$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
W. Harwich, MA (Cape Cod)
Sep 14, 2009

"Carroll's Big Birthday Trip"

everyone at this hotel was happy to have you as a guest from the ladies cleaning our room to the bell boy to the concierge. this is a great location to access cable cars, steet trolley, buses and BART. very close to Union Square and so within walking distance of many specialty stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

take the Mr. Toad 90 minute ride. it is worth the money, and if a senior, and you charge with an AMEX card, you save about 20%.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barcelona, Spain
Jun 21, 2010

Best hotel bed

I stayed at the SF Hilton 5 nights for a conference and enjoyed my stay a lot. The location is very good, close to Market street and Union Square, and within walking distance to the conference center (Moscone West). The staff were helpful but not extraordinarily friendly, just normal friendly. The best thing with my stay was the king-size bed in my room. The Serenity sheets were of top quality and I found myself not wanting to leave the bed. Despite the very hectic schedule of the conference I as still very well rested every night. The only complaint I had with the hotel is that the Pool was closed for maintenance which was a real bummer since I had chosen the Hilton partly because it had a pool. All in all a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Skye, the famous night club is just half a block away on Mason Street.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Couple
Chicago, IL
Sep 28, 2009

Nice Room, Great Location

We flew in to town for the weekend (actually for the Cubs/Giants game) and when we got to the hotel, the location could not have been better. It was our first time in San Fran and everything was walking distance: shopping, food, cable cars, and public transportation. Long and short: it was the best deal for the money. The room was nice, clean, and fit perfectly within out taste and budget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner on Taylor St is the best breakfast place, Taylor St Cafe, yum!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC COP
Fullerton, CA
Jun 7, 2009

Great Service, great room!

Great location in Union square. Easy access to muni, shopping and all tourist attractions. Awesome Irish House pub and restaurant less than one block away. Dueling Piano on Wednesday and Thursdays. Staff very professional. Allowed us early check-in with no hassel. Great luggage service. Our flight was much later than our check out. Hilton held our luggage while we took one last stroll through the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Muni passports available at Powell BART station. Great value.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Sep 14, 2009

Hilton San Francisco

The Hotel was large but you we didn't feel lost. There was plenty of shopping to be done. All the well name stores were in walking distance from the hotel (Macy's, Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus) as well as other well know stores (Barnes & Noble, H&M, Nike, etc). I would definitely stay at the hotel again if in San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many dining spots nearby. Ask the concierge and they will give you a map.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix & Australia
Jul 6, 2009

Hilton San Fran

Hotel was nice, beware of people off the street hasling you though. You have to pay exhorbitant prices to use a computer in business center & there is no wi fi in the rooms. You have to sit in a crowded lobby to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must Do. Segway Tour with the Electric Tour Company. Best way to see the area & loads of fun. It was fantastic, worth every penny.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Tx
Sep 28, 2009

San Fran 2009

My fiance and I loved the hotel. It was a great location for us as it's located next to many shops, restaurants, and public transporation. Additionally, we felt safe coming in and out of the hotel as there was security presence at all times without it being overwhelming. Our room was just a double standard room but we had a very comfortable stay and the best sleep. We had one noise issue with the guest next door and the hotel staff took care of it right away. More importantly, we just felt at ease and the concierge was amazingly helpful in taking the time to show us how to get around town efficiently. The staff in general was well polished and completely professional. The housekeeping staff is excellent as our rooms were emmaculately cleaned each day. Thank you so much. We will recommend this hotel to our friends/family and look forward to our next visit to San Francisco and stay with your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport Beach, CA
Feb 2, 2010

Great Location. Consistently Reliable

We go to San Francisco twice a year and stay at the Hilton. It is a very reliable place. Go online and prepay for great deals. The location is excellent. Between the theatres and Union Square. There are a lot of rooms there and they are frequently refurbishing sections. So if you don't like the one you first get, ask for another or in another section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas
Jun 2, 2009

nice place

the parking was bad almost 40 a day. but location and area was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of choices for restaurants in the area a wide variety

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Savannah, GA
Sep 30, 2009

Perfect

The beds are super comfortable. The location couldnt be better. [...] I could not have been happier with the hotel. The only downside is there isnt free internet. They give you a code for the main lobby but you cant get it in your room unless you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Watch out on the wine tours. We paid $100 and it did not cover a single tasting fee!

Back to menu Return to top