$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PHX
Aug 28, 2009

Enjoyed our stay

Great location for tourism. Room was clean and great housekeeping staff. Too much noise from the street and hall. Not good soundproofing. Concierge was helpful for tourist questions. Close to Union Square Jazz activities, walked to China Town and took the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf. Lot's of security and staff. Very expensive eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't park there. It's $50 a day. Fly and super shuttle, it's cheaper.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, ca
Sep 10, 2009

More than I expected

Loved the location. Two blocks down from the cable car pickup and a couple blocks down from the BART. starbucks in the lobby is overpriced. Room very nice and clean. We stayed in the 16th floor so we had a patio. Same floor as the jacuzzi and heated pool. Walls kind of thin so I could hear the neighbors. hotel is really nice... but without putting a credit card on file, they won't unlock the minibar. I would think they would open it so it would be easier to charge me 10 bucks for a soda. Just a thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In union square so everything is in walking distance

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ireland
Sep 20, 2009

Nice hotel but parking = $$$$

We got a good deal on a room here, around 95 dollars i think for a queen bed. We flew in to San francisco to start our CA trip so just one night spent here to rest our heads before we hit the road. Room was lovely, a good size with a nice view & big tv. Bathroom was fine too, clean & good powerful shower. Staff were friendly too. Dont park here though. Too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Dazzle
Business
Boulder, CO
Aug 18, 2009

Nice place in a great location

I was just here on business and it was overall pretty good. The restaurant is way over priced though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 11, 2011

This Hilton has been reliable over years

I have stayed at this Hilton often over the last 20 or so years for business and pleasure and it has always been reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomibomi
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 21, 2009

Good location nice hotel

I always rate the hotels based on the cleanness and quality of the bed/ bathroom. Bed was really comfortable and sheets were soft. I didn't spend much time in the hotel other than sleeping but it was good!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bmwbiker
Dallas, TX
Sep 29, 2009

Enjoyable Hotel

Hotel was efficient for check-in and room was very nice on 17th floor in Tower 2. Room looked west, with great view. Only problem, even on 17th floor, traffic noise (horns in the morning) were a bit loud. If you want a quieter room (without the view) request one facing the pool area - as a friend of ours had. Also, if you have a few minutes waiting for friends, wait in the lobby - the show is amazing there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From SFO take BART. $8.10 from SFO to Powell stop. It is a short walk to the Hilton...and a lot less than a cab from the airport.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 12, 2009

San Francisco Hilton rooms are small

As stated earlier, the rooms were small. The desk chair couldn't even come out all of the way because the bed was - way to narrow of a walkway. And the view (tower 3 facing west room) was of a large air conditioner. If you stay here, definitely do NOT stay in tower 3. The place is well-secured and bell hops were awesome (not the bell desk person). The Starbucks there closes at 6pm - way too early. Housekeeping staff has proven to be one of the best that I have ever experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything - and I mean anything - you could possible want (legal anyway) is within shopping. There is the SEVEN-FLOOR Westfield Shopping Center only three blocks away and to the other direction from the hotel is the Union Square, where there is blocks and blocks (and stories) of shopping. The F-Line bus (train car) provides a quick and easy (and only $2 one-way) way to either the Castro/Mission Districts and to Fisherman's Wharf. Please don't eat at Bubba Gumps or Joe's Crab Shack; you can do that anyway. Eat at one of the street vendors (Jefferson and Taylor) or locally-owned restaurants.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne, Australia
Aug 20, 2009

Great location for exploring the city

The location was ideal for the opportunity to walk to all locations. The ease with the check in. The cleaning of the rooms. The absolute ease with checkout. Well informed of events that might effect stay. EG. Possible BART strike. The hotel kept us informed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ease of foot travel to all locations because of position

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jul 13, 2009

fantastic for vacation

every day was wunderfull for me and my friend- good organization for info, travel,food ,good and smiling staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top