$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
legmayker
Business
Santa Fe, NM
May 26, 2009

better value elsewhere

Check in was wonderful, Room seemed to be the worst one they had. They put us in the room closest to the elevator, it was extremly noisey. Toilet clogged twice and both times had to wait over an hour for maintanence to come fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
May 25, 2009

Over Rated

Very good location but very poor value with some rude staff members. No complementary anything! You have to pay $16/day for wired in room internet, no wireless available in your rooms. The wireless internet in the lobby was also pay for use at $15/day. Parking is $50 per day and they charged me $16 to park just to check in and unload my car. If you want to work out it's $15 per day, and stay clear of the mini bar that charges $10 for a bottle of water Old school small tube TV in corner that can't be viewed from bed. I travel quite a bit for work and pleasure and this definitely goes down as my most disappointing hotel stay that I can remember. The door men stood around outside and didn't open the door for you even when your hands were full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother with a rental car. Parking is very expensive, and the public transportation is excellent. Lot's of Taxi's around too.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheroz
Business
San Diego, CA
May 25, 2009

Nice

Perfect Location. Great amenities, nice staff. Very noisy outside and on the floor that we stayed on. The room doors slam shut very loudly. No fan in the bathroom, so it got very humid in the room after we took our showers. Very easy to get around San Fran from where we were. Great Shopping, Great Dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blasian Mom
Business
dumfries, virginia
May 24, 2009

Downtown Hilton in San Francisco

Great hotel for a quick trip to San Francisco. Took the BART from airport to Powell stop. Hotel was within easy walking distance. Quick registration and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take BART for only $5.65 rather than the $40.00 taxi ride from the airport.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 23, 2009

Great stay for the price

I have stayed in serveral hotels in and out of the city. This stay at the Hilton was the best ever. Wonderful service, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley,CA
May 21, 2009

S.F. Traveler

We visited all the local attractions. Parking was very expensive everywhere.Public transportation was easily accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 20, 2009

No Service in the time of need

There was a race event at the end of my stay. I called the hotel trying to get directions to reach the highway. I was put on hold a total 6 times by the operator that answered the phone and the concierge. It was easier to drive back to the hotel than to get any service over the phone. They had no control over the event but did have control over the level of service they give to their guests. If you're looking for a hotel that has service you're better off staying at a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 18, 2009

Hilton San Francisco

Sightseeing and business trip. Free internet would be welcome. Coffee pot in room did not work well. Very clean room, though, very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver, wa.
May 15, 2009

location and hotel great

you are within walking distance, of trolley cars, china town, union square. I would recommend, having a map of frisco to plot out where to dine. city tours are great way to see city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
May 14, 2009

Nice stay at Union Square!

Overall, I thought this was a great hotel. Check-in was quick and the front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. The lobby and hotel have a very extravagant feel, and the hotel restaurant looked nice, although we didn't try it out during our short stay. The room was small but had everything we needed, including a little patio area with table and chairs. We didn't hear any outside noise or other guests at night, although the hotel is located on a fairly busy street. There is great shopping just a couple blocks away at Union Square, and you can take the cable car there to Fishermans Wharf. Beware if you take the airport shuttle - our driver sat around for 15 minutes waiting for other passengers to show up (they never did), then stopped around the city to pick up others as he received calls, and we were almost an hour later than we expected arriving at the airport. We shouldve taken a cab! Otherwise enjoyed the stay - very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top