$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Aug 3, 2007

Small European Style

The location is just off Union Square. It is convenient to the BART and Cable cars for getting around San Francisco. The hotel has a small European feel. The room was definitely adequate for size and comfort. The room had twin beds, a small table and several chairs. The bathroom was a comfortable size with adequate space without feeling cramped or a bath with wasted space. The room was located at the end of the hall. The view was not great as it looked out on buildings but it was quiet as it was protected from street noise. The amenities are good. There is a pool and dining facilities. I had breakfast in the restaurant. The service was good. The staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The central location and accessibility to transportation around San Francisco was excellent. Great shopping at major department stores is just half a block. Maiden street with small shops and a walking street is just across the Union Square Plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 4, 2008

handicap access

Every thing was very nice. The room was large with a balcony. Only problem is that the club rooms were not handicap accessable. I Had the option(?) of climbing 18 steps with my walker or calling the front desk and requesting an excourt to route me through the laundry room. I did not use my walker much because it took too long to get help and carrying the walker was physicaly impossible for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square was a short block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brantford,on
Jul 26, 2009

Handlery Union Square

NO PROBLEMS WITH THIS HOTEL. ROOM SERVICE WAS GOOD AND STAFF WHERE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THE INTERNET SERVICE WASN'T VERY GOOD AT THE HOTEL THOUGH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for shopping and galleries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jul 31, 2008

Great for vistors

The Handlery was a very nice hotel. The room was a bit on the small size but had everything you needed within it. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for tourists. It was close to the Bart, Wharf, China Town, cable car connection, restaurants and great shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

*Walking distance to department stores and a mall. *Walking distance to great local restaurants and Cheese Cake Factory. *Walking distance to China Town. *Close to Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, MI
Aug 7, 2007

Friendly and ready to serve

Staff was helpful with directions and service. Rooms, esp. bathrooms, were spotless. Beds and pillows very comfy. Some double rooms have the sink separate from the bathroom and shower so two can get ready. Perfect Location, downtown, in the middle of everything and walking is definitly an option. Food great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is between Market Street for shopping and Chintown for eating/shopping.Walked to Fishermans Wharf Pier 39..13 blks. City Pass for unlimited Muni bus and cable car rides and free admissions. Tickets to Beach Blanket Babylon theater. Adult, political humor. Italian restaurants right around corner from theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 27, 2007

Great Location

The Handlery Hotel offers a great location in the heart of Union Square. It is very clean and cozy and offers a great place to eat, The Daily Grill with a great bar and sports to watch. Everything was handled quickly and efficiently throughout my stay. The only suggestion I would make is to reduce or eliminate the cost of the internet access. This would make it more attractive to business customers. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2007

Decent room in a great location, heated pool and nice sauna.

My two friends and myself stayed at the Handlery Square. The hotel was great, checkin was a little slow, seems like staff could be a little faster. However, they upgraded us to a bigger room. Room was spacious very nice; only drawback was the shower, it could be a little bigger. Heated outdoor pool in courtyard of hotel and sauna, for which you have to make a reservation with the concierge, are excellent amenities you should experience. Overall a very nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's 50's diner is neat, Union Square, the cable cars are literally around the block and Market street and China Town are an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryse
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2008

excellent service

The Handlery Union Square was just what I was looking for in a hotel as far as comfort, location and service at a very reasonable price. I will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best location for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culver City
Oct 24, 2008

Handy Hotel

The Handlery Union Square in San Francisco was located on Geary and in a great location for catching the cable car -- handy. It was clean and comfortable at an affordable price. I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a park and major shopping area just down the street. Since the cable cars run just at the end of the block, attractions are only a hop away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 25, 2007

Super location in San Fran

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Handlery Union Square. An older building that has a lot of charm. Friendly staff that helped us find a place to have a wonderful Italian dinner at very short notice (Fino was the name of the restaurant within walking distance). We spend most of our time out of the room exploring San Fran, but when we returned the bed was very comfortable and clean. The best aspect of this hotel is the location - if you are a walker you can go anywhere in the city and if not, the cable cars are right there! We personally had a bad experience at the restaurant attached to the hotel so I would not recommend eating there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is right up the block!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top