$216 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 165 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Nice spot

Great location. Good for couples and singles. Ferry is nearby and great restaurants. Excellent for... See full review

  • Keith L.
  • Apr 16, 2015
Awesome experience

Hotel has a great location, excellent value, staff is always ready to help, the place is classy and... See full review

  • Pastor 18
  • Jan 5, 2015

In the historic Embarcadero District of San Francisco, the eight-story Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel, benefits from sweeping bay views and is close to local attractions in SoMa, or South of Market, and the Financial District. The hotel boasts attractive decor, a welcoming lobby, and popular Japanese restaurant Ozumo for sushi and sashimi. The hotel invites its guests to use the excellent YMCA health club facilities next door. Harbor Court is part of the Kimpton chain, which uses eco-friendly products and is a certified Green/Sustainable property.

Rooms

Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel, offers 131 luxury guest rooms, furnished to a high standard in a colorful and contemporary style. Selected rooms feature iHome docking stations and superior Aveda bathroom products. There is a choice of guest rooms, ranging from the one full size bedded guest room to the king bay room, worthwhile for its views, and the deluxe penthouse queen view suite, which has a massive 316 square feet of space, plus a comfortable sofa bed in the living area. Free wireless high-speed Internet access and LCD televisions are found in all styles of accommodations, and all the usual items such as a bathrobe, minibar and refrigerator are included. The soundproofing of rooms is a welcome touch, and some packages come with invitations to join the hosted wine reception in the Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel library. In the attractive lobby, guests will find complimentary newspapers and a selection of board games. A considerable bonus is that children (aged 17 or under) may occupy the same room as their parents or guardians at no extra charge (using existing bedding), making this a smart choice for families or larger parties.

Highlights
  • Spectacular views of the Bay and Bridge
  • Accompanied children stay free
  • Sample sushi and sake in the Japanese restaurant
Nearby attractions
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Financial District (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Treasure Island (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 132 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$160
3.4 / 5 423 reviews
★★★★
$216
4.4 / 5 21 reviews
★★★★
$194
4.1 / 5 330 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.2 / 5 194 reviews
★★★
$199
3.5 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$179
3.7 / 5 223 reviews

Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

One Full size bedded room
1 Full size bed 115 Square feet
Accessible Queen Room w Roll In
1 Queen bed. 165 Square ft. Roll in shower combination.
Standard with One Bed
1 Full size bed 165 Square feet
Queen Room
1 Queen bed 165 Square feet
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Bed 120 square feet
King Room
1 King bed 195 Square feet
Bay View Queen Room
1 Queen bed 165 Square feet
King Bay View Room
1 King Bed 165 Square feet
Bay View Penthouse Suite
1 Queen bed 316 Square feet
Accessible Queen Room
1 Queen bed 165 Square ft.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ferry Building: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.1 mi
  • Japantown: 2.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 2.2 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.7 mi

Dining

Ozumo
Award-Winning Japanese Restaurant. Entering the restaurant your senses immediately journey Eastward. But this is not your fathers sushi joint. Think sleek polished surfaces subdued lighting and multiple areas to explore various elements of Japanese cuisin

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracy L.
Single
Sacramento, CA
Jul 3, 2012

Best Place to Stay in SF

Location is great, far enough away from the tourist traps, but close to public trans and the freeway. Rooms are small, but they are nicely appointed. Great views, attentive staff and quiet rooms. There are several amazing restaurants nearby, as well as the Ferry Bldg. for all your nosh cravings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is Yank Sing a very upscale dim sum place, but next door is their to go counter, a huge savings over the restaurant and you can take your treats to the courtyard outside.

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mdod4f
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Mar 18, 2013

total ripoff

I think the hotel gave the 2 of us the tiniest room and they had the gall to charge over $260 for a room that would be cramped even for 1 person. Two people from the hotel should stay in the same room (#801) and let us know if they think that room is spacious enough for 2 people and worth over $260. Also, we signed up for their InTouch Guest Reward program to get free wi-fi and up to $10 for mini bar. We drank 1 water bottle for $6. At checkout, we asked for $6 credit and was told we could not quality since we had booked the room through a third-party company. What a bunch of malarkey. Would not recommend this place to anyone unless you want to get ripped off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferry Plaza for artisanal shops, farmers market and eateries.

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
not San Francisco
Aug 23, 2009

this place stank, literally

The first thing we noticed in the hotel was the sewer smell. When asked, the staff said they provided room fresheners. Did not help. Could not upgrade or cancel reservation because it had been made on Orbitz. I think that's the last time I'll use Orbitz. We just forfeited our last night's stay and went somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Imelda scheffmacher otero
Family
mexico city
Jul 5, 2012

FRAUD EXPERIENCE

I did a reservation for two persons in a room with a specific ft2.It is imposible to know how is the distribution of the area in the room. When I arrive,surprise,the room has a double bed(for two persons),but the space around the bed was extremely small ,such a way,that was imposible to put two normal pieces of luggage. Actually the room is not for two persons,even the responsable at the front desk(very kind)apologies,and recognize that this room is not for two persons,eventhough they advertised it for two,THIS IS A FRAUD.They said,if you want a larger room ,you have to pay EXTRA,because you paid for that specific room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Littlebunny5
Couples
Mountain View, CA
Jan 20, 2013

Good but not great

Some of the amenities were really great (hot chocolate bar was adorable) others not so much. We also had a horrible view. Room service hours do not go very late and we wanted a late check out (only given extra half hour). A little disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Josh N
Business
LA, CA
Oct 30, 2011

Solid Choice in a good location

I chose this hotel because I got a good rate via Orbitz. Of note, if you book through Oribitz instead of the hotel, you are not eligible for Kimpton rewards points. You ARE however, still eligible for free wireless and $10 credit on your mini bar. The hotel has a free "wine hour" in the early evening, and cookies at 9 pm. I didn't use valet as I found another garage that was nearby. Keep in mind valet is $40 (30% discount if you have a hybrid though). I didn't spend much time in my room, but if you plan to, i'd spend a bit more for a harbor view room, as i was looking out on a wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tina J.
Couples
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Not up to Par

It's a little unsettling to have to ask at nearly 5pm to have your room cleaned only to have an annoyed staff ask if I just wanted new towels. The hotel has no real amenities and I just felt like every little thing had an additional cost. Upon checking out we had a odd experience with someone requesting to see the mini bar...I get that stuff is expensive but we didn't touch it and it was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ls on the job hunt
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

fast time on th job

great hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, my room was super sweet. For the price a light free breakfast would have helded 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethF
Single
London
Mar 21, 2012

Excellent weekend in SF

I was in SF for the weekend extending a business trip, alone and it was lovely. Comfortable furnishings, great shower, good room (small but not too much that it mattered to me at all - and I had 2 large bags and 1 large suitcase). And perfect location by the water, near the Ferry Building (and all its wonderful coffee, ice cream, gourmet delights) and easy transport options. Staff were helpful and the evening wine and cookies were both a welcome sight. Thanks! Minimal fuss, room definitely up to scratch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Even though it's cheesy and been done lots, take the cable car from Powell over the hill. It's just a delight, hang off the sides and feel like a child, and take people who are new to the city.

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katwoman
Family
Pennsylvania, USA
May 2, 2012

In a nice part of town, easy access to many amenities

Nice clean room, good price but no view. staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two options for dining next door

Review of Harbor Court, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frugal yet Chic Traveler
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 3, 2012

Wonderful Little Boutique Hotel

Loved this hotel! Staff was friendly, room was clean, location was perfect! To top it off, the hotel hosts a morning coffee hour, a late afternoon wine hour and a late night cookies and ice cream hour. Yes, the rooms are small but when you're in San Francisco, you'll hardly be spending time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top