$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
512 out of 512
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, Il
Dec 21, 2010

Terrrible poorly informed stafff

bad customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shoe fanatic
Business
Spokane,WA
Aug 31, 2009

Great hotel for a girls weekend!!!

Despite the long check in when we arrived at 11pm and the fact that there is no fitness center unless you pay 15 dollars per person we had a great time. My girlfriends and I were there for my wedding shower/party weekend and to go to the Oustsidelands Music Festival. The location was within walking distance to public transit,shopping,great restaurants, and nightlife. It was a good spot for our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison, wisconsin
Feb 22, 2011

Good beat, but no dance

The hotel was clean, staff very, very friendly. Tower three (where we stayed) needed some refurbishing. Big city, big prices, but $9 for a single Coke in the room...inconceivable, but true. Need to post prices for things like that more prominently. On site restaurant was marginal, though staff was exceptional. Good central location. Consierge service very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Farallon seafood restaurant...pricey but very good http://www.farallonrestaurant.com/......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Thw Digital Divide

The Hotel is basically ok for the money except for the lack of wifi in the bedrooms and the fact that they still charge for an internet connection ($12.95 per day).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For really excellent food try Le Colonial on Cosmo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jan 1, 2010

nice hotel - if you like noise

We enjoyed the location of this hotel and the friendly staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable however, the walls were PAPER THIN!! We could hear everything from the other rooms surrounding us, which disrupted our sleep tremendously. It was very noisy and intrusive!! The parking was very expensive - $56 a night with taxes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan to visit Alcatraz, especially around holidays or school vacation, book your tickets in advance. It gets sold out quickly, but well worth the visit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Apr 1, 2010

convenient location

Great shopping, but parking was supposed to be included..Ended up costing 55$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Placerville, CO
May 31, 2009

Disappointed

The location was great. The room was disappointing in cleanliness - we finally found the tv remote under the bed! The extra charges per day per person to use the Fitness Center should be noted in their description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at Fish and Farm around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 19, 2009

Better than expected

Great location. Helpful staff with finding places and booking tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book tickets at the hotel- saves more time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2009

Great lobby, thin walls

We went to several bars throughout the city and required a cab to go to them. Venture off the wrong path near this hotel and it gets very very seedy. On the right path is great shopping. We walked easily to the BART transit which makes for much cheaper transportation to the airports. The walls were paper thin. We woke up several times to our neighbors coughing and once to them doing something unmentionable here. The lobby was nice and ornate, but the halls were dated/narrow and the bed was somewhat uncomfortable. Nice bathroom and plenty of space, but nothing too luxurious. By comparison, we usually stay at Starwood hotels. We certainly liked this hotel's location and room (minus the bed) better than the Westin Market Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close and safe walk to Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EastcoastBob
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 26, 2011

Decent Experience

The hotel experience was average. I must admit that I expected more from a Hilton. While the location is good you should be careful when you leave. You want to make certain that you travel East on O'Farrell. The hotel was not as clean as I would have expected. The carpets looked a thousand years old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto was outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top