$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashland, KY
Jun 18, 2007

Comfortable and Convenient

Just off Union Square the Handerly is close to cable car and taxi. Great shopping within blocks. Lots of food choices, a nice pool, and very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Gump's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 27, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square is one of mine and my wifes favorite hotels in San Francisco. It is located near Union Square where all the action is. Great people watching, catch a cable car, find a great restuarant. Shopping is nearby too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square park is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 15, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square hotel is very conveniently located in downtown San Francisco. I have stayed at the hotel numerous times and it is a favorite, but this was the first time in the ?older section? of the property. I was pleased at the size of the rooms and the d?cor, but views were nonexistent. Throughout the hotel, staff were attentive and friendly. I checked in at 4pm (check-in was listed at 3pm) and the room wasn't ready. I had a 30 minute wait. I could have passed the time in the attractive lounge, but instead visited with friends in the lobby. If I had been tired, this would not have been fun. The hotel is close to shopping, dining and entertainment. The famous cable cars are steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The parking garage entrance is around the corner. To get to the front desk you must walk down a flight of stairs and it can be troublesome to navigate with baggage. Even if you just have one bag, use the bellman service. Be prepared to pay a hefty price for parking, although it does come with in-and-out privileges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mcpherson
Sep 16, 2008

good for big city stay

The Handlery was very cozy European influence. Small but adequate. I would stay in a heart beat again. Lots of places to eat and you get the pulse of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's 8 story's of it how awesome can that be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 26, 2009

Unbeatable location, and family getaway

Hotel was located in the best part of downtown, accessible to many attractions and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viktoriya
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2007

Great location

Handlery Union Square is located right on Union square and very resonably priced. Rooms are veryv clean and nice and for being historical property it is being kept in very nice shape. Service is great and there is Daily grill right on the forst floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are walking distance, few min away from shopping, dinning, Bart station and cable car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forouz
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 1, 2007

great location

The hotel is walking distance from shopping, China town, tour bus of the city, troly line, BART and many restaurants. Our room had a great view of the street and very clean. The bathroom was small but we managed. The room had refrigerator and coffee maker whcih made it very convenient. The closet was too tight and unfunctional but not a big deal. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alltrendy and none trendy stores are in Union Square and a walking distance from the hotel. There is a Macy's store building 8 story high for women only and another Macy's in 6 story building for men! There is a H&M store not too far away and they have the best outfits with reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Lakes
Oct 12, 2008

Great Locarion

My room was described as petite. They told the truth! It was on the tiny size but fine for one occupant. It was clean, quiet, & the hotel well managed. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right off Union Square. There are many eating establishments nearby, & the Muni is readily accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 1, 2007

Great Hotel and staff

The Handerly was a very nice hotel. The location was fantastic. It was in the hub of everything. I was very satistied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, cable cars, public transportation.... Everything was 1-2 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diman
Business
rhode island
Sep 17, 2009

Handlery Union Square

Great staff, good food,clean rooms and excellent location for getting on transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top