$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
493 reviews
Great Hotel, Great Location

This hotel was conveniently located in Union Square. The hotel staff was great and was quick to... See full review

  • I love to Travel Ms Dee
  • Aug 18, 2014
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (493)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosie super mom
Detroit Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Great accomodations for family vacation

great location, helpful staff and they accomodated our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pswayze
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 14, 2014

Nice view. Reasonably priced

I like Hilton properties and this one is nice. The view from my room was great, for SF, the room was a decent size, the internet was free (Hilton Honors) and with a strong signal, and the heat and hot water flowed freely! The restaurant in the hotel Urban Tavern was just OK. The Starbucks inside was convenient and the large seating area in the lobby made for a good meeting place. I come to SF regularly for business. Most of my meetings were a cab ride or a long walk away so other hotel properties are more convenient but this was reasonably priced. The fitness center is decent with plenty of working machines. And I rented a car from across the street later in my trip which was very convenient. I used to live in SF so the neighborhood where the hotel is located is not my favorite (edge of the Tenderloin) but it's fine. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Top of the Mark for an overpriced drink but a world class view! It's nice hill climb from the hotel. Hey, you can earn your extra calories.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NicP
Mountain View, CA
Feb 6, 2014

A perfect business accommodation or weekend getaway.

Ideal location walking distance to everything; shopping, eating, tourism. A quick cab ride to Fisherman's Wharf. I love being able to get up and grab my Starbuck's from the lobby and then walk down the street to do my annual birthday shopping. At night you can walk across the street to Ruby Sky for some late night drinks and dancing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surprise birthday visit
Harrisburg, PA
Jan 30, 2014

Right in town - but very expensive

Hotel right in town, very nice but very expensive. Parking and food very high priced. Close to attractions and cable cars. Area around hotel OK but 2 blocks in any direction after dark was undesirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many attractions only a short drive from hotel. Cable cars near. Just very expensive and areas 2 blocks away from hotel got shady at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
toryare
los angeles
Dec 23, 2013

vacay

bad service and hospitality. too crowded. food was decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Small Town Ms.
Northern California
Dec 16, 2013

Great hotel in a great location

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. The staff is great, the location is perfect, the accommodations are very nice, and the price is not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jasper's Corner Tap & Kitchen!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
94115mom
San Francisco, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Good Location Terrible Room

Check in was a long process. Hotel was very busy and I was not happy with the room I was assigned. I was put on lowest floor next to the elevator in an accessible room (no tub or counter top) with a view of a concrete wall below the pool. I was told it was a good room upon check-in and I was very annoyed because once I got to the room it was obviously not. With such an incredible line for check-in it was not worth the time or energy to get back into line and try to get a different room. The same things happens whenever I book a hotel room through any site other than the hotels. It is very disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bar at top of hotel is closed for renovation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suzukm1
Business
mountain view, ca
Nov 10, 2013

clean rooms

upgraded rooms are nice. I would have liked to have some mini bar or glasses in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marybeth2
Stockton, CA
Oct 22, 2013

Wonderful experience

There were four ladies in our group and we were all happy with the Hilton. We came to run the Nike Women's Marathon so we needed our rest the night before. The beds were so comfortable we almost didn't wake up in time. We'll definitely be back next year. Only gave 3 stars on value but that's how I feel about the whole SF room rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nina A
Los Angeles
Oct 22, 2013

Great location for the Nike Women's Marathon

Great location close to Union Square, Bart, shopping areas, and the Nike Women's Marathon start line, and expo. Although there was always a long line at the front desk, the staff was very helpful and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RL LA
Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 2, 2013

Excellent Hilton

Rooms recently upgraded--very comfortable and quiet (I love quiet hotels). Every single room and maintenance member we met in Tower 3, on 18th floor were professional and very friendly -- we liked that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search