$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
558 out of 558
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dude living busy
Pasadena, California
May 8, 2013

awesome hotel in shady neighborhood

The hotel is very well kept. We suffered a bit of noise from the room across the hall, but that is not the fault of the hotel. The only real downside is the area where the hotel is. Too close to tenderloin - lots of homeless/unbalanced people on the street in the blocks around the hotel. pretty bad even during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mason st has some really nice diners for breakfast etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAB
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 25, 2014

HILTOOOOOON

This is a great hotel to stay at, if you are looking for a place in/close to Union Square. The restaurant it's attached to is fantastic! The grand lobby is very appealing and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagogy85
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 24, 2014

Nice location, average everything else.

Went for a friend's birthday weekend. The hotel was fine. Only problem is that it ended up being $425 a night for a basic room. Just too much in my opinion. Other than that, the room was adequate and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New Yorker Vistor
Business
London, England
Sep 23, 2014

Lacking in four star magic

I would have to say that I was totally underwhelmed by the Hilton. Other than the grand entrance hall the rooms were of a very average (if not poor) standard and in my opinion it is lacking in some four star magic (to compare it to other 4Star hotels).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I love to Travel Ms Dee
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 18, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to assist us when we needed anything additional like extra towels, etc. The complimentary Starbucks breakfast drink and free pastry was a nice extra. The hotel room was clean. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance or a quick cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RossCLT
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 6, 2014

Business Trip

I stayed in room 1658 at the Hilton on OFarrell this week. Its an interior room facing the pool. Too bad the kids weren't with me this trip. A little noisy out there at 9p but nothing terrible. This is a very busy hotel and I was very glad that Hilton offered me the opportunity to check in early for $25. Totally worth it for me. The only negative to this hotel is the location. Its close to Union Square but its in a rougher part of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pauli08
Business
Luxembourg
Jun 29, 2014

Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you enter the hotel. The rooms are in 3 towers. We had a room with 2 king size beds, it was clean and tidy, and staff was helpful and friendly! The hotel has their own private-"taxis" too, which cost you only 40 dollars from San Francisco International Airport, that's less expensive than normal taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

just walk over union square to market street, where cable cars depart from too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcheea
Business
NYC
May 18, 2014

Met expectations

Needs update to become 4 star. They didn't have a refrigerator in the room but quickly provided one at my request. Basically, considering the price and location, I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to buy the $15 transportation ticket- unlimited access to bus and cable cars !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MatthewRay
Business
Rome ga
May 18, 2014

Union square hilton

Small but nice room. Excellent staff and services. Very capable and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ICayax
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 18, 2014

Awesome trip to San Francisco

Hotel staff very friendly and easy and quick check in. This particular hotel is close to all the main attractions San Francisco has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Alcatraz and pier 39

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTraveler89
Business
Denver, CO
May 8, 2014

Nice hotel, not worth the extra bucks

The hotel was very close to MUNI, but far from the cool neighborhoods. Very clean, staff was fantastic. Room was comfortable, but not overwhelmingly nice. Don't know if it was worth the huge price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tradition Bar a few blocks down has great cocktails and a friendly staff. Cool atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top