$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
486 out of 486
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Diego, CA
Jul 12, 2009

San Francisco Hilton rooms are small

As stated earlier, the rooms were small. The desk chair couldn't even come out all of the way because the bed was - way to narrow of a walkway. And the view (tower 3 facing west room) was of a large air conditioner. If you stay here, definitely do NOT stay in tower 3. The place is well-secured and bell hops were awesome (not the bell desk person). The Starbucks there closes at 6pm - way too early. Housekeeping staff has proven to be one of the best that I have ever experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything - and I mean anything - you could possible want (legal anyway) is within shopping. There is the SEVEN-FLOOR Westfield Shopping Center only three blocks away and to the other direction from the hotel is the Union Square, where there is blocks and blocks (and stories) of shopping. The F-Line bus (train car) provides a quick and easy (and only $2 one-way) way to either the Castro/Mission Districts and to Fisherman's Wharf. Please don't eat at Bubba Gumps or Joe's Crab Shack; you can do that anyway. Eat at one of the street vendors (Jefferson and Taylor) or locally-owned restaurants.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drrat
Business
NY, NY
Jul 10, 2009

Fine hotel

Very noisy in hallways the first few nights, but the room was very comfortable and pleasant. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
LA, CA
Jul 9, 2009

4 day weekend trip

It was all pretty good. I came a Thursday morning, checked in quickly, got a room on the 11th floor and everything went smoothly. The staff were friendly and they did everything to help you while also respecting your privacy. The room had 2 queen beds which accomodated 4 of us nicely. The bathroom was nice and clean. Hairdryer was better than some other cheaper hotel ones, but can't say it was as good as mine. Quiet, good location, close to food places, shopping, and couple minutes to Chinatown and whatnot. I didn't like how the internet was EXTREMELY overpriced. In this day and age where everything is going digital, it's insane I have to pay 17 dollars for one day of internet. SEVENTEEN! With the 4 days' bill I could pay 1 month of 10MB blazing fast cable internet back in LA! (oh yeah, the "broadband" was SLOW) Also, other hotels such as the Sheraton offer you free internet in the lobby, which is reasonable, AND they charge less than the Hilton when using it from your room. P.S. Parking is around $40. ridiculously expensive IMO, but that's how SF works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try going to Slide Lounge, you'll like it. Decent size, crowded, and has a slide down to the dance floor level.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Mount Holly, NJ
Jul 9, 2009

Great location

Nice staff. Clean room. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
"Heartland" of Florida
Jul 9, 2009

San Francisco Dreamin'

They messed up my reservation (ordered King, got two doubles). Other than that, a marvelous stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I wish I'd had enough time to study the public transportation more. I used cabs to get around when I didn't walk...

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyn
Friends
Wahiawa, HI
Jul 9, 2009

San Fran No Ka Oi

This was the place to be. My friend and I was able to step out of the hotel and walk to the nearest restaurant for a bite to eat. We walked a little further and was in shopping heaven! We even chanced it by walking to the wharf. For the avid walker, this was nothing but another 2 mile walk. I thought it was great. I would definitely stay here again. I had a great time thanks to Hilton San Fran!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff011
Couples
New York
Jul 9, 2009

Good and Bad

This is my first time to San Francisco. Hilton is a nice hotel but the room we got was too small. The bathroom was really small just enough for two people. I would have prefer a bigger room. In the morning, we could hear people chattering outside the hallways. But the housekeeping was excellent. Our room was always kept clean with Crab Tree amendities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Richmond is the area with the best chinese restaurants. Good dim-sum area!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
orlando fl
Jul 9, 2009

nice hotel great location

location is great. barta nearby. nice restaurants within walking distance. don't eat breakfast in hotel. nice reasonably places right around corner. rooms are kind of small but who stays in there room when in san francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take barta to and from airport. easy and people at barta are very helpful

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Jul 7, 2009

Good location, bad weather

I visited some places. My previous trip which was Los Angeles was better than this because the hotel and places are so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MY loves SF
Friends
San Bernardino, Ca
Jul 7, 2009

July 4th weekend @ the Hilton

We went to the Infusion Lounge which was like 3 minutes away from the hotel, so it was very convenient. Since it was July 4th weekend, it was pretty crowded but the staff was friendly. There were lots of security. The hotel is close to many restaurants. The room we stayed in was a 2 standard queen bed and was quite smaller than the Hilton on Kearny. The only complaint I would have is that there are no vending machines!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of shopping that you can do around there. I personally didn't do a lot of shopping but I did stop at H&M for a quick buy.

Back to menu Return to top