$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 14, 2014 Check-out: Nov 15, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
500 reviews
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (500)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
500 out of 500
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie super mom
Detroit Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Great accomodations for family vacation

great location, helpful staff and they accomodated our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveZy
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 29, 2013

Nice location, big hotel that feels big

Outstanding location in the heart of downtown San Fran. Make no mistake, this is a big beautiful hotel. Which has its advantages and disadvantages. As a long-time Hilton loyalist, this was not my favorite hotel. Hotel has the amenities to impress but hotel is busy and lacks the individual attention that makes any hotel a special experience. Parking is difficult, and service is good but not outstanding. Busy lobby is always noisy and not relaxing, convention traffic made elevator service slow and concierge was not identifiable. Bottom line - overall good what you would expect from an upper-end Hilton property but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malaysian visitor
Business
San Francisco, California
Apr 15, 2013

Very spacious, clean and comfortable

Hilton has three towers. Very huge and busy hotel. Very impersonal. Had to find you own way to the hotel room. The rooms are clean and very spacious. Bed is comfortable. That is very important to get a good night's rest when one is attending conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aac05
Business
jackson, ms
Apr 15, 2013

beautiful hotel

amazing rooms, clean, huge hotel! all the amenities. within walking distance of everything. safe area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in Los Banos
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2013

Great Location for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

The location of the Hilton is great for visiting San Francisco. Valet and regular parking was a pain and check in was slow and inefficient, but once we got to our room--we were happy. Room was very nice/modern/clean. Within walking distance of a lot of great shopping and sight seeing. There is a nice little restaurant/bar attached to the hotel and the food, desserts, drinks there were fabulous. Great Irish restaurant/pub just down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
indyisadog
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Comfortable Hotel in a good location

I was in SF for a conference. The hotel had great amenities and easy access (e.g., short walking distance) to some nice tourist things to do in the area. Very close walking distance to the BART which makes it easy to get to and from SFO. Clean room and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART to and from the airport - it's only $8.25 each way and saves big time on cab fare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lola33175
Business
New York, New York
Mar 15, 2013

Nothing Special

The hotel is not in a good neighborhood. As someone who is new to San Francisco, I did not appreciate learning about this upon my arrival. I parked our rental car on the 7th floor garage and upon returning the next day, food on the floor outside a room from room service had STILL not been removed. My flight home was late at night and the staff was not able to accommodate me in any possible way. Other hotels in the past have offered a room as a courtesy to shower and change, a half day rate, etc. Even after 3 phone calls, no accommodation was made. Very disappointed with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Dons Pistos for dinner one night and the food was fantastic. Great service, great atmosphere and no frills. Wonderful spot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor for moms
Business
new york
Mar 7, 2013

comfortable

room, which was originally allocated to me was horrible. It was for 'elderly'. I however requested a change and then one that was offered to me was definitely very good, but more expensive. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kerenbu
Business
Seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2013

Hilton

The hotel Wes nice, well located and the room was comfertable. The room was not very clean at first but otherwise it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Biscuits and blues - very nice blues club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WorkTravelingGal
Business
Sacramento
Jan 30, 2013

Tower 1 -- rather noisy

This is a great hotel. I have stayed here a couple times. However, this time, we were on the 11th floor on Tower 1. It was extremely noisy. You could hear every word of every conversation in the hall, every door close and the street noise was loud as well. I did not notice this time last time I stayed there. Perhaps the towers are constructed differently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jigga707
Business
Gilroy, California
Jan 14, 2013

Dust buster

The flat screen TV had enough dust on it that I thought I was gonna have a asthma attack! Hotel staff treated me like an ordinary person nothing special about the hotel staff in my opinion. Room view was amazing though. For a Hilton I expected my room to be at least dust free but on top of that the mirror was smudged and their was a footprint on the cieling! Don't know if ill be returning to this Hotel at this location again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Being lots of money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top