$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
owen
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

ok

That is the value of this money.the only convenient thing is I can walk along that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaywayl
Business
Toronto
Mar 25, 2014

Nice place

I booked a suite with square footage included in the description so I was sure it could accommodate my group. Great location in upscale Union Square. Except that the area is surprisingly unsafe. My briefcase was stolen along with two iPads (from a nearby private event with security, not the hotel itself) and I know of two others who were mugged nearby when out late. Unfortunately if you're in San Fran for business I suggest staying in the immediate proximity of where you need to be and avoid walking outside late at night. Too many shady characters out there at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the Gambler
Business
New Jersey
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect location

Wonderful location with very friendly and professional staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 19, 2008

Cute, convenient and friendly staff

Handlery Union Square was clean and the rooms were pretty small, but that's to be expected in a Union Square hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms felt clean; however, the bathrooms lacked counter space. I really liked that there was a place to put 2 suitcases. Lastly, the location was wonderful. The hotel was 1/2 a block from Union Square. Macy's, Borders and tons of other stores are steps away. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2007

Great location - good hotel

On check-in I was given a key with no further explanation of the amenities that I could call on. The concierge desk across the lobby was very helpful, friendly and ammusing. The room was clean and adequate, but the bathroom was small and cramped. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel was very good for lunch and dinner, but for breakfast you had to find you own way on the streets. This location, just half a block off of Union Square could not be better. Centrally located to the Cable Cars and excellent San Francisco shops. For the money the Handerly was a good place to stay in the heart of a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Within a block or two you have access to any shop that you might want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soyeon
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 13, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

Handlery hotel was clean and comfortable. There is Union square just a minutes from hotel. and there is very good public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many shops a few minutes from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dublin
Business
San Francisco
May 4, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Clean, friendly, cozy, nice restaurant and a great location. It was nice having a garage for our rental car, with quick service, but a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Golden Gate National Park was a great place to visit on Sunday: no cars, just people, bikes and dogs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helsinki, Finland
May 26, 2009

Great location

The hotel was clean and safe. Service (including room service) was great and so was the food in the hotels restaurant 'Daily Grill.' We stayed 4 nights in the hotel. Location of the hotel was excellent. Both Cable Car and Street Car stops were just around the corner. It took 17 minutes to get to Fisherman's Wharf by F-line Street Car (1.50$ per adult) and about 35 minutes on foot, which was good exercise (steep streets) and a great opportunity to explore the downtown area. The only annoying thing about our room was the occasional loud siren noise from the street (Fire Station near by).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego , cs
May 28, 2009

quixk trip

Very frindly, helpful staff. Rooms clean and nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khabir
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 27, 2009

We like the Handlery

The hotel is very central so it was easy to get anywhere in the city on mass transit. The cable car is a half a block away and with a city pass or transit pass you can hop on and off it to get to Chinatown or to other transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a City Pass or a transit pass. It is great to be able to hop on and off of buses, streetcars and cable cars when you realize that you can't walk up or down another hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top