$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFshopaholic
Sacramento, Califórnia, USA
Jan 9, 2012

nice place to stay!

It was for just one night and we arrived late and left by 10am. The room was good and the bed was comfortable, but someone walked in our room at 8am without knocking or anything which I thought it was really weird. An hour later one of the cleaning staff knocked on our door to ask at what time we wanted the room to be cleaned but we only had a one night stay and checkout was at noon. So, I felt like they just wanted us to leave. The other downside is that everyone who walked by the hallway sounded like they were in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CGVA
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Oct 3, 2011

Gurgling Toilet!

Every hour or so, sometimes more frequently, the toilet in my room would gasp for breath. Seriously, at first I thought someone was in there! It obviously had to do with the pressure and other guests in other rooms using the water and bathroom facilities. But it was rather disturbing. However, a great location with a good restaurant. But pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Powell Street Cable Car is just a two block walk away. Perfect.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mick Vegas
Las Vegas, Nv
Jun 29, 2010

Hotel Vacation

Hotel was wonderful, the onlt thing that made me angry, was the fact that they posted a $225 hold on my debt card but didn't disclose it when checking in. I think that's was totally wrong and should have been discosed. Due to the fact I had budgeted $500 for the weekend that charge left me with half to spend in S.F.I work for a Resort hotel on the Las Vegas strip and no hotel that I know of has this practice, It's wrong and deceitful in my book

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Urban Tavern

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sonoma county
Jun 28, 2010

rosd trip

I stayed st the Hillton in SF on O'ferral st. The service from the door men wasn't very friendly. The parking attendants weren't very helpful. I'm not sure if the service people were burnt out or unhappy with life ,but it showed.I also woulld have liked to know ahead of time the parking fees. The H20 was dripping the whole time.The house keeping staff were very sweet. I wouldnt go back i'm sorry the location was good for what we were doing but thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Aug 25, 2009

Long Weekend Stay (Friday - Monday)

It was a nice hotel with a beautiful lobby and entrance. Lots of rooms (three towers worth). A Starbucks in the lobby, which was nice. Not very close to the waterfront, but very close to the cable car stop that will take you to the water front (about a 20 minute ride).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a Muni pass for multiple days. This can be used on the cable cars, buses, and muni (underground). It will save money if you ride it more than 3 times (for a five day pass) and in San Fran, with the hills, it's nice to have some transportation options :)

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soaplady
Business
Greencastle, PA
Dec 19, 2009

Close to everything

I enjoyed being close to Union Square. Almost everywhere we went was an easy walk. What wasn't an easy walk was an easy taxi ride. I would have liked to have had more information about local restaurants. The doorman was very helpful. There were no vending machines, only the overpriced minibar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego ca
Aug 25, 2009

ho hum hilton

room was fine abit over used. staff friendly. PARKING SUCKS. resturant very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LMS04
Boise, ID, USA
Oct 31, 2011

girls' weekend getaway

Nice hotel, nice rooms, and close to everything that we were interested in seeing/doing. On the downside, parking cost $53 for one night!!! And, that was self-parking! Outrageous! $47 + $6.53 for a city tax! That is more than double what I've paid in Seattle, Portland, Tampa, Miami, etc! There is a parking garage across the street that offers parking for $32/night. If you can, park there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington,Ohio
Jul 3, 2009

Hilton -San Francisco

The was no fitness center. The were no restaurants in the vicinity that were quick and easy for a family. All were sit down and rather expensive. The hotel was close to shopping and sightseeing businesses which was nice. We asked for queen beds and they were more like doubles. Had to ask for phone books and other necessities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Hueneme, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Great location, but

This hotel caters to the business traveler so other individuals are just part of the crowed. Maybe this hotel is just too big to care about the individuals not part of a big group

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk around the area to review menus posted outside each restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top