$244 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 17, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
493 reviews
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (493)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie super mom
Detroit Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Great accomodations for family vacation

great location, helpful staff and they accomodated our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Ana, CA
Aug 2, 2009

Family Vacation

overall the experience was decent however I was extremely discouraged by the fact that for a 2 day stay I had to pay well over $180.00 for parking in the garage structure at the Hilton. There was no parking validation for hotel guests. Disappointing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Purchase the Fisherman's Wharf pass. It was time saver and money saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotelstayer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2009

Overall okay

While I was there I was attending a conference, which was hosted at the hotel. It was nice to be near the conference, but the rooms and the hotel itself were a bit run down. The hotel bar was great though and so were the drinks. I wouldn't really look to stay here again, but I wouldn't be angry if I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
IL
Jul 27, 2009

Hilton San Francisco - nice hotel

We liked this hotel. the hotel is at a good location some homeless around it but also a police man standing very close every night. great access to public transportation & nice restaurants around it. nice shops around. we recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

nice H&M, GAP, 21 shops very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 25, 2009

Super Business Hotel

Fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield, Ca
Jul 25, 2009

the excitement of Bagdad By The Bay

The hotel was fine. I am very upset with Cheap Tickets because you failed to deliver the free overnight parking and the the free breakfast as promised on your July 11, 2009 website when I booked this stay online. Calls to your customer service representative and her supervisor were fruitless. THE SAME SPECIAL OFFER IS LISTED IN YOUR CURRENT WEBSITE FOR THE SAME HOTEL ON AUGUST 24, 2009! Unless your correct this gross failure to perform, I will cease doing business with Cheap Tickets and book our November vacation to Vienna with another, more reliable and honest company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mt Pleasant, SC
Jul 22, 2009

Lived up to expectations

First time in San Francisco, toured city with good advice and information from hotel staff. Hotel convienent to many local sights, stores and restaurants. Hotel restaurant prices were high, Starbucks very high compared to one a block away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loris diner, Tad's steak house,John's Restarrant, Daily Grill, Cheesecake Factory( on top floor of Macy's)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erika misses San Fran
Augusta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

San Fran Hilton

I previously lived in San Fran about 5 years ago and wanted to return to visit friends and show my boyfriend around the city. We chose to stay at the Hilton because we got a great price with our flight and the location is perfect. You can walk right outside to tons of stores and restaurants and there is always a cab waiting. The public transportation is great and easy to access from this location as well. Union square is right outside and you can walk to china town too. The hotel provided a cab service back to the airport. I really have no complaints about my experience. Good deal. I didn't like the front desk lady that checked me in but I liked averything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flagirl
Florida
Jul 19, 2009

sanfrancisco rocks

Great hotel, a little large and can be confusing until youre oriented. Enjoyed our stay, however be prepared to pay for everylittle extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Alcatraz has an entertaining tour. Check out the vendor food at fisherman's wharf before choosing a meal location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tempe, AZ
Jul 19, 2009

a nice hotel for conventions and busines

I went there for a convention/conference, and it seems to be a prime location for that - unfortunately that means the hotel is bustling. San Francisco is not exactly child-friendly, but the hotel did the best they could to accomodate my little ones, and the hotel staff was unflaggingly helpful and friendly. For the price, however, I expected free internet, but you have to buy a 15$ a day card, you are better off walking to the Starbucks around the corner. Also, don't even think of popping the minibar! At 10$ each, that is possibly the most expensive water ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dining at the Foley's Irish Pub - although there are many, many good restaurants within sight, this one is original and the food is excellent when you want a substantial break from the upscale food around. Still upscale-ish but it will definitely stick to your ribs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 15, 2009

San Francisco, CA - Hilton

I truly appreciated that they would let us check in early but when I opened the minibar in our room there was an old half eaten sandwich in there, plus the hotel first charged us for the drinks missing in the minibar. After I talked to them they reversed the charges. The fan in the bathroom did not work and when taking a shower I could see all the dust/dirt inside the vent. Overall the hotel was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the Hop-on-Hop-off bus tour, located on Powell Street and Union Square. It is inexpensive and you can see/experience all the major attractions. They provide a tour guide as well. The buses return to the drop off location every 30min and it beats the cable car that are too expensive and crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search