$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milano, Italy
Sep 29, 2009

it's Hilton!

Shopping, Nightlife and Dining are very close, everything is close from this hotel, you got Starbucks in the lobby. You got to pay (a lot) for everything is extra (even internet, in our room was ethernet only) but this is a very good hotel and has a great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping begins in front of the hotel, chinatown is a short walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bmwbiker
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 29, 2009

Enjoyable Hotel

Hotel was efficient for check-in and room was very nice on 17th floor in Tower 2. Room looked west, with great view. Only problem, even on 17th floor, traffic noise (horns in the morning) were a bit loud. If you want a quieter room (without the view) request one facing the pool area - as a friend of ours had. Also, if you have a few minutes waiting for friends, wait in the lobby - the show is amazing there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From SFO take BART. $8.10 from SFO to Powell stop. It is a short walk to the Hilton...and a lot less than a cab from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AsK
Business
Plano,TX
Sep 28, 2009

Very central hotel

The location of the hotel was great. It is so close to Union Street so that you cn do shopping, find good restaurants around. If you want to be close to Fisherman's Wharf, prefer another hotel. The rooms were so compact and we had a large patio with the pool view. Liked it a lot. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Room service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Tx
Sep 28, 2009

San Fran 2009

My fiance and I loved the hotel. It was a great location for us as it's located next to many shops, restaurants, and public transporation. Additionally, we felt safe coming in and out of the hotel as there was security presence at all times without it being overwhelming. Our room was just a double standard room but we had a very comfortable stay and the best sleep. We had one noise issue with the guest next door and the hotel staff took care of it right away. More importantly, we just felt at ease and the concierge was amazingly helpful in taking the time to show us how to get around town efficiently. The staff in general was well polished and completely professional. The housekeeping staff is excellent as our rooms were emmaculately cleaned each day. Thank you so much. We will recommend this hotel to our friends/family and look forward to our next visit to San Francisco and stay with your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time Couple
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 28, 2009

Nice Room, Great Location

We flew in to town for the weekend (actually for the Cubs/Giants game) and when we got to the hotel, the location could not have been better. It was our first time in San Fran and everything was walking distance: shopping, food, cable cars, and public transportation. Long and short: it was the best deal for the money. The room was nice, clean, and fit perfectly within out taste and budget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner on Taylor St is the best breakfast place, Taylor St Cafe, yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, TX
Sep 25, 2009

Excellent Stay!

Went to SF for a family vacation and had a wonderful time. Selected this Hilton based on the location, excellent reviews, and the fact that I'm a Rewards member and try select Hilton hotels when traveling on business. Staff was very friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a few blocks to the shops @ Union Square and the cable car stop. China Town is about 5-6 blocks. Other tourist areas such as Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, Golden Gate Park, Presidio, etc., can be reached via this city's excellent public transporation service (bus, trolleys and cable cars) - I recommend purchasing a Muni pass. If renting a car, there are 2 garages across the street from the hotel which are substantially lower than parking @ the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget traveler with high standard
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Ok overall. Convenient location w/ negs.

The hotel room was okay overall. We requested 1 king bed but they ran out, so they gave us a room with 2 queen beds. Luckily, it's a room that was recently remodeled. Nothing fancy. A few carpet stinks in the room. Saturday night was a bit noisy for a couple hours with music and street people hanging outside of the hotel, but I finally fell asleep 'cause I was so tired. Our room was on the 10th floor and right above the hotel main entrance. TV was aged and old-style. Coffee in room was very good. Bathroom was clean but not super clean. Make sure to play with the air-conditioning way before heading to bed. The room got cold quickly but once the air-conditioning was turned down or off, it could get quite stuffy and warm. For the promotional price we paid, we paid for what we got and had no major complain while the hotel is in a convenient location. Yet we'd not pay more staying at Hilton Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2009

Great lobby, thin walls

We went to several bars throughout the city and required a cab to go to them. Venture off the wrong path near this hotel and it gets very very seedy. On the right path is great shopping. We walked easily to the BART transit which makes for much cheaper transportation to the airports. The walls were paper thin. We woke up several times to our neighbors coughing and once to them doing something unmentionable here. The lobby was nice and ornate, but the halls were dated/narrow and the bed was somewhat uncomfortable. Nice bathroom and plenty of space, but nothing too luxurious. By comparison, we usually stay at Starwood hotels. We certainly liked this hotel's location and room (minus the bed) better than the Westin Market Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close and safe walk to Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomibomi
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 21, 2009

Good location nice hotel

I always rate the hotels based on the cleanness and quality of the bed/ bathroom. Bed was really comfortable and sheets were soft. I didn't spend much time in the hotel other than sleeping but it was good!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ireland
Sep 20, 2009

Nice hotel but parking = $$$$

We got a good deal on a room here, around 95 dollars i think for a queen bed. We flew in to San francisco to start our CA trip so just one night spent here to rest our heads before we hit the road. Room was lovely, a good size with a nice view & big tv. Bathroom was fine too, clean & good powerful shower. Staff were friendly too. Dont park here though. Too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top