$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
511 reviews
Wonderful Experience

Hotel was in the middle of all the action, close to public transportation, excellent buffet... See full review

  • Rose P.
  • Mar 24, 2015
Perfect home away from home

Great stay - couldn't had gone any better. Very comfortable room and room service came in very... See full review

  • GoSpursGo
  • Mar 24, 2015
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). This is a 100% smoke-free property.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 511
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business saver
Business
New York
Mar 15, 2010

Not exactly what I thought

Well, first, the way [...] promotes this hotel; or at least how my husband and I read it; was that included internet. Well, it did not include only internet but also parking or breakfast. Parking was extremely expensive, more than NY. I don't know how hotels can get away with only offering rooms and no additional guest services. There was not vending machines in the floors; only ice machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking around 2 blocks from the hotel (Eddy Street) can save you 100% of the parking cost of Hilton Hotel. The new parking charged us 25 USD in compare to around $45-50 that the Hotel was asking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nolete
Business
San Francisco ca
Apr 27, 2012

Dissapointed1

I was very excited to come stay at the Hilton, everything was going great till they wanted to charge me 15 dollars to have internet in my room, as to where 60 dollar a night hotels come with free internet, another thing was the 60 dollar overnight parking fee which was outrageous , thinking it was going to be free since it was Hilton parking and I was staying there but not so much. Overall the room was nice but nothing out of the ordinary, I've stayed at way cheaper hotels and the rooms are the same and some times even nicer! Overall I can say I'm never staying at the Hilton ever again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 91923
Business
Carmel, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Not a great experience

Although our room was nice and available at a reasonable rate, the hotel makes up for it by gouging you financially on every other front. From exorbitant wifi fees, to the $10 cup of coffee that was worse than any cup of instant I've ever tasted. Combined with their parking fees, you will easily end up spending more per day on all the miscellaneous stuff than for your nightly rate. Our in room coffee maker was broken and a replacement was not delivered either. I'm never going back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Chutney" a few blocks a way is the best Indian restaurant I've ever experienced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SixTalksInFiveDays
Business
Baltimore
Oct 6, 2010

Painful

Worst stay in a Hilton - I had selected the hotel because i previously had good experience. This time was horrible. I don't want to complain about the baby in the next room too much - He/she can't help the crying at 2 am, 4 am and 7 am. But being on business, it is crippling when the Internet is nonfunctional for three days. Several times (three), staff walked into my room without knocking. Once a maintenance guy just walked in at 9:30 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Japanese place two blocks down on O'Farrel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
emannick
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 12, 2011

Train Wreck

very unclean hotel with poor service and employees who could not have been less helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The J man
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Maybe it's SF's fault...

TINY room. Clean, nice, but TINY Comfortable bed. What they do not tell you, is that if you are going to park at the hotel...get ready to fork over to 45 bucks A NIGHT. Had I known that going in, I would have stayed elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotelstayer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2009

Overall okay

While I was there I was attending a conference, which was hosted at the hotel. It was nice to be near the conference, but the rooms and the hotel itself were a bit run down. The hotel bar was great though and so were the drinks. I wouldn't really look to stay here again, but I wouldn't be angry if I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Me from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Jun 28, 2009

Very Friendly and Accomadating Staff

Hotel room needed maintanence, but it was clean and tidy. Busy spot, VERY friendly and helpful staff. Internet daily rate is pretty steep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close- Taylor street has great breakfast and lunch spot with Thai restaurant beside for dinner. Also great Thai on O'Farrell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jeff z
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Eh

just an ok place. more flash that actual class. ok for a night during a business trip but i wouldnt come here for a vacation stay. i was upset to find the door from the parking garage was attached to the room level and didnt lock from the outside. needs a little bit of an update decor wise...and the neighborhood is just ok... for the price however it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeoG
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 8, 2012

Not bad, not great.

I was in town two days for a business meeting.The hotel is typical Hilton, as long as you get a renovated room. Clean, nice, modern. I had a non-renovated one at first which was large but not great (old furnishings, dirty carpet), but the staff was great about changing me to a renovated one which was smaller but very nice. The location is walkable to everything which is great, although the area is not great at night. SF has definitely been changing, gentrifying, but this area hasn't caught up yet. - Not bad, but not great. Great would have been 'in a nicer area and not having to change to a renovated room.'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top