$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGChicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 15, 2012

Convenient Reliable No Hassle Hotel

I was there for a work related trip. The hotel is popular for conferences, conventions etc. The location is great, a short walk to Powell Bart station. The room was great and was kept clean. The room was very comfortable for the purpose of relaxing or finishing up the work after a full day of work. In the past, I have stayed in the hotel with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Wireless Internet was 12.95 a day. However, if you are an AT&T customer, choose that option on the logon page and you don't have to pay.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bossy saucy
Business
San Francisco, California
Mar 31, 2014

Peaceful and relaxing

The lady at the front desk, I think her name was Emma. Helped me with my check in with a breeze. She was very nice and bee enthusiastic about helping me. The room was very nice and updated! And my stay was very relaxing and I got a lot of rest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Randee Layne
Business
California
Mar 31, 2014

Girls trip to San Fransisco

I looked online for a decent amount of time to find an affordable place in a good location. The Hilton seemed to be the best. We were shocked that not much was included in the hotel, or told in advance. No free wifi, parking was outrageously expensive, even as a hotel guest, and room service there was small print of extra expenses; ex; our small pint of icecream came to $18. It was super busy, load, and chaotic. Hard to think of it as a relaxing get away. We enjoyed San Fransisco but wouldn't recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Chestnut Street and Union Street had cute boutiques and great local vibe.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fredmichigan
Business
Michigan
Mar 24, 2014

Good location

Hotel well located near Union Square. Wi-fi charged 13.50$ expensive for a 4* hotel. Very busy hotel. I checked 10 minutes before 12:00 and have been charge 50$ to. To my point of view there some others hotel around less expensive and with a better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OFC 2014 attendee
Business
San Francisco
Mar 17, 2014

OFC 2014

Enjoyable, within walking distance to show, galleries and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Geary Street has great galleries

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frida k
Business
Canada
Mar 16, 2014

Just acme home

Great hotel and service. My only complaint was being placed in a room with a blocked view of a parking garage with cars going in and out all day and night. I asked for another room and the hotelier moved me. It is a lot of money to pay for a view of a parking garage. ..and the noise associated. Service was excellent room clean. Location close to the bart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Murals in the mission district are amazing. Walk the neighborhoods you will see lots of architectural beauties. Food...Sparrow on haight was outstanding.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Karisssssa
Business
San Francisco
Mar 10, 2014

Expect to pay $50 extra for parking....

The lobby was very impressive, very pretty. Other than that, the room was ok. We stayed on the 8th floor and could hear cars honking and other street noises. We weren't high enough to get a view of anything but the building next to us. THEY DO CHARGE FOR PARKING!!! $50 + a 40% tax! I have never heard of that before.... When you pay $200 a night, you shouldn't be charged for parking. That's ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than 2 miles away from fishermans wharf. They charge $50+ a night for parking, maybe find a cheaper place for that as well!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynn Eads
Business
Seattle
Mar 8, 2014

Good hotel with Starbucks in the lobby

I happen to be a Starbucks morning drinker. Without my latte it is hard. This is one of the pluses of this hotel for me. They have more economical parking across the street for $39 for 24 hours and $25 for $12 hours. The lobby is big for talking with many group areas. I stayed in tower 3. Stay in Tower 1 if you can. Tower 3 has the smaller rooms and small bathroom. No tub just a shower. Not good if you are not alone. I don't care about the view as I just fall asleep with the TV. The room service menu has a variety but not necessarily the best choices but will do. I found out that they will not honor your loyalty points through a 3rd party reservation apparently do to the discounted pricing. For my reasons, I was willing to give up the points for the discounted price. San Francisco is pricey these days and to be able to make many trips there it is worth it to book the packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
duke the traveler
Business
Oregon
Feb 24, 2014

Ok, but could be better

This hotel is rated as a 4 star, however, the value for the money is not as high as I would have expected. The room service and food is excellent, but very overpriced. There are no robes provided, and the room was pretty small. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful Overall, the stay was fine, but for the money, I would have expected a little bigger room, and robes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotiab
Business
Las Vegas
Feb 19, 2014

Great location

Great location in union square. Comfortable beds and clean room. Near restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fog City near fisherman's warf

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pswayze
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 14, 2014

Nice view. Reasonably priced

I like Hilton properties and this one is nice. The view from my room was great, for SF, the room was a decent size, the internet was free (Hilton Honors) and with a strong signal, and the heat and hot water flowed freely! The restaurant in the hotel Urban Tavern was just OK. The Starbucks inside was convenient and the large seating area in the lobby made for a good meeting place. I come to SF regularly for business. Most of my meetings were a cab ride or a long walk away so other hotel properties are more convenient but this was reasonably priced. The fitness center is decent with plenty of working machines. And I rented a car from across the street later in my trip which was very convenient. I used to live in SF so the neighborhood where the hotel is located is not my favorite (edge of the Tenderloin) but it's fine. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Top of the Mark for an overpriced drink but a world class view! It's nice hill climb from the hotel. Hey, you can earn your extra calories.

Back to menu Return to top