$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
487 out of 487
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shoe fanatic
Friends
Spokane,WA
Aug 31, 2009

Great hotel for a girls weekend!!!

Despite the long check in when we arrived at 11pm and the fact that there is no fitness center unless you pay 15 dollars per person we had a great time. My girlfriends and I were there for my wedding shower/party weekend and to go to the Oustsidelands Music Festival. The location was within walking distance to public transit,shopping,great restaurants, and nightlife. It was a good spot for our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Aug 30, 2009

San Francisco

Location was a little "iffy" at night. The room was average. If you don't take the key for the in room snacks there is then no refrigerator for keeping food cold. For some reason there were no water glasses only paper coffee cups. Parking in the garage requires that you use elevator 3 or 4 in tower 3 and often times those elevators did not stop at floor 8 (parking access) requiring riding up and down until you caught floor at the right time. Once it stopped but the doors did not open. It was a pain in the neck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
PHX
Aug 28, 2009

Enjoyed our stay

Great location for tourism. Room was clean and great housekeeping staff. Too much noise from the street and hall. Not good soundproofing. Concierge was helpful for tourist questions. Close to Union Square Jazz activities, walked to China Town and took the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf. Lot's of security and staff. Very expensive eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't park there. It's $50 a day. Fly and super shuttle, it's cheaper.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 27, 2009

Difficult Check-In

We've stayed here several times without problem, but this time were told the room type we requested was not available. The clerk offered to upgrade the reservation for $59 per night. After my continuing to insist and his making two trips back to check with the manager, he finally gave us the type room we reserved at the price we pre-paid. Following a long plane trip, the process made for a difficult beginning to the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Mason is right around the corner, is open until midnight and offers delicious food at affordable prices. The staff is French and ingredients are locally grown, fresh, and excellently prepared. Don't let the plain appearance keep you from trying it.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle
Aug 25, 2009

Long Weekend Stay (Friday - Monday)

It was a nice hotel with a beautiful lobby and entrance. Lots of rooms (three towers worth). A Starbucks in the lobby, which was nice. Not very close to the waterfront, but very close to the cable car stop that will take you to the water front (about a 20 minute ride).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a Muni pass for multiple days. This can be used on the cable cars, buses, and muni (underground). It will save money if you ride it more than 3 times (for a five day pass) and in San Fran, with the hills, it's nice to have some transportation options :)

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Queens, NY
Aug 25, 2009

Awesome getaway

Our stay was very relaxing. The hotel is very clean, service is efficient and staff are very friendly. And the best thing the hotel is at the heart of the city close to everything, transportation, shopping, dining areas etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
san diego ca
Aug 25, 2009

ho hum hilton

room was fine abit over used. staff friendly. PARKING SUCKS. resturant very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
union hilton sf
Couples
san franscisco
Aug 24, 2009

it is alright

was given incorrect room at check-in, rude tour reservation assistant, noisy drunks both night and day, [...] no breakfast-in hotel starbucks overpriced and short hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Sacramento, CA
Aug 22, 2009

Had a good stay

Me and my daughter stayed at the Hilton for only one night, so please consider this when reading. The room and rest room were alittle small but I must admit, I did get a good deal on the room. If I hadn't gotten the deal I would have been disapointed. The staff was very helpful and nice. The Hilton parking garage is something like $54.00 dollars for 24 hours but right across the street is a parking garage for $36.00 for 24 hours. So needless to say, I did not use the Hilton garage, I used the garage across the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megs Mcgee
Friends
Beaverton, OR
Aug 21, 2009

awsome hotel!

This staff really takes care of "first time staying" guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top