Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
537 reviews
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (537)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
537 out of 537
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 91923
Business
Carmel, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Not a great experience

Although our room was nice and available at a reasonable rate, the hotel makes up for it by gouging you financially on every other front. From exorbitant wifi fees, to the $10 cup of coffee that was worse than any cup of instant I've ever tasted. Combined with their parking fees, you will easily end up spending more per day on all the miscellaneous stuff than for your nightly rate. Our in room coffee maker was broken and a replacement was not delivered either. I'm never going back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Chutney" a few blocks a way is the best Indian restaurant I've ever experienced.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business saver
Business
New York
Mar 15, 2010

Not exactly what I thought

Well, first, the way [...] promotes this hotel; or at least how my husband and I read it; was that included internet. Well, it did not include only internet but also parking or breakfast. Parking was extremely expensive, more than NY. I don't know how hotels can get away with only offering rooms and no additional guest services. There was not vending machines in the floors; only ice machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking around 2 blocks from the hotel (Eddy Street) can save you 100% of the parking cost of Hilton Hotel. The new parking charged us 25 USD in compare to around $45-50 that the Hotel was asking.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nolete
Business
San Francisco ca
Apr 27, 2012

Dissapointed1

I was very excited to come stay at the Hilton, everything was going great till they wanted to charge me 15 dollars to have internet in my room, as to where 60 dollar a night hotels come with free internet, another thing was the 60 dollar overnight parking fee which was outrageous , thinking it was going to be free since it was Hilton parking and I was staying there but not so much. Overall the room was nice but nothing out of the ordinary, I've stayed at way cheaper hotels and the rooms are the same and some times even nicer! Overall I can say I'm never staying at the Hilton ever again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jim1
sydney australia
May 20, 2013

hilton union square

Hotel has extremely poor service and permits beggars homeless people to acohost you in the lobby foyer whilst the doorman is beyond rude because you dare to have a cigarette outside the the hotel entrance ....it's an old hotel in need of a remake ...$58 a night for parking is beyond belief ...across the road it's like 25 .?? Don't stay here ...get a cheaper better place on the bay near the goldengate bridge no beggars homeless and cheaper with free parking .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Giants Fan 2013
Chico, Ca
May 27, 2013

Horrible Place to Stay!

I would highly recommend staying somewhere other than this place. The place is falling apart and the rooms are tiny. The front desk staff was very nice, however the restaurant and parking staff was not. I was extremely disappointed with our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
erfw
Fort Worth, TX
May 27, 2013

Management Never Responded

Needed two beds but not available so reserved a king-size bed since was sharing room with son. Room had a queen-size, front desk said that's all they had. Manager not available but promised they would call me back. Called them twice but never heard from the manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SixTalksInFiveDays
Business
Baltimore
Oct 6, 2010

Painful

Worst stay in a Hilton - I had selected the hotel because i previously had good experience. This time was horrible. I don't want to complain about the baby in the next room too much - He/she can't help the crying at 2 am, 4 am and 7 am. But being on business, it is crippling when the Internet is nonfunctional for three days. Several times (three), staff walked into my room without knocking. Once a maintenance guy just walked in at 9:30 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Japanese place two blocks down on O'Farrel

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K & L
Los Gatos, CA
Sep 1, 2009

Not worth it!!

I am not sure if it was Hilton or Orbitz that mislead us to believe there was continental breakfast and free parking..... We are not very happy at all!!!! It costed 50.00 for parking which was unexpected. If we had known that ahead of time, we would have not stayed there. And for the price, coffee and food would have been nice. Other places provide it why can't they? We will not pay 7.00 for a pot of coffee in our room. Way uncool!!!!VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH ORBITZ!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Bad choice for romance

No bathrobe, no tissues, broken shower, no wine glasses, no late check-out. Valet parking and you have to walk a half mile to get to lobby. It's a wonder how this hotel is 4 star rated. Never go there unless your company pays for it~!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the public garage in front of the hotel, where it is half priced and MUCH nearer than Hotel parking lot~!!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
emannick
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 12, 2011

Train Wreck

very unclean hotel with poor service and employees who could not have been less helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top