$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4 stars
View map of 333 O'Farrell Street, PO Box 420868, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
512 out of 512
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 7, 2009

that will be extra

Hotel was expensive and didn't include anything beyond a room; spa, shuttle, internet -- everything was extra. There was always a bellman to keep the homeless folks out of the entry area. Next time I would stay at an express where I could at least catch a continental breakfast before heading to the conference without dropping another $20 at Sarbucks. If you aren't on a budget it's a nice place to stay, but if you are you should look at some other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take public transportation from the airport to the hotel. It will get you their faster, safer and cheaper than the shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Mar 28, 2010

Noisy Hotel

Hotel was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ripped Off With A Car
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 8, 2010

$50 For Parking?!!!

The hotel was exactly what we paid for - a decent place to sleep, but the fact that they charged $50 for self-parking is a cruel joke. We're giving you business and you charge us that much for parking?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern CA
Dec 5, 2010

Union Square Hotel

We paid for a king size bed, got a queen. Ad stated that it was at Union Square....it was 3 blocks away, an easy walk, but NOT at Union Square as stated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haywar,CA
Dec 12, 2010

Just normal

It was alright, nothing special, it was kind of chaotic at the reception, but its a really large hotel so that was expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Sep 9, 2009

Good Lodging, But Pricey Parking

The Hilton was a quality place to stay, but gave us less for our money than other Hiltons we've stayed at. As a Hilton Honors Gold VIP, I expect more than having to wait in a line to redeem a coupon for coffee, muffin, juice and a piece of fruit at the lobby Starbucks in the morning. How can other Hiltons offer a complete breakfast buffet or continental breakfast in their Hilton Honors Club? I was also amazed to be charged over $51 per day just to self-park (which included occupancy tax, as if I were living in the parking space). That's almost as much as the daily rate for the mortage for my home. We might have parked at the garage across the street for $29 per day, but would have had to run the gauntlet with the "interesting" downtown characters that lurk out on the streets in this part of town. This seemed to be in line with San Francisco over all as a vacation destination: over priced and not as much of a value as it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 9, 2009

It was cool for the most Part

The hotel experience was excellent. I did not like the fact that they charged for every little thing. You could go down the street to a less fancier hotel and get more for less money. The parking was not free for hotel residents and no complimentary breakfast at all. I would have paid less money for more of the simple things that they did not offer. The refrigerator was not big enough to store food. They also kept it stocked in hopes of you getting hungry at night and paying for the high price items that were stored in there already. Overall the hotel was nice. But next time I will pay less and get more I am sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 20, 2010

weekend in SF

hotel lobby was nice but rooms were ordinary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Headdoc
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 22, 2010

Fair Accomodations

Hotel had decent accomodations, yet there was some kind of union dispute by the Hilton employees who were quite rude and aggressive. We had to cross the picket line when we went in or out of the hotel which caused some stress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not get the breakfast buffet. It was not adequate and overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 29, 2011

Disapppointing

The magnetic strip on our credit card was damaged. That stumped the receptionist. Apparently, they don't have the ability to manually enter the credit card number. The hotel is showing its age and isn't very modern. There were damaged fixtures in the bathroom. The parking was way to expensive. It should be included for guests. The room was tiny. They charge for internet use. That should be free. The best thing that can be said about the hotel is its location. As a consequence, management apparently thinks they don't need to expend any effort. There are many other hotels in the area. Choose one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining and shopping options in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top