$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
380 reviews
WONDERFUL STAY IN SAN FRANCISCO

HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AT THE HANDLERY IN UNION SQUARE…DELIGHTFUL STAFF…HELPFUL, GREAT SENSE OF... See full review

  • Best Daughter Ever!!!!
  • May 24, 2015
Great value and location

We stayed in the premier/deluxe room with balcony. The room was excellent value and was large with... See full review

  • NotoriousJDC
  • Apr 6, 2015
Intimate boutique hotel with outdoor pool just steps from Union Square

This Union Square mainstay, dating back to 1908, mixes old and new under one roof. Older rooms bring with them a hearty dose of history; newer accommodations, completed in the last 15 years, are more spacious and have upgraded amenities. There's an outdoor pool -- a rarity for downtown San Francisco -- a heated sauna and an on-site barbershop. One of the city's most popular taverns, The Daily Grill, is located on the ground floor.

Highlights
  • Serene outdoor pool with heated sauna
  • Stroll to some of the best shopping in town
  • Stellar on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, serves up American classics.
  • On-site barbershop
  • Discount coupons to nearby Macy's
Rooms

The Handlery has 377 rooms in all -- 284 in the "historic" section of the hotel, and 93 in a newer and recently renovated part. Newer rooms, dubbed "Premier," measure 450 square feet and look out on the outdoor pool deck. They also include bathrobes and electric shoe polishers. The older rooms, dubbed "Historic," are part of the original 1908 construction and include mini-refrigerators, in-room safes and ironing boards. Some of the latter rooms offer views of the San Francisco skyline; Wi-Fi is available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has been family owned and operated since the 1920s.

Service has been a strongpoint for all of those years; today the property employs multi-lingual concierges who arrange everything from dinner reservations to babysitter services. Other exceptional services include same-day laundry and dry-cleaning, as well as the on-site barber shop.

All guests have access to a Club One fitness center one block from the hotel (fees apply).

Grab a burger and a beer at The Daily Grill, a swanky but reliable bar on the ground floor. The weekend brunch here is rated among the best in the city (try the Bloody Mary and understand why).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Two sizable meeting rooms can be configured a number of ways.
  • Additional meeting space inside on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill.
  • Business Center
  • Audio/Visual equipment available for rental.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 380
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First Timer in San Francisco
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jun 10, 2009

Just Okay

I was so very excited to get a Hotel & Airfare package but when I opened my door to the room it was so small that you felt enclosed. The bathroom could only fit on person in at a time. The front desk people were great and treat us very well but the room was not what we expected. The location to go down to Fishermans Wharf was great the Cable car went straight there and the Bart was just down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 3, 2007

Customer Service disappointment

We arrived in San Francisco and called the Hotel for A shuttle Bus, they said they do not offer one. When we arrive by taxi, whats sitting in front of the hotel? A Shuttle Bus. Check in took about 30 minutes and their proffesionalism lacked greatly. We get to the room and it is small and smeeled like a dirty football locker. Our view was a section between the hotels that resembled the alley you never wanna go down, that was damp and people on the upper floors used it as a trash bin. Immediately went to front desk and complained, was told they could move us but it would be on the same floor and nothing would be different. I so said it would smell like the other one(cleaned up). I asked for a upgrade instead, they offered me one for an additonal $30 a night. We got the upgrade 20 minutes later. By this time my wife is furious and asked for the manager, which was not around. Asked him to have manager contact us and never did. Everytime we came into the hotel we asked for the manager, never around. Ordered food that took an hour and half to get to us from dinner downstairs ( hamburger and salad ). Check-out tried to call concierges desk to get shuttle left messages no return call. Walked downstairs and was told its to late to get shuttle bus. I tried calling for 2 hours. Had to take taxi to airport. Very disappointed in Union Square Handlery Hotel. San Francisco was awesome. Will come back and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All sorts of shopping and dining in Union Square area.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicagoan needing sun
Business
Chicago, illinois
Nov 18, 2014

Please look elsewhere

I'm not quite sure what other reviewers saw in this hotel but please please do not read them. I made the mistake of trusting what others had to stay and found this hotel old, dirty and a waste of money. The staff was less than welcoming or friendly upon check in, the room was dirty and smelled like my grandmothers damp moldy basement. Absolutely horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First Timer in San Francisco
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jun 10, 2009

Just Okay

I was so very excited to get a Hotel & Airfare package but when I opened my door to the room it was so small that you felt enclosed. The bathroom could only fit on person in at a time. The front desk people were great and treat us very well but the room was not what we expected. The location to go down to Fishermans Wharf was great the Cable car went straight there and the Bart was just down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoannaNewyear
Business
Sacramento
Jan 2, 2013

Couples Retreat

The hotel in my opinion was very overpriced. The lobby was really nice and that was about it. Rooms were very old and small and lacked certain ammenities such as toothpaste, soap, and minibar. However, we stated here for New Years so it didnt really bother us since we were out all day/night. Recomend this place for the location and for really short visits. Hope everyone had a great New Years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 8, 2007

The room we stayed in was ...

The room we stayed in was set up for handicapped guests and not really ideal for us.There was very little closet space for 2 people and the thermostat didn't function properly so maintaining a comfortable consistant temperature was difficult. The location was central to our activities and this was the only real plus. It was very noisy at night. The bathroom was clean, that is the only positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Of course San Francisco has a diversity of shopping and amenities. This hotel was very close to shopping, restaurants and other interests.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whiskey J
Business
Long Beach CA
Feb 17, 2014

Small Rooms

The package I had boughten started with a double bed so I had to upgrade to a king. Thank God I did because I can't imagine what the other room was like. Our room might have been one of the smallest I've ever booked before. It was 1 tiny room with a bed and a tiny desk. Our window opened up to a lower roof that we could have just walked out on. The bathroom was ok, small but good enough. I will say the bed slept decent though. You could tell it wasn't the newest but it didn't keep us up. The location of this hotel is in the heart though. The biggest reason we got it. We went for he city not the hotel. If you're looking for a great hotel and experience I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of awesome bars around this hotel. All within a mile. Most of them are walking distance

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Almost Retired
Business
Washington DC
May 27, 2009

Beware of parking charges

Chose based on being a Cheap Tickets pick.. Good central location, but hotel has seen better days. Room was large but bathroom was tiny with no lav and a shower where you are the only thing between the the shower head and bathroom floor..AC ceiling mounted and noisy.. Inner rooms look out on mechanical room.. Service was good, but nothing extrodinary. Big shock was the 36 bucks a night for parking..Would not rent a car and pay to park with such a great public transportation system..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is right in the heart of the shopping district and all walkable... Take the BART from the Airport or a shuttle and don't pay the rental and parking costs.. Have a great meal or two at the Daily Grill at the Handerly instead... Tours with Grey Line were all great with hotel pick-up

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loralie
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 20, 2009

First Visit to San Fran

The Handlery was a nice hotel, nothing fancy and was fine for our stay. The location made it easy to walk to many of the popular tourists spots. My husband and I did a ton of walking from the hotel and visited Chinatown, Little Italy, Coit Tower, Lombard Street, Fisherman's Wharf and many places in between. There are great restaurants all around, but Union Square packed with tourists, so venture beyond the Square for a more local experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some great places near the Handlery: First Crush for flights, food and dessert. Millenium on Geary has phenomenal vegan fare and I'm not a vegan! Hyde Street Seafood House is also delish. As a special treat we went to the Top of the Mark for live music and martinis late night. The view of the city is amazing.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maimeo
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 25, 2010

"Central but not up to standard"

Travelled to San Fran for a couple a days in between a trip to Vegas. I found the hotel rooms very small and they were a bit on the shabby side. Could have done with an overhaul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory shop which is situated just around the corner on the top floor of Macys - not to be missed

Back to menu Return to top