$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Ana, CA
Aug 2, 2009

Family Vacation

overall the experience was decent however I was extremely discouraged by the fact that for a 2 day stay I had to pay well over $180.00 for parking in the garage structure at the Hilton. There was no parking validation for hotel guests. Disappointing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Purchase the Fisherman's Wharf pass. It was time saver and money saver.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MuscledLeo
Lakewood, CO
Jul 1, 2009

Worst bed I have ever slept in.

The bed in the room I had was the worst bed I have ever slept in (or in this case attempted would be the operative word). I will say I am prone to lower back pain, but this bed was the worst. No support and lumpy. The last night I spent sleeping on the floor-that's how much pain I was in. I probably should have said something during my stay, but I booked through a third party and was not paying an outrageous rate so I felt like they wouldn't really care about my comfort. The television was fine but old. I work in the hotel industry and the hotel I work for recently replaced any of the old televisions with flat screens. The room was small and the outside noise was sometimes unbearable. There were cracks in the glass in the bathroom door and a crack in the glass behind one of the shelves in the bathroom. Overall, I was less than impressed. There is no excuse for the poor state of the bed in the room I had. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
US in love with S.F.
Eureka Ca
Oct 1, 2013

great location not a great value

The location was great for the theater, but there was no microwave, no mention of the $50.00 per day parking fee, the internet was an added fee, breakfast not included, (average cost $30.00 per person), bathroom was very nice with glass shower, the complimentary shampoo etc smelled terrible, the service personal were great. We have been to San Francisco before with better accommodations. we will be back soon but the Hilton won't be on our agenda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
phoenix az
Jan 4, 2011

Bottum of the line

We traveled with another couple they had the exact same reservation. their room was spacious with a plenty of room our room was a tiny box with a bad oder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had dinner at the Cliff House the View was wounderful the Food was terrible I could not eat my prime rib.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vacaville, CA
Oct 17, 2009

Overnighter

Good LocationReasonble price[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
SoCal
May 24, 2010

Okay... barely

The walls (Tower 3) were ridiculously thin. I could hear everything going on in the rooms and hall around me (yes, EVERYTHING). The room wasn't cleaned that well and it smelled sort of stale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Khavard
San Clemente , ca
Aug 5, 2013

Not impressed

The room was a good size. The bathroom was tiny. The lighting was poor in the bathroom. No mirror in the sleeping area. The room was grimy and smelled funny. The concierge was rude. I called about a week before are trip and was put on hold and forgotten about. The location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, ca
Sep 7, 2009

There is much better in SF

I have stayed at numerious hotels in SF. All 3 Marriotts, Intercontinental just to name some. I decided to try out the Hilton just because of the big name and though it would be comparable to the Marriott. But I was completely wrong. Rooms were very old and small, the hotel was over crowded had to wait in line for 30 minutes to check in. Everything else is just ok. I would suggest going to another hotel before coming here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 13, 2007

Poor value for money

Rooms were nice, but very small. Must pay extra to use fitness center. Concierge was very helpful in finding a rental car for the weekend. Did not swim in outdoor pool, as the weather was too cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to cable cars, attractions.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ZingerCO
San Francisco
Jun 18, 2012

Very Small Room

Was expecting 2 queen beds, but were not available at check in. Our room was not what we expected. The room between the bathroom and bedroom seemed to have talking and laughing during the night. Room did not match up to our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top