$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
501 reviews
Girls trip

Staff was polite accommodating and helpful. We asked about the quickest way to get to SFO an were... See full review

  • Las Vegas Lorie
  • Oct 22, 2014
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (501)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
501 out of 501
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2007

Perfect for my business trip

I arrived late and was extremely tired. My room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable allowing me to have a restful sleep. Everything about the room was well thought out. I ordered room service and also ate in one of the hotel restaurants. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
University Place
Jun 16, 2008

Great Location

The SF Hilton has a great access to transportation, shopping and a variety of options for places to eat. The hotel room was comfortable and newly renovated. However, maid service did enter our room at 8:15 am in the morning after we answered to say we were sleeping. Complained to Hotel manager and he said we could upgrade to suite on next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 31, 2007

My review of Hilton San Francisco

From the parking staff to the front desk to the maids, the staff were very helpful, courteous, efficient. It was the best service that I have received from a hotel. The hotel is in a prime location from union square and westfield mall. I would recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 25, 2010

the unique grandeur of San Francisco

Everyone on staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful. We appreciated the presence of security in the lobby area,and doormen outside, and felt quite safe. In the mornings, we encountered the cleaning ladies, who always smiled and spoke to us. We especially were so happy that you allowed us to leave our luggage in the hotel after we checked out so that we could take in more sights before our late flight home! Staff even affixed tags to our luggage and gave us claim tickets, and when we picked them up, carefully compared the numbers to make sure the correct bags were returned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not knowing how to get to Chinatown, we climbed the hill on Powell street, then took a right to get there. Later, as we got to know the area better, we could see that walking down O'Farrell and going up Grant street would allow us to get to Chinatown through the beautiful gate, without the horrific incline!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pinngree idaho
Oct 6, 2009

trip

went sightseeing didn,t like to have to have to pay 45 dollars for hotelparking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North
Oct 6, 2009

Great

On arrival they did not have the king bed room i had paid for. I spent the first night in a double bed room. Which was at first very disappointing. They more than made up for it by upgrading me to a much nicer room for the remaining three days of my trip. I felt they really won me over by giving me such a big upgrade. It made me want to stay in there (especaily in that room) again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good restruants close to the hotel. Some deliver. Bottled water and Room service breakfast overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tustin, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Great price in an awesome location

An amazing price for the location. In the heart of the city, it is very close (short walk) to Union Square and to public transportation. Very convenient to walk to the mall, a place to eat, or the buses and not far from the Powell BART station at all. Close by to an excellent breakfast place too, Sears. The line was out the door, but moved very fast and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping just down the street near the cable cars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MY loves SF
Business
San Bernardino, Ca
Jul 7, 2009

July 4th weekend @ the Hilton

We went to the Infusion Lounge which was like 3 minutes away from the hotel, so it was very convenient. Since it was July 4th weekend, it was pretty crowded but the staff was friendly. There were lots of security. The hotel is close to many restaurants. The room we stayed in was a 2 standard queen bed and was quite smaller than the Hilton on Kearny. The only complaint I would have is that there are no vending machines!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of shopping that you can do around there. I personally didn't do a lot of shopping but I did stop at H&M for a quick buy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Holly, NJ
Jul 9, 2009

Great location

Nice staff. Clean room. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megs Mcgee
Business
Beaverton, OR
Aug 21, 2009

awsome hotel!

This staff really takes care of "first time staying" guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top