$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jigga707
Gilroy, California
Jan 14, 2013

Dust buster

The flat screen TV had enough dust on it that I thought I was gonna have a asthma attack! Hotel staff treated me like an ordinary person nothing special about the hotel staff in my opinion. Room view was amazing though. For a Hilton I expected my room to be at least dust free but on top of that the mirror was smudged and their was a footprint on the cieling! Don't know if ill be returning to this Hotel at this location again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Being lots of money!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kerry110990
Paml Desert
Jan 1, 2013

okay

the hotel was okay, very expensive parking rate! $53 per night parking fee even if I am the guest of the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGChicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 15, 2012

Convenient Reliable No Hassle Hotel

I was there for a work related trip. The hotel is popular for conferences, conventions etc. The location is great, a short walk to Powell Bart station. The room was great and was kept clean. The room was very comfortable for the purpose of relaxing or finishing up the work after a full day of work. In the past, I have stayed in the hotel with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Wireless Internet was 12.95 a day. However, if you are an AT&T customer, choose that option on the logon page and you don't have to pay.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeoG
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 8, 2012

Not bad, not great.

I was in town two days for a business meeting.The hotel is typical Hilton, as long as you get a renovated room. Clean, nice, modern. I had a non-renovated one at first which was large but not great (old furnishings, dirty carpet), but the staff was great about changing me to a renovated one which was smaller but very nice. The location is walkable to everything which is great, although the area is not great at night. SF has definitely been changing, gentrifying, but this area hasn't caught up yet. - Not bad, but not great. Great would have been 'in a nicer area and not having to change to a renovated room.'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie super mom
Detroit Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Great accomodations for family vacation

great location, helpful staff and they accomodated our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kobert
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE!!

Love staying here whenever in town. Stayed here 3 times already and will probably be back again soon. Definitely worth every penny. Walking distance to everything. Close to BART. Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ZingerCO
San Francisco
Jun 18, 2012

Very Small Room

Was expecting 2 queen beds, but were not available at check in. Our room was not what we expected. The room between the bathroom and bedroom seemed to have talking and laughing during the night. Room did not match up to our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovela
CA
May 2, 2012

Reunion

Had a beautiful suite with excellent views of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent location in union square. short walk to great restaurants and shopping.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nolete
Business
San Francisco ca
Apr 27, 2012

Dissapointed1

I was very excited to come stay at the Hilton, everything was going great till they wanted to charge me 15 dollars to have internet in my room, as to where 60 dollar a night hotels come with free internet, another thing was the 60 dollar overnight parking fee which was outrageous , thinking it was going to be free since it was Hilton parking and I was staying there but not so much. Overall the room was nice but nothing out of the ordinary, I've stayed at way cheaper hotels and the rooms are the same and some times even nicer! Overall I can say I'm never staying at the Hilton ever again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex GDL
Guadalajara, JAL, México
Apr 2, 2012

Good experience for a first time

In my first visit to San Francisco i decided to stay in this hotel. Its location makes you easy to go to downtown and the best stores. You can go to rest if you are tired and go back quickly to go on with the fun. The rooms area pretty, the beds are very very very comfortable. I had a room with a nice view and the staff was kind in every oportunnity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can go easy to Union Square to reach a paid tour, its a little complicated to decide because there are several companies offering you their services but you dont need to feel you streess out because the service its very similar and it doesnt matter wich one you pick, you´ll see every point. I reccomend you that if you dont have a lot of time and you want to go to the vineyards, take the tour that last half-day, you will visit 3 points of a delicious wine and great views.

Back to menu Return to top