$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
486 out of 486
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irene Addler
Family
San Jose, Ca
Jul 12, 2011

Typical box hotel

We spent one night. It was a typical room, nothing more, nothing less. On the bad side - the air vents were clogged full of dirt and dust in our room. There was a particularly dirty air vent directly over the shower/tub. As the ceiling was quite low, it was difficult to shower without noticing the dirty thing. On the good side - staff was friendly and the hotel was very quite in the morning. Typically overpriced parking and minibar items......but that's to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Aug 30, 2009

San Francisco

Location was a little "iffy" at night. The room was average. If you don't take the key for the in room snacks there is then no refrigerator for keeping food cold. For some reason there were no water glasses only paper coffee cups. Parking in the garage requires that you use elevator 3 or 4 in tower 3 and often times those elevators did not stop at floor 8 (parking access) requiring riding up and down until you caught floor at the right time. Once it stopped but the doors did not open. It was a pain in the neck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fresno ca
Feb 22, 2011

Feb '11 Hilton stay

The hotel was very nice looking. The receptionists were very friendly however valet was mediocre. We requested a non smoking room and the room we got smelled of cigarette and dust. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
chicago, Il
Dec 21, 2010

Terrrible poorly informed stafff

bad customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shoe fanatic
Friends
Spokane,WA
Aug 31, 2009

Great hotel for a girls weekend!!!

Despite the long check in when we arrived at 11pm and the fact that there is no fitness center unless you pay 15 dollars per person we had a great time. My girlfriends and I were there for my wedding shower/party weekend and to go to the Oustsidelands Music Festival. The location was within walking distance to public transit,shopping,great restaurants, and nightlife. It was a good spot for our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
madison, wisconsin
Feb 22, 2011

Good beat, but no dance

The hotel was clean, staff very, very friendly. Tower three (where we stayed) needed some refurbishing. Big city, big prices, but $9 for a single Coke in the room...inconceivable, but true. Need to post prices for things like that more prominently. On site restaurant was marginal, though staff was exceptional. Good central location. Consierge service very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Farallon seafood restaurant...pricey but very good http://www.farallonrestaurant.com/......

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Thw Digital Divide

The Hotel is basically ok for the money except for the lack of wifi in the bedrooms and the fact that they still charge for an internet connection ($12.95 per day).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For really excellent food try Le Colonial on Cosmo

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boca Raton, FL
Jan 1, 2010

nice hotel - if you like noise

We enjoyed the location of this hotel and the friendly staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable however, the walls were PAPER THIN!! We could hear everything from the other rooms surrounding us, which disrupted our sleep tremendously. It was very noisy and intrusive!! The parking was very expensive - $56 a night with taxes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan to visit Alcatraz, especially around holidays or school vacation, book your tickets in advance. It gets sold out quickly, but well worth the visit!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Hawaii
Apr 1, 2010

convenient location

Great shopping, but parking was supposed to be included..Ended up costing 55$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Placerville, CO
May 31, 2009

Disappointed

The location was great. The room was disappointing in cleanliness - we finally found the tv remote under the bed! The extra charges per day per person to use the Fitness Center should be noted in their description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at Fish and Farm around the corner!

Back to menu Return to top