$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport Beach, CA
Feb 2, 2010

Great Location. Consistently Reliable

We go to San Francisco twice a year and stay at the Hilton. It is a very reliable place. Go online and prepay for great deals. The location is excellent. Between the theatres and Union Square. There are a lot of rooms there and they are frequently refurbishing sections. So if you don't like the one you first get, ask for another or in another section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas
Jun 2, 2009

nice place

the parking was bad almost 40 a day. but location and area was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of choices for restaurants in the area a wide variety

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Savannah, GA
Sep 30, 2009

Perfect

The beds are super comfortable. The location couldnt be better. [...] I could not have been happier with the hotel. The only downside is there isnt free internet. They give you a code for the main lobby but you cant get it in your room unless you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Watch out on the wine tours. We paid $100 and it did not cover a single tasting fee!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in Los Banos
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2013

Great Location for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

The location of the Hilton is great for visiting San Francisco. Valet and regular parking was a pain and check in was slow and inefficient, but once we got to our room--we were happy. Room was very nice/modern/clean. Within walking distance of a lot of great shopping and sight seeing. There is a nice little restaurant/bar attached to the hotel and the food, desserts, drinks there were fabulous. Great Irish restaurant/pub just down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy 2 times
Business
Egg harbor township, nj
Jun 1, 2013

Good

Good. Great location. Clean. Modern rooms. Easy cabs. Good pub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have fish

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jan 7, 2010

Stupendous price; stupendous service

This was an extraordinary deal in a city where such deals don't always abound. After a series of air-travel delays, my partner and I were cranky and oh-so-ready to get to our room, but because we arrived a few hours ahead of the posted check-in time, we were fully prepared to wait. The hyper-efficient, super-friendly desk clerk checked us into the room immediately. We enjoyed a genuinely lovely post-Christmas dinner at Urban Tavern, the hotel's terrific restaurant. Highly recommended. The hotel's location is ideal: it's close to Union Square, the museums in SoMa, and lots of diverse dining options. And having a Starbuck's in the lobby was great: we got a hot tea when we returned from a chilly day of sightseeing. This stay was a marvelous treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

San Francisco's public transportation systems are great. And while some destinations are not exactly close to BART and/or MUNI stations, they're generally a short walk away. And unlike too many of the station clerks in New York's subway stations, their San Francisco counterparts are helpful.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Longview TX
Aug 6, 2011

Unbeatable location

Breakfast was wonderful at the hotel. In the center of shopping district and close to Bart for travel to hotel/airport. Staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown the best. Walgreens around the corner has best prices for San Fran items (jackets,shirts,bags etc.)

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Tx
Sep 28, 2009

San Fran 2009

My fiance and I loved the hotel. It was a great location for us as it's located next to many shops, restaurants, and public transporation. Additionally, we felt safe coming in and out of the hotel as there was security presence at all times without it being overwhelming. Our room was just a double standard room but we had a very comfortable stay and the best sleep. We had one noise issue with the guest next door and the hotel staff took care of it right away. More importantly, we just felt at ease and the concierge was amazingly helpful in taking the time to show us how to get around town efficiently. The staff in general was well polished and completely professional. The housekeeping staff is excellent as our rooms were emmaculately cleaned each day. Thank you so much. We will recommend this hotel to our friends/family and look forward to our next visit to San Francisco and stay with your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Culver City, CA
Nov 28, 2010

Decent for the price and location

I came here with my mom and sister from Los Angeles during the Thanksgiving holiday. The location was great, right in the middle of Union Square and walking distance to all the shops in the area which was really convenient. I thought the room was fairly spacious for a room in the area and for the price. I've stayed in hotels that were more expensive and the room was tiny. The only major con was parking. $50 a day if you want to park at the Hilton! We parked at a nearby parking garage that told us they would discount the price to $30 if we got validation from the hotel, but when we asked Hilton to validate the parking, they said they don't validate for any outside parking. We ended up paying $40 which wasn't too bad, but still expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ska chan
Marin, CA
Jun 7, 2009

Great price for the location

We stayed for just one night to go out to the local clubs. The hotel was very acommodating and helped us find food that delivered and even came up to the room and opened our wine for us. The only complaint that I have is that self parking is $45 a day for hotel guests. There was a parking garage across the street for $30 a day but you have to carry your bags.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The club Infusion is just around the corner and resembles a smaller version of a Vegas club.

Back to menu Return to top