$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
505 reviews
close to entertaiment

walking distance to everywhere, fisherman wharf and exploitorium, shopping and great restaurants See full review

  • Katherine G.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Fabulous

This hotel was brilliant. Great location, amazing room, and the staff were terrific! See full review

  • CBlax
  • Dec 19, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (505)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
505 out of 505
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sarzads
Business
Omaha NE
Jun 2, 2010

Unbeatable location

Excellent location from which to visit San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erika misses San Fran
Business
Augusta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

San Fran Hilton

I previously lived in San Fran about 5 years ago and wanted to return to visit friends and show my boyfriend around the city. We chose to stay at the Hilton because we got a great price with our flight and the location is perfect. You can walk right outside to tons of stores and restaurants and there is always a cab waiting. The public transportation is great and easy to access from this location as well. Union square is right outside and you can walk to china town too. The hotel provided a cab service back to the airport. I really have no complaints about my experience. Good deal. I didn't like the front desk lady that checked me in but I liked averything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Apr 6, 2011

Friendliest Staff Ever

Every staff person, from the front desk to the waiters to the security guards, was friendly and helpful. Room was big and clean. The only thing missing was dining options--there is only one restaurant on site, and it is pricey (but good).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to all the great shopping in Union Square, as well as BART.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Satellite Beach, FL
Sep 1, 2009

Great hotel near transportation

This Hilton is close to the BART station from the airport and close to the cable cars to Fishermen's Wharf and within walking distance to the Ferry Terminal with a great farmer's market. The market is open on Tues and Sat but has a great marketplace open every day. We also went to the SF Museum of Modern Art. The hotel was an incredible value. We alse used the friendly concierge desk in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Cafe Mason which features homemade pasta and other Italian dishes. Also, John's is a great steak place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 14, 2010

Very short, but relaxing getaway

upon my arrival to the hotel check in was fast, the room was ready and very clean. The staff was helpful with direction concerning the different restaurants in the area, direction concerning transportation and the different activities concerning sightseeing in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hilton was almost right in the middle of everything and had easy transportation to the different sights in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 19, 2010

Central location, comefortable room

Great location, just a couple of blocks to city transit, on-off bus lines, shopping and restaurants nearby, close enough to walk to wharf, excellent concierge desk, very comefortable room with a view; absolutely flawless. Booked for a conference, then stayed the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums, galleries, theater nearby. City buses are convenient and easy to use as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollywood CA
Jul 6, 2009

Great location for downtown experience

We arrived late, around 9 pm. There was quite a check in line but it moved quickly. The staff was welcoming and accomodating, suggesting a low cost upgrade to a bigger, recently remodeled room which we accepted. It featured a flat panel TV & great sound system. The housekeeping staff was the best, greeting us every day. Overall: a great experience at the Hilton. Definitely will stay there again! very convenient to downtown, civic center & the BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART from SFO to the Powell station, about $5 one way then walk 3 blocks to the hotel. Saves on cab/shuttle fees and BART was pretty quick too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jun 1, 2009

San Fran Vacation

We mostly used it as a place to sleep. But it was good to know that we had a safe place to keep our things as we went about on the town. The staff were always willing to answer our questions and give great directions to anywhere in town. Never a wrong turn or suggestion. They were even kind enough to hold our bags on our last day after we checked out since our flight was leaving so late in the evening. It was those little things that made our days a little less stressful as we came and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Best thing to do is the public transport in San Fran. The BART and MUNI worked great and got us everywhere on time. Even a cheap taxi is easy. Don't fear the subway- embrace it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
makipou
Business
montreal canada
Oct 15, 2009

top location

top notch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelldavis
Business
Nevada
Sep 29, 2010

What a pleasure1

I booked Hilton Union Square for five nights from Thursday thru Tuesday. My stay was fantastic. The service was great. Very clean rooms and incredibly quite. I never heard any noise from other rooms. Some from the hall but to be expected. The location was perfect. Very centrally located with easy access to all forms of transportation. All the shopping you could ask for as well as restraunts. I will definitely do this one again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sears Fine Foods by Union Square. A short walk and very historic building and restraunt history. The breakfast can't be beat. Very central to all of the great stores, Saks, Neimans etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top