$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
487 out of 487
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle
Aug 25, 2009

Long Weekend Stay (Friday - Monday)

It was a nice hotel with a beautiful lobby and entrance. Lots of rooms (three towers worth). A Starbucks in the lobby, which was nice. Not very close to the waterfront, but very close to the cable car stop that will take you to the water front (about a 20 minute ride).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a Muni pass for multiple days. This can be used on the cable cars, buses, and muni (underground). It will save money if you ride it more than 3 times (for a five day pass) and in San Fran, with the hills, it's nice to have some transportation options :)

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soaplady
Business
Greencastle, PA
Dec 19, 2009

Close to everything

I enjoyed being close to Union Square. Almost everywhere we went was an easy walk. What wasn't an easy walk was an easy taxi ride. I would have liked to have had more information about local restaurants. The doorman was very helpful. There were no vending machines, only the overpriced minibar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
san diego ca
Aug 25, 2009

ho hum hilton

room was fine abit over used. staff friendly. PARKING SUCKS. resturant very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 7, 2009

that will be extra

Hotel was expensive and didn't include anything beyond a room; spa, shuttle, internet -- everything was extra. There was always a bellman to keep the homeless folks out of the entry area. Next time I would stay at an express where I could at least catch a continental breakfast before heading to the conference without dropping another $20 at Sarbucks. If you aren't on a budget it's a nice place to stay, but if you are you should look at some other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take public transportation from the airport to the hotel. It will get you their faster, safer and cheaper than the shuttle.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Mar 28, 2010

Noisy Hotel

Hotel was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ripped Off With A Car
Couples
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 8, 2010

$50 For Parking?!!!

The hotel was exactly what we paid for - a decent place to sleep, but the fact that they charged $50 for self-parking is a cruel joke. We're giving you business and you charge us that much for parking?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Southern CA
Dec 5, 2010

Union Square Hotel

We paid for a king size bed, got a queen. Ad stated that it was at Union Square....it was 3 blocks away, an easy walk, but NOT at Union Square as stated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haywar,CA
Dec 12, 2010

Just normal

It was alright, nothing special, it was kind of chaotic at the reception, but its a really large hotel so that was expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
Sep 9, 2009

Good Lodging, But Pricey Parking

The Hilton was a quality place to stay, but gave us less for our money than other Hiltons we've stayed at. As a Hilton Honors Gold VIP, I expect more than having to wait in a line to redeem a coupon for coffee, muffin, juice and a piece of fruit at the lobby Starbucks in the morning. How can other Hiltons offer a complete breakfast buffet or continental breakfast in their Hilton Honors Club? I was also amazed to be charged over $51 per day just to self-park (which included occupancy tax, as if I were living in the parking space). That's almost as much as the daily rate for the mortage for my home. We might have parked at the garage across the street for $29 per day, but would have had to run the gauntlet with the "interesting" downtown characters that lurk out on the streets in this part of town. This seemed to be in line with San Francisco over all as a vacation destination: over priced and not as much of a value as it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Atlanta, GA
Sep 9, 2009

It was cool for the most Part

The hotel experience was excellent. I did not like the fact that they charged for every little thing. You could go down the street to a less fancier hotel and get more for less money. The parking was not free for hotel residents and no complimentary breakfast at all. I would have paid less money for more of the simple things that they did not offer. The refrigerator was not big enough to store food. They also kept it stocked in hopes of you getting hungry at night and paying for the high price items that were stored in there already. Overall the hotel was nice. But next time I will pay less and get more I am sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top