Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
483 reviews
Great stay

I tried booking a room in June for an October event and there were no rooms available. When I tried... See full review

  • Norma G.
  • Jun 22, 2015
Great stay!

All of our expectations were exceeded - we had a great stay! See full review

  • GoSpursGo
  • Jun 16, 2015

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Property features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). This is a 100% smoke-free property.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Nearby attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies

The lobby will be renovated from 13 July to 03 Oct 2015. Please be advised that Urban Tavern Restaurant will be relocated to Cityscape on the 46th floor and Starbucks Coffee will be replaced by illy caffe.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGChicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 15, 2012

Convenient Reliable No Hassle Hotel

I was there for a work related trip. The hotel is popular for conferences, conventions etc. The location is great, a short walk to Powell Bart station. The room was great and was kept clean. The room was very comfortable for the purpose of relaxing or finishing up the work after a full day of work. In the past, I have stayed in the hotel with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Wireless Internet was 12.95 a day. However, if you are an AT&T customer, choose that option on the logon page and you don't have to pay.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn Eads
Business
Seattle
Mar 8, 2014

Good hotel with Starbucks in the lobby

I happen to be a Starbucks morning drinker. Without my latte it is hard. This is one of the pluses of this hotel for me. They have more economical parking across the street for $39 for 24 hours and $25 for $12 hours. The lobby is big for talking with many group areas. I stayed in tower 3. Stay in Tower 1 if you can. Tower 3 has the smaller rooms and small bathroom. No tub just a shower. Not good if you are not alone. I don't care about the view as I just fall asleep with the TV. The room service menu has a variety but not necessarily the best choices but will do. I found out that they will not honor your loyalty points through a 3rd party reservation apparently do to the discounted pricing. For my reasons, I was willing to give up the points for the discounted price. San Francisco is pricey these days and to be able to make many trips there it is worth it to book the packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bossy saucy
Business
San Francisco, California
Mar 31, 2014

Peaceful and relaxing

The lady at the front desk, I think her name was Emma. Helped me with my check in with a breeze. She was very nice and bee enthusiastic about helping me. The room was very nice and updated! And my stay was very relaxing and I got a lot of rest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reeddf
Business
SF Union Square
Apr 7, 2014

Great location and value. Urban Tavern bartenders were very knowledgable and friendly.

Exceeded my expectations, making my visit to SF fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Horacio Super Dad
Business
Santo Domingo, Rep. Dom.
May 7, 2014

San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ribelle
Business
Switzerland
Oct 15, 2011

central location

friendly staff and great location, very good breakfast buffet. parking is around 50 usd a day just to give you a heads up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minutes walk to union square

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sar1gno
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Girls night out

Perfect location, next to great shopping and Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vh35
Business
philadelphia, pa
Mar 20, 2012

great bachelorette weekend

This was the perfect place for us to celebrate our friend for a bachelorette weekend. We stayed in 2 adjoining rooms. They were spotless. The staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant. The location is great. I would definitely stay here again. We booked here partly because the rates were significantly cheaper than elsewhere for a similar experience (may have been a deal because the pool was being renovated).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kobert
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE!!

Love staying here whenever in town. Stayed here 3 times already and will probably be back again soon. Definitely worth every penny. Walking distance to everything. Close to BART. Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie super mom
Business
Detroit Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Great accomodations for family vacation

great location, helpful staff and they accomodated our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top