$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
493 reviews
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (493)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
pinngree idaho
Oct 6, 2009

trip

went sightseeing didn,t like to have to have to pay 45 dollars for hotelparking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North
Oct 6, 2009

Great

On arrival they did not have the king bed room i had paid for. I spent the first night in a double bed room. Which was at first very disappointing. They more than made up for it by upgrading me to a much nicer room for the remaining three days of my trip. I felt they really won me over by giving me such a big upgrade. It made me want to stay in there (especaily in that room) again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good restruants close to the hotel. Some deliver. Bottled water and Room service breakfast overpriced.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuperMan!!!
Oakley, CA
Mar 6, 2010

Best Getaway Weekend!!!

This hotel was awesome!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nike Town, Macys, VS, H & M!!!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Sep 4, 2010

First trip to San Fran

Overall I felt the Room was great, well maintained when we returned every day. The concierge had some very helpful suggestions on where to eat and the transit system. Being our first time to San Francisco well were very pleased by the location of the Hotel in relation to the various sites we had wanted to see and places we wanted to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By the Muni pass it allows you to ride all public transportation other than the Bart.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jul 19, 2010

Central location, comefortable room

Great location, just a couple of blocks to city transit, on-off bus lines, shopping and restaurants nearby, close enough to walk to wharf, excellent concierge desk, very comefortable room with a view; absolutely flawless. Booked for a conference, then stayed the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums, galleries, theater nearby. City buses are convenient and easy to use as well.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tustin, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Great price in an awesome location

An amazing price for the location. In the heart of the city, it is very close (short walk) to Union Square and to public transportation. Very convenient to walk to the mall, a place to eat, or the buses and not far from the Powell BART station at all. Close by to an excellent breakfast place too, Sears. The line was out the door, but moved very fast and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping just down the street near the cable cars.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Aug 6, 2007

great place to stay

I enjoyed every aspect of this hotel from the very comfortable beds to the heated pool. This hotel was very secure and the staff was very professional. The only complaint I have about my stay was the steep price of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield shopping Center

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dallas Traveler
Dallas, TX
Sep 8, 2011

Great hotel

The hotel is very clean and very large. My hat is off to the management for how this hotel is run. The concierge staff is unbelievable and are always there to accomodate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield, Ca
Jul 25, 2009

the excitement of Bagdad By The Bay

The hotel was fine. I am very upset with Cheap Tickets because you failed to deliver the free overnight parking and the the free breakfast as promised on your July 11, 2009 website when I booked this stay online. Calls to your customer service representative and her supervisor were fruitless. THE SAME SPECIAL OFFER IS LISTED IN YOUR CURRENT WEBSITE FOR THE SAME HOTEL ON AUGUST 24, 2009! Unless your correct this gross failure to perform, I will cease doing business with Cheap Tickets and book our November vacation to Vienna with another, more reliable and honest company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, TX
Sep 25, 2009

Excellent Stay!

Went to SF for a family vacation and had a wonderful time. Selected this Hilton based on the location, excellent reviews, and the fact that I'm a Rewards member and try select Hilton hotels when traveling on business. Staff was very friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a few blocks to the shops @ Union Square and the cable car stop. China Town is about 5-6 blocks. Other tourist areas such as Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, Golden Gate Park, Presidio, etc., can be reached via this city's excellent public transporation service (bus, trolleys and cable cars) - I recommend purchasing a Muni pass. If renting a car, there are 2 garages across the street from the hotel which are substantially lower than parking @ the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search