Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
537 reviews
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (537)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
537 out of 537
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 20, 2009

No Service in the time of need

There was a race event at the end of my stay. I called the hotel trying to get directions to reach the highway. I was put on hold a total 6 times by the operator that answered the phone and the concierge. It was easier to drive back to the hotel than to get any service over the phone. They had no control over the event but did have control over the level of service they give to their guests. If you're looking for a hotel that has service you're better off staying at a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
phoenix az
Jan 4, 2011

Bottum of the line

We traveled with another couple they had the exact same reservation. their room was spacious with a plenty of room our room was a tiny box with a bad oder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had dinner at the Cliff House the View was wounderful the Food was terrible I could not eat my prime rib.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bad billy
arlington, tx.
Aug 28, 2010

short getaway

hotel employees picketed the hotel during my stay. One of the pickets told me to go home. This hotel was not fair to guests or employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MuscledLeo
Lakewood, CO
Jul 1, 2009

Worst bed I have ever slept in.

The bed in the room I had was the worst bed I have ever slept in (or in this case attempted would be the operative word). I will say I am prone to lower back pain, but this bed was the worst. No support and lumpy. The last night I spent sleeping on the floor-that's how much pain I was in. I probably should have said something during my stay, but I booked through a third party and was not paying an outrageous rate so I felt like they wouldn't really care about my comfort. The television was fine but old. I work in the hotel industry and the hotel I work for recently replaced any of the old televisions with flat screens. The room was small and the outside noise was sometimes unbearable. There were cracks in the glass in the bathroom door and a crack in the glass behind one of the shelves in the bathroom. Overall, I was less than impressed. There is no excuse for the poor state of the bed in the room I had. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Ana, CA
Aug 2, 2009

Family Vacation

overall the experience was decent however I was extremely discouraged by the fact that for a 2 day stay I had to pay well over $180.00 for parking in the garage structure at the Hilton. There was no parking validation for hotel guests. Disappointing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Purchase the Fisherman's Wharf pass. It was time saver and money saver.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
legmayker
Santa Fe, NM
May 26, 2009

better value elsewhere

Check in was wonderful, Room seemed to be the worst one they had. They put us in the room closest to the elevator, it was extremly noisey. Toilet clogged twice and both times had to wait over an hour for maintanence to come fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pswayze
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 14, 2014

Nice view. Reasonably priced

I like Hilton properties and this one is nice. The view from my room was great, for SF, the room was a decent size, the internet was free (Hilton Honors) and with a strong signal, and the heat and hot water flowed freely! The restaurant in the hotel Urban Tavern was just OK. The Starbucks inside was convenient and the large seating area in the lobby made for a good meeting place. I come to SF regularly for business. Most of my meetings were a cab ride or a long walk away so other hotel properties are more convenient but this was reasonably priced. The fitness center is decent with plenty of working machines. And I rented a car from across the street later in my trip which was very convenient. I used to live in SF so the neighborhood where the hotel is located is not my favorite (edge of the Tenderloin) but it's fine. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Top of the Mark for an overpriced drink but a world class view! It's nice hill climb from the hotel. Hey, you can earn your extra calories.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
duke the traveler
Business
Oregon
Feb 24, 2014

Ok, but could be better

This hotel is rated as a 4 star, however, the value for the money is not as high as I would have expected. The room service and food is excellent, but very overpriced. There are no robes provided, and the room was pretty small. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful Overall, the stay was fine, but for the money, I would have expected a little bigger room, and robes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fredmichigan
Michigan
Mar 24, 2014

Good location

Hotel well located near Union Square. Wi-fi charged 13.50$ expensive for a 4* hotel. Very busy hotel. I checked 10 minutes before 12:00 and have been charge 50$ to. To my point of view there some others hotel around less expensive and with a better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Me from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Jun 28, 2009

Very Friendly and Accomadating Staff

Hotel room needed maintanence, but it was clean and tidy. Busy spot, VERY friendly and helpful staff. Internet daily rate is pretty steep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close- Taylor street has great breakfast and lunch spot with Thai restaurant beside for dinner. Also great Thai on O'Farrell.

Back to menu Return to top