$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie super mom
Detroit Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Great accomodations for family vacation

great location, helpful staff and they accomodated our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PHX
Aug 28, 2009

Enjoyed our stay

Great location for tourism. Room was clean and great housekeeping staff. Too much noise from the street and hall. Not good soundproofing. Concierge was helpful for tourist questions. Close to Union Square Jazz activities, walked to China Town and took the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf. Lot's of security and staff. Very expensive eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't park there. It's $50 a day. Fly and super shuttle, it's cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 27, 2009

Difficult Check-In

We've stayed here several times without problem, but this time were told the room type we requested was not available. The clerk offered to upgrade the reservation for $59 per night. After my continuing to insist and his making two trips back to check with the manager, he finally gave us the type room we reserved at the price we pre-paid. Following a long plane trip, the process made for a difficult beginning to the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Mason is right around the corner, is open until midnight and offers delicious food at affordable prices. The staff is French and ingredients are locally grown, fresh, and excellently prepared. Don't let the plain appearance keep you from trying it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Aug 25, 2009

Long Weekend Stay (Friday - Monday)

It was a nice hotel with a beautiful lobby and entrance. Lots of rooms (three towers worth). A Starbucks in the lobby, which was nice. Not very close to the waterfront, but very close to the cable car stop that will take you to the water front (about a 20 minute ride).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a Muni pass for multiple days. This can be used on the cable cars, buses, and muni (underground). It will save money if you ride it more than 3 times (for a five day pass) and in San Fran, with the hills, it's nice to have some transportation options :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 25, 2009

Awesome getaway

Our stay was very relaxing. The hotel is very clean, service is efficient and staff are very friendly. And the best thing the hotel is at the heart of the city close to everything, transportation, shopping, dining areas etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego ca
Aug 25, 2009

ho hum hilton

room was fine abit over used. staff friendly. PARKING SUCKS. resturant very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
union hilton sf
Business
san franscisco
Aug 24, 2009

it is alright

was given incorrect room at check-in, rude tour reservation assistant, noisy drunks both night and day, [...] no breakfast-in hotel starbucks overpriced and short hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kwebbj
Business
syndye, australia
Aug 23, 2009

san fran hilton august 09

I thought the hotel was in a fantastic location, close to everything. The staff were veryt friendly and helpful and the rooms were great, a little bit on the small side but we were only there for 3 days so it was fine. The only negatives I would say is that the walls were quite thin and you could hear everyone come up the hallway to their rooms, and you could also hear conversations going on in other rooms as well. Not that it was really the weather for swimming but the pool area could do with a bit of an upgrade. Apart from that I loved the place and would definitely stay there again if Im ever back in San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would definitely reccommend a dinner down in the mission district and/or little italy, both places were fantastic and bustling with life. The food and service was amazing and we had a great time. When we dined in Little Italy we initially caught a cab there but then decided to walk back to our hotel and it really didnt take that long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 22, 2009

Had a good stay

Me and my daughter stayed at the Hilton for only one night, so please consider this when reading. The room and rest room were alittle small but I must admit, I did get a good deal on the room. If I hadn't gotten the deal I would have been disapointed. The staff was very helpful and nice. The Hilton parking garage is something like $54.00 dollars for 24 hours but right across the street is a parking garage for $36.00 for 24 hours. So needless to say, I did not use the Hilton garage, I used the garage across the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megs Mcgee
Business
Beaverton, OR
Aug 21, 2009

awsome hotel!

This staff really takes care of "first time staying" guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Aug 20, 2009

Great location for exploring the city

The location was ideal for the opportunity to walk to all locations. The ease with the check in. The cleaning of the rooms. The absolute ease with checkout. Well informed of events that might effect stay. EG. Possible BART strike. The hotel kept us informed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ease of foot travel to all locations because of position

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top