$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
507 reviews
close to entertaiment

walking distance to everywhere, fisherman wharf and exploitorium, shopping and great restaurants See full review

  • Katherine G.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Fabulous

This hotel was brilliant. Great location, amazing room, and the staff were terrific! See full review

  • CBlax
  • Dec 19, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). This is a 100% smoke-free property.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hilton San Francisco Union Square Rooms

.
.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (507)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
507 out of 507
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AGChicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 15, 2012

Convenient Reliable No Hassle Hotel

I was there for a work related trip. The hotel is popular for conferences, conventions etc. The location is great, a short walk to Powell Bart station. The room was great and was kept clean. The room was very comfortable for the purpose of relaxing or finishing up the work after a full day of work. In the past, I have stayed in the hotel with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Wireless Internet was 12.95 a day. However, if you are an AT&T customer, choose that option on the logon page and you don't have to pay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
May 25, 2009

Over Rated

Very good location but very poor value with some rude staff members. No complementary anything! You have to pay $16/day for wired in room internet, no wireless available in your rooms. The wireless internet in the lobby was also pay for use at $15/day. Parking is $50 per day and they charged me $16 to park just to check in and unload my car. If you want to work out it's $15 per day, and stay clear of the mini bar that charges $10 for a bottle of water Old school small tube TV in corner that can't be viewed from bed. I travel quite a bit for work and pleasure and this definitely goes down as my most disappointing hotel stay that I can remember. The door men stood around outside and didn't open the door for you even when your hands were full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother with a rental car. Parking is very expensive, and the public transportation is excellent. Lot's of Taxi's around too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheroz
Business
San Diego, CA
May 25, 2009

Nice

Perfect Location. Great amenities, nice staff. Very noisy outside and on the floor that we stayed on. The room doors slam shut very loudly. No fan in the bathroom, so it got very humid in the room after we took our showers. Very easy to get around San Fran from where we were. Great Shopping, Great Dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blasian Mom
Business
dumfries, virginia
May 24, 2009

Downtown Hilton in San Francisco

Great hotel for a quick trip to San Francisco. Took the BART from airport to Powell stop. Hotel was within easy walking distance. Quick registration and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take BART for only $5.65 rather than the $40.00 taxi ride from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 23, 2009

Great stay for the price

I have stayed in serveral hotels in and out of the city. This stay at the Hilton was the best ever. Wonderful service, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley,CA
May 21, 2009

S.F. Traveler

We visited all the local attractions. Parking was very expensive everywhere.Public transportation was easily accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 20, 2009

No Service in the time of need

There was a race event at the end of my stay. I called the hotel trying to get directions to reach the highway. I was put on hold a total 6 times by the operator that answered the phone and the concierge. It was easier to drive back to the hotel than to get any service over the phone. They had no control over the event but did have control over the level of service they give to their guests. If you're looking for a hotel that has service you're better off staying at a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 18, 2009

Hilton San Francisco

Sightseeing and business trip. Free internet would be welcome. Coffee pot in room did not work well. Very clean room, though, very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver, wa.
May 15, 2009

location and hotel great

you are within walking distance, of trolley cars, china town, union square. I would recommend, having a map of frisco to plot out where to dine. city tours are great way to see city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
May 14, 2009

Nice stay at Union Square!

Overall, I thought this was a great hotel. Check-in was quick and the front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. The lobby and hotel have a very extravagant feel, and the hotel restaurant looked nice, although we didn't try it out during our short stay. The room was small but had everything we needed, including a little patio area with table and chairs. We didn't hear any outside noise or other guests at night, although the hotel is located on a fairly busy street. There is great shopping just a couple blocks away at Union Square, and you can take the cable car there to Fishermans Wharf. Beware if you take the airport shuttle - our driver sat around for 15 minutes waiting for other passengers to show up (they never did), then stopped around the city to pick up others as he received calls, and we were almost an hour later than we expected arriving at the airport. We shouldve taken a cab! Otherwise enjoyed the stay - very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
May 12, 2009

great location

We were really at the hotel only to sleep, but no complaints, it was very clean, great location and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top