Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 20, 2010

weekend in SF

hotel lobby was nice but rooms were ordinary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Headdoc
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 22, 2010

Fair Accomodations

Hotel had decent accomodations, yet there was some kind of union dispute by the Hilton employees who were quite rude and aggressive. We had to cross the picket line when we went in or out of the hotel which caused some stress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not get the breakfast buffet. It was not adequate and overpriced.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 29, 2011

Disapppointing

The magnetic strip on our credit card was damaged. That stumped the receptionist. Apparently, they don't have the ability to manually enter the credit card number. The hotel is showing its age and isn't very modern. There were damaged fixtures in the bathroom. The parking was way to expensive. It should be included for guests. The room was tiny. They charge for internet use. That should be free. The best thing that can be said about the hotel is its location. As a consequence, management apparently thinks they don't need to expend any effort. There are many other hotels in the area. Choose one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining and shopping options in walking distance.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Hueneme, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Great location, but

This hotel caters to the business traveler so other individuals are just part of the crowed. Maybe this hotel is just too big to care about the individuals not part of a big group

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk around the area to review menus posted outside each restaurant.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Jun 23, 2009

Great stay

I went to stay in the city for 24 hours and it was convienently located to shopping and restaurants. This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the hilton on Ofarrell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 15, 2009

San Francisco, CA - Hilton

I truly appreciated that they would let us check in early but when I opened the minibar in our room there was an old half eaten sandwich in there, plus the hotel first charged us for the drinks missing in the minibar. After I talked to them they reversed the charges. The fan in the bathroom did not work and when taking a shower I could see all the dust/dirt inside the vent. Overall the hotel was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the Hop-on-Hop-off bus tour, located on Powell Street and Union Square. It is inexpensive and you can see/experience all the major attractions. They provide a tour guide as well. The buses return to the drop off location every 30min and it beats the cable car that are too expensive and crowded.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wildomar
Sep 7, 2009

The not so goood

I preferred the Radisson near the Embarcadero

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 16, 2009

Perfect walking distance from shopping.

Nicely within walking distance to shopping and landmarks. Lots of places in the hotel to purchase bottled water. (A problem I have had in some other hotels.) The always bustling lobby gives the hotel a nice energy. One negative was the bathroom being so tiny with the toilet right in front of the counter and a foot away from the sink. I barely had room to put things. I kept thinking I was going to drop items in the toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother standing in the enormous Starbuck's line in the hotel lobby. There's one on nearly every corner.

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC Canada
Jan 10, 2010

OK

Such a busy hotel and we arrived @ 10 on Christmas day and the Rest was not serving food anymore. Had to go out or room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auckland New Zealand
Aug 9, 2011

Slightly disappointed

After staying in many Hiltons around the world. I think for the price I paid the rooms were just average. Lobby and staff were great thought. For the same price I think I will stay with the Westin next time I'm in town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top