$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jan 7, 2010

Stupendous price; stupendous service

This was an extraordinary deal in a city where such deals don't always abound. After a series of air-travel delays, my partner and I were cranky and oh-so-ready to get to our room, but because we arrived a few hours ahead of the posted check-in time, we were fully prepared to wait. The hyper-efficient, super-friendly desk clerk checked us into the room immediately. We enjoyed a genuinely lovely post-Christmas dinner at Urban Tavern, the hotel's terrific restaurant. Highly recommended. The hotel's location is ideal: it's close to Union Square, the museums in SoMa, and lots of diverse dining options. And having a Starbuck's in the lobby was great: we got a hot tea when we returned from a chilly day of sightseeing. This stay was a marvelous treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

San Francisco's public transportation systems are great. And while some destinations are not exactly close to BART and/or MUNI stations, they're generally a short walk away. And unlike too many of the station clerks in New York's subway stations, their San Francisco counterparts are helpful.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jan 7, 2010

Stupendous price; stupendous service

This was an extraordinary deal in a city where such deals don't always abound. After a series of air-travel delays, my partner and I were cranky and oh-so-ready to get to our room, but because we arrived a few hours ahead of the posted check-in time, we were fully prepared to wait. The hyper-efficient, super-friendly desk clerk checked us into the room immediately. We enjoyed a genuinely lovely post-Christmas dinner at Urban Tavern, the hotel's terrific restaurant. Highly recommended. The hotel's location is ideal: it's close to Union Square, the museums in SoMa, and lots of diverse dining options. And having a Starbuck's in the lobby was great: we got a hot tea when we returned from a chilly day of sightseeing. This stay was a marvelous treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

San Francisco's public transportation systems are great. And while some destinations are not exactly close to BART and/or MUNI stations, they're generally a short walk away. And unlike too many of the station clerks in New York's subway stations, their San Francisco counterparts are helpful.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JROD
BEAUMONT
Jan 6, 2010

GREAT HOTEL

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Jan 3, 2010

Just the 2 of us...after Christmas

We booked this bacause my boyfriend had never been there except when he was 18 and being deported to Vietnam....he is now 61...so a lot to see, we saw it all and loved it. Alcatraz, Hwy 1, being from VA the ocean and it's difference, wine country (though not green this time, shops, China town....etc. :-)) Oh and a huge starfish, Seals eating bait from the crab pots @ the pier, sea lions in the ocean on 1, a giant starfish and a wild cyote just over the Golden Gate Bridge! Nice people who helped us along the way everywhere. The homeless and the beggers are a bit intimidating and very abundent...that's too bad for such a nice S.F.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bart took a long time and you miss the city down on the rail....for $40 bucks and a tip you can get a town car, be at the airport in 15 minutes and avoid a long walk lugging your baggage and waiting for bart. A cab to fisherman's wharf was $8.50 and goes the street car route but no 4 hour wait!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave N.
PDX
Jan 3, 2010

good location, small rooms $$ parking

Busy check-in, not enough staff and very expensive parking. Park on your own for less $$. Rooms are very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico,CA
Jan 3, 2010

Fantastic location for the price

We had a terrific New Years evening at the Davies Hall staying at the Hilton was a very good venue for us and the spirit was very good overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ithaca, NY
Jan 3, 2010

great but charged extra for everything

The location, the cleanliness, staff...everything was perfect as expected from Hilton, however parking,internet,breakfast is all extra, which can double the amount you pay, so be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short walking distance, there are free parking spaces for 2 hours, even more spaces after 6 pm till 7 am.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave N.
PDX
Jan 3, 2010

good location, small rooms $$ parking

Busy check-in, not enough staff and very expensive parking. Park on your own for less $$. Rooms are very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico,CA
Jan 3, 2010

Fantastic location for the price

We had a terrific New Years evening at the Davies Hall staying at the Hilton was a very good venue for us and the spirit was very good overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Jan 3, 2010

Just the 2 of us...after Christmas

We booked this bacause my boyfriend had never been there except when he was 18 and being deported to Vietnam....he is now 61...so a lot to see, we saw it all and loved it. Alcatraz, Hwy 1, being from VA the ocean and it's difference, wine country (though not green this time, shops, China town....etc. :-)) Oh and a huge starfish, Seals eating bait from the crab pots @ the pier, sea lions in the ocean on 1, a giant starfish and a wild cyote just over the Golden Gate Bridge! Nice people who helped us along the way everywhere. The homeless and the beggers are a bit intimidating and very abundent...that's too bad for such a nice S.F.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bart took a long time and you miss the city down on the rail....for $40 bucks and a tip you can get a town car, be at the airport in 15 minutes and avoid a long walk lugging your baggage and waiting for bart. A cab to fisherman's wharf was $8.50 and goes the street car route but no 4 hour wait!

Back to menu Return to top