$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Micina
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Great getaway

The hotel is very elegant and the people are very nice. Our room was huge and very clean. We forgot toothpaste and it was provided to us very quicky after we called for it. We enjoyed our stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are driving, park at the public parking lot on O'Farrell and Mason, not the one on O'Farrell and Taylor. The cost is much less especially if you enter after 5pm and leave before 9am.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALW Gal
La Mirada, CA, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Great Spot for Conventions

At an Assistance League convention of over 900 women, the hotel met all expectations. The food was hot, the service was nearly instantaneous, and staff were located at all elevators and escalators to direct us to the workshops. My room was large and roomy with excellent bath accommodations. The location is a block from restaurants and excellent shopping. Every day from start to finish was as good as it gets. The only negative is that parking for three nights was $180.00. That is hefty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood CA
Jul 6, 2009

Great location for downtown experience

We arrived late, around 9 pm. There was quite a check in line but it moved quickly. The staff was welcoming and accomodating, suggesting a low cost upgrade to a bigger, recently remodeled room which we accepted. It featured a flat panel TV & great sound system. The housekeeping staff was the best, greeting us every day. Overall: a great experience at the Hilton. Definitely will stay there again! very convenient to downtown, civic center & the BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from SFO to the Powell station, about $5 one way then walk 3 blocks to the hotel. Saves on cab/shuttle fees and BART was pretty quick too!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie super mom
Detroit Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Great accomodations for family vacation

great location, helpful staff and they accomodated our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neckel's Fiance
Twain Harte Ca
Sep 8, 2009

Excellent Location

We went with friends who love to shop and just take in all the sites and with the hotel being in the middle of it all it was a perfect pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus trollie to Fishermans Wharf instead of a taxi. The cost is $2 per person and you want the F line.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ribelle
Switzerland
Oct 15, 2011

central location

friendly staff and great location, very good breakfast buffet. parking is around 50 usd a day just to give you a heads up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minutes walk to union square

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kofi
Pine Lake, GA
Jul 14, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

My trip to San Francisco was fabulous! I have no complaints with reference to the hotel nor its staff. I will definitely stay at the Hilton again and recommmend it to family and friends for staying not eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is best to ask for recommendations of economical places to dine.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Satellite Beach, FL
Sep 1, 2009

Great hotel near transportation

This Hilton is close to the BART station from the airport and close to the cable cars to Fishermen's Wharf and within walking distance to the Ferry Terminal with a great farmer's market. The market is open on Tues and Sat but has a great marketplace open every day. We also went to the SF Museum of Modern Art. The hotel was an incredible value. We alse used the friendly concierge desk in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Cafe Mason which features homemade pasta and other Italian dishes. Also, John's is a great steak place!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lvbrit
Las Vegas
Jul 26, 2010

wonderful

From the minute I checked in the staff could not have been better. The room was small but beautful with a private balcony onto the pool. Spotlessly clean. Concierge guided me thru my activities. The only draw back was the outrageous price of breakfast! Need more dining choices, but the hotel is central to everywhere, I walked all over and felt pretty safe even at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and buy a three day MUNI pass at Union Square and use it for trams, cable cars and busses. You need the choices as they don't stop if full and you may change the transport you planned to use.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood CA
Jul 6, 2009

Great location for downtown experience

We arrived late, around 9 pm. There was quite a check in line but it moved quickly. The staff was welcoming and accomodating, suggesting a low cost upgrade to a bigger, recently remodeled room which we accepted. It featured a flat panel TV & great sound system. The housekeeping staff was the best, greeting us every day. Overall: a great experience at the Hilton. Definitely will stay there again! very convenient to downtown, civic center & the BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from SFO to the Powell station, about $5 one way then walk 3 blocks to the hotel. Saves on cab/shuttle fees and BART was pretty quick too!

Back to menu Return to top