$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
501 reviews
Girls trip

Staff was polite accommodating and helpful. We asked about the quickest way to get to SFO an were... See full review

  • Las Vegas Lorie
  • Oct 22, 2014
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (501)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
501 out of 501
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma county
Jun 28, 2010

rosd trip

I stayed st the Hillton in SF on O'ferral st. The service from the door men wasn't very friendly. The parking attendants weren't very helpful. I'm not sure if the service people were burnt out or unhappy with life ,but it showed.I also woulld have liked to know ahead of time the parking fees. The H20 was dripping the whole time.The house keeping staff were very sweet. I wouldnt go back i'm sorry the location was good for what we were doing but thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagogy85
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 24, 2014

Nice location, average everything else.

Went for a friend's birthday weekend. The hotel was fine. Only problem is that it ended up being $425 a night for a basic room. Just too much in my opinion. Other than that, the room was adequate and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnny B Good 999
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 14, 2014

Good location, issues with staff.

For business or pleasure, this Hilton offers a great location. We had an issue with the hotel staff where they were extremely difficult about issuing a new key card when one got demagnetized. Without getting into details, I think they did their best to remedy the situation after the fact by providing some free breakfast buffet passes. But when similar situations have arisen at other hotels, we never experienced such difficulty in dealing with staff to resolve this type of issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMorales
Business
New jersey
Oct 14, 2014

Nice hotel

The Hilton Union Square is nice, nothing outstanding, but nothing to complain about either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Karisssssa
Business
San Francisco
Mar 10, 2014

Expect to pay $50 extra for parking....

The lobby was very impressive, very pretty. Other than that, the room was ok. We stayed on the 8th floor and could hear cars honking and other street noises. We weren't high enough to get a view of anything but the building next to us. THEY DO CHARGE FOR PARKING!!! $50 + a 40% tax! I have never heard of that before.... When you pay $200 a night, you shouldn't be charged for parking. That's ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than 2 miles away from fishermans wharf. They charge $50+ a night for parking, maybe find a cheaper place for that as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Randee Layne
Business
California
Mar 31, 2014

Girls trip to San Fransisco

I looked online for a decent amount of time to find an affordable place in a good location. The Hilton seemed to be the best. We were shocked that not much was included in the hotel, or told in advance. No free wifi, parking was outrageously expensive, even as a hotel guest, and room service there was small print of extra expenses; ex; our small pint of icecream came to $18. It was super busy, load, and chaotic. Hard to think of it as a relaxing get away. We enjoyed San Fransisco but wouldn't recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Chestnut Street and Union Street had cute boutiques and great local vibe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Berkeley Fan
Business
Vancouver, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Good location, but everything else's bad

The hotel was out of slippers. The room service has bad attitude. A thirty seconds phone call to a Canadian cellphone cost 11 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KF
Business
Ohio
Jun 21, 2010

Not all that impressed

We picked this hotel because Union Square is a great location and we felt pretty confident in the Hilton name. Based on our experience I'm quite certain we would not choose it again. Our first room was a corner in the newly renovated tower but was super small and the bathroom layout made no sense. We literally had to squeeze by each other trying to get around in the "bedroom", and the counterspace and sink were over the toilet (yuck). At our request we were moved but they put us in the older tower, and while the layout was a bit larger the accommodations were less than stellar (I guess you have to take the trade off). But perhaps our biggest complaint is that we partially selected this hotel because its one of the few in the area with a pool and fitness room. The pool was closed for renovations and the fitness center costs $15 a day to use if you aren't one of their preferred members. All I wanted to do was run on the treadmill a couple of times a week. Its quite a racket because they know those of us who are avid runners need to get their fix so your only other option is to try and run the busy streets, or even less appealing, bus it to a local neighborhood. P.S. Be forewarned that the garbage trucks collect around 3:30-4:00 a.m. and its quite noisy at times - you can also hear your upstairs neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The J man
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Maybe it's SF's fault...

TINY room. Clean, nice, but TINY Comfortable bed. What they do not tell you, is that if you are going to park at the hotel...get ready to fork over to 45 bucks A NIGHT. Had I known that going in, I would have stayed elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vincio
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 3, 2011

under the expectations

The room was too small and the bathroom even smaller than a clset with an invisible sink useless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top