business
San Francisco
Mar 10, 2014

Expect to pay $50 extra for parking....

The lobby was very impressive, very pretty. Other than that, the room was ok. We stayed on the 8th floor and could hear cars honking and other street noises. We weren't high enough to get a view of anything but the building next to us. THEY DO CHARGE FOR PARKING!!! $50 + a 40% tax! I have never heard of that before.... When you pay $200 a night, you shouldn't be charged for parking. That's ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than 2 miles away from fishermans wharf. They charge $50+ a night for parking, maybe find a cheaper place for that as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KF
Business
Ohio
Jun 21, 2010

Not all that impressed

We picked this hotel because Union Square is a great location and we felt pretty confident in the Hilton name. Based on our experience I'm quite certain we would not choose it again. Our first room was a corner in the newly renovated tower but was super small and the bathroom layout made no sense. We literally had to squeeze by each other trying to get around in the "bedroom", and the counterspace and sink were over the toilet (yuck). At our request we were moved but they put us in the older tower, and while the layout was a bit larger the accommodations were less than stellar (I guess you have to take the trade off). But perhaps our biggest complaint is that we partially selected this hotel because its one of the few in the area with a pool and fitness room. The pool was closed for renovations and the fitness center costs $15 a day to use if you aren't one of their preferred members. All I wanted to do was run on the treadmill a couple of times a week. Its quite a racket because they know those of us who are avid runners need to get their fix so your only other option is to try and run the busy streets, or even less appealing, bus it to a local neighborhood. P.S. Be forewarned that the garbage trucks collect around 3:30-4:00 a.m. and its quite noisy at times - you can also hear your upstairs neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vincio
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 3, 2011

under the expectations

The room was too small and the bathroom even smaller than a clset with an invisible sink useless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Khavard
Business
San Clemente , ca
Aug 5, 2013

Not impressed

The room was a good size. The bathroom was tiny. The lighting was poor in the bathroom. No mirror in the sleeping area. The room was grimy and smelled funny. The concierge was rude. I called about a week before are trip and was put on hold and forgotten about. The location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
US in love with S.F.
Business
Eureka Ca
Oct 1, 2013

great location not a great value

The location was great for the theater, but there was no microwave, no mention of the $50.00 per day parking fee, the internet was an added fee, breakfast not included, (average cost $30.00 per person), bathroom was very nice with glass shower, the complimentary shampoo etc smelled terrible, the service personal were great. We have been to San Francisco before with better accommodations. we will be back soon but the Hilton won't be on our agenda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Aug 31, 2009

Skimpy business

The Hilton meets basic high standards for clean rooms and responsive staff.Their restaurant and bar were quiet negative. Poor interior design,Urban tavern; skimppy menu; lousy loung.In the rooms paper cups and drink containers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good dinning close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top