$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
847 reviews
Best location!

The hotel is quite big. You have that big entrance hall, a Starbucks is just on the left if you... See full review

  • Pauli08
  • Jun 29, 2014
San Fco. Vacations

Excellent experience! The only disappointment was the parking rate, too high! I paid $214!!! See full review

  • Horacio Super Dad
  • May 7, 2014
San Francisco's Union Square First Class Accommodations

A 46-story building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is one of the tallest & largest hotels in the entire city. This means many rooms offer breathtaking views of everything from the city skyline to the Oakland Hills. Guests can take advantage of the hotels close proximity to local attractions and easy access to public transportation such as MUNI, BART and the famous Cable Cars. Geographically, the hotel is centrally located between Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center. The on-site restaurant, Urban Tavern, serves sophisticated pub food along with cocktails and beer.

Highlights
  • Centrally located in Union Square
  • Breathtaking views of downtown San Francisco
  • Sparkling outdoor pool on the 16th floor
  • Savor a hamburger and a pint of beer from Urban Tavern, the on-site eatery
Rooms

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers a number of different room classes. Standard rooms include flat-screen TVs, plush-top mattresses, irons and ironing boards, and spacious work desks. Deluxe view rooms (floors 22 to 30) add unbeatable views of San Francisco Bay. Then, of course, there are the skyline bay views, which have the best views in the house. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all accommodations (fees may apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel is located at the center of the Theater District, this San Francisco hotel is close to many nearby sightseeing attractions including Union Square, City Hall, AT&T Park, and the Moscone Convention Center. Walk to the shops at the Westfield San Francisco Centre located two blocks away. Take a swim in our pool or simply relax in one of our skyline views as you marvel in the views. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (13 mi/19.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ferry Building (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 134,500 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual team to help troubleshoot problems
  • Book meeting space online through e-Events

Hotel Map

37.7858 -122.4104
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Francisco Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (847)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
847 out of 847
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Bad choice for romance

No bathrobe, no tissues, broken shower, no wine glasses, no late check-out. Valet parking and you have to walk a half mile to get to lobby. It's a wonder how this hotel is 4 star rated. Never go there unless your company pays for it~!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the public garage in front of the hotel, where it is half priced and MUCH nearer than Hotel parking lot~!!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Winetasters
Tracy, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Not Happy

We are Hilton Honors members and have stayed at Hilton properties frequently - we were not greeted in any welcoming way. Furthermore - we were told that because our stay was booked through a third-party reservation [...] - we would not get any points applied. I had never heard of that and asked why - and was just told it was their policy....The agent at Hilton hotel made me feel like pond scum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
emannick
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 12, 2011

Train Wreck

very unclean hotel with poor service and employees who could not have been less helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Bad choice for romance

No bathrobe, no tissues, broken shower, no wine glasses, no late check-out. Valet parking and you have to walk a half mile to get to lobby. It's a wonder how this hotel is 4 star rated. Never go there unless your company pays for it~!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the public garage in front of the hotel, where it is half priced and MUCH nearer than Hotel parking lot~!!

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K & L
Los Gatos, CA
Sep 1, 2009

Not worth it!!

I am not sure if it was Hilton or Orbitz that mislead us to believe there was continental breakfast and free parking..... We are not very happy at all!!!! It costed 50.00 for parking which was unexpected. If we had known that ahead of time, we would have not stayed there. And for the price, coffee and food would have been nice. Other places provide it why can't they? We will not pay 7.00 for a pot of coffee in our room. Way uncool!!!!VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH ORBITZ!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SixTalksInFiveDays
Business
Baltimore
Oct 6, 2010

Painful

Worst stay in a Hilton - I had selected the hotel because i previously had good experience. This time was horrible. I don't want to complain about the baby in the next room too much - He/she can't help the crying at 2 am, 4 am and 7 am. But being on business, it is crippling when the Internet is nonfunctional for three days. Several times (three), staff walked into my room without knocking. Once a maintenance guy just walked in at 9:30 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Japanese place two blocks down on O'Farrel

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
erfw
Fort Worth, TX
May 27, 2013

Management Never Responded

Needed two beds but not available so reserved a king-size bed since was sharing room with son. Room had a queen-size, front desk said that's all they had. Manager not available but promised they would call me back. Called them twice but never heard from the manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SixTalksInFiveDays
Business
Baltimore
Oct 6, 2010

Painful

Worst stay in a Hilton - I had selected the hotel because i previously had good experience. This time was horrible. I don't want to complain about the baby in the next room too much - He/she can't help the crying at 2 am, 4 am and 7 am. But being on business, it is crippling when the Internet is nonfunctional for three days. Several times (three), staff walked into my room without knocking. Once a maintenance guy just walked in at 9:30 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Japanese place two blocks down on O'Farrel

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vincio
New York, NY, USA
Oct 3, 2011

under the expectations

The room was too small and the bathroom even smaller than a clset with an invisible sink useless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Berkeley Fan
Vancouver, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Good location, but everything else's bad

The hotel was out of slippers. The room service has bad attitude. A thirty seconds phone call to a Canadian cellphone cost 11 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top