$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vacaville, CA
Oct 17, 2009

Overnighter

Good LocationReasonble price[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Karisssssa
San Francisco
Mar 10, 2014

Expect to pay $50 extra for parking....

The lobby was very impressive, very pretty. Other than that, the room was ok. We stayed on the 8th floor and could hear cars honking and other street noises. We weren't high enough to get a view of anything but the building next to us. THEY DO CHARGE FOR PARKING!!! $50 + a 40% tax! I have never heard of that before.... When you pay $200 a night, you shouldn't be charged for parking. That's ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than 2 miles away from fishermans wharf. They charge $50+ a night for parking, maybe find a cheaper place for that as well!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
legmayker
Santa Fe, NM
May 26, 2009

better value elsewhere

Check in was wonderful, Room seemed to be the worst one they had. They put us in the room closest to the elevator, it was extremly noisey. Toilet clogged twice and both times had to wait over an hour for maintanence to come fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotelstayer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2009

Overall okay

While I was there I was attending a conference, which was hosted at the hotel. It was nice to be near the conference, but the rooms and the hotel itself were a bit run down. The hotel bar was great though and so were the drinks. I wouldn't really look to stay here again, but I wouldn't be angry if I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotelstayer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2009

Overall okay

While I was there I was attending a conference, which was hosted at the hotel. It was nice to be near the conference, but the rooms and the hotel itself were a bit run down. The hotel bar was great though and so were the drinks. I wouldn't really look to stay here again, but I wouldn't be angry if I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff011
New York
Jul 9, 2009

Good and Bad

This is my first time to San Francisco. Hilton is a nice hotel but the room we got was too small. The bathroom was really small just enough for two people. I would have prefer a bigger room. In the morning, we could hear people chattering outside the hallways. But the housekeeping was excellent. Our room was always kept clean with Crab Tree amendities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Richmond is the area with the best chinese restaurants. Good dim-sum area!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
modesto
Feb 1, 2011

parking

The parking was 30% of the hotel room with tax over $51 per nite while 2 blocks away only $28 with just as nice hotels avaiable!! Once inside the hotel the room was about 2 football fields from the nearest elivator!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
Jun 2, 2009

Little disappointed

The parking and internet were unbelievably expensive. The worst I've seen anywhere in the world. I wouldn't not have agreed to pay so much except for the location's distance to my conference. The toilet did not flush properly and made noise 24/7. They sent someone to the room to fix it, but nothing changed. Also the fan in the heating/cool duct started to screech on the 2nd or 3rd day. The area is extremely noisy. Do not stay here if you require a good night sleep. Sirens and bums etc will keep you up until the early hours. Considering the internet is a small fortune every day it would be nice to have wireless so I can work in bed, but no - a tiny little cable on the desk is your only option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens is on Taylor up the hill one block

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jun 16, 2009

SF Hilton

Nice hotel experience. Not the best hotel but certainly moderately good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Park across the street for nearly half the price

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveZy
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 29, 2013

Nice location, big hotel that feels big

Outstanding location in the heart of downtown San Fran. Make no mistake, this is a big beautiful hotel. Which has its advantages and disadvantages. As a long-time Hilton loyalist, this was not my favorite hotel. Hotel has the amenities to impress but hotel is busy and lacks the individual attention that makes any hotel a special experience. Parking is difficult, and service is good but not outstanding. Busy lobby is always noisy and not relaxing, convention traffic made elevator service slow and concierge was not identifiable. Bottom line - overall good what you would expect from an upper-end Hilton property but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top