$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetlagged traveler
Business
South Carolina
Jun 25, 2009

Good location Good Price

The hotel was good for the price. The location was great. It was right in the heart of the city, within walking distance to shopping, China Town, cable cars, and other mass transit. The valet parking was one of the best I have ever had in large cities. The car came within a minute or two of the request. We would defitintely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a three day MUNI pass for all above ground mass transportation. Definitely the way to go while in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 6, 2010

Basic hotel, good location

Hotel has some updated rooms (mine was not). It was fine, nothing special. There was a flatscreen TV, no dresser, no refrigerator. My biggest complaint was that it was dark. Location is convenient to union square (1 block). It is not a great area to walk around alone at night (especially back entrance by parking lot). The pool looked nice, but it was way too cold to go in when I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's less than a block to union square which has a lot of great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro NC
Jun 25, 2009

Convenient and Efficient

Walked all over the city. Haight-Ashbury is a bit far, after brunch at 2223 Market Street. But the Ferry Building and even Fisherman's Wharf were within walking distance. Lots of hills between Coit Tower and Lombard Street!! The famous locations were clean and pretty. Market Street below the Tenderloin was not. Lots of homeless folks and questionably mentally ill on streets. Hotel could have recommended shuttle bus from airport rather than BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the brick-oven pizza at Tommaso's, or pick up a picnic breakfast at the Ferry Building/Farmer's Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rohnert park ca
Oct 19, 2009

Hotel great, parking the worst

Location was really good, parking lot attendents RUDE and wanted to charge me $3.00 for every 20 minutes that my car was there. All I wanted to do was check in and take my luggage up to my room and they wanted to charge me for leaving my car there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thailand
Sep 17, 2009

Great Location,

Most convenient for shoppers and all who want to enjoy Union Square, Great Restaurant,rooms are alright but pricey for the standard, Smoke free and clean. parking is a killer over USD 40 with taxes, Hotel should provide complimentary parking and internet at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

wont be disappointing on location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint louis, mo
Aug 9, 2009

Great location!

Great location! Older hotel with small quirky rooms and some old smell. However, it is a great location with a great staff and worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thebloker
Business
Sacramento,CA
Aug 9, 2009

Handlery Union Square

Great location next to Daily Grill, Ruby Skye, & Lefty O'Dools. Rooms are on the small side and a bit difficult to navigate with 2 people in the room. The 19" TV is the same TV that I used to own 15 years ago, bout time to upgrade. We were located next to the elevator & you could hear the car moving up and down all through the night. I guess you don't need an alarm clock if you room there. Plenty of nightlife to people watch, make sure you get a street view otherwise you'll be looking at the other side of the building and all of the rooftop equipment. Last note, there is a parking garage in the hotel but it's not on the Geary side, we were only staying one night so we parked in a garage nearby, by the time we noticed it was too late to pull the car out and save the offsite parking charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunnie Delight
Business
Chico, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Convenient location in union sq

We were close to the shopping and dining areas. We came across a broken coffee maker with a piece of hair in it, TV was old fashion, didn't like the shower and the curtain. The water leaked out to the floor. Bed was comforting. Wished the elevator to the parking garage on one end connects to the other end. We had to get on the garage side of the elevator, then walked down one floor to get to the other side of the hotel's elevator, and then to our room. The staffs were friendly and the lobby was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jul 6, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, shopping, restraunt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glasgow, UK
Jun 15, 2010

Not worth the money...

Was not worth the amount paid. Could have been a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top