$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vetty
Family
Seattle, WA
Apr 14, 2011

Great Location !

Hop on hop off deluxe double decker bus to go around city .Went to Golden gate , china town , coit tower , union square ,north beach,Pier 39 ,took ferry to Tiburon . None missing we really enjoyed our stay the convenience and location close to BART station on Powell , cable car , double deck buses , cabs readily available , but also walking distance to chinatown . I have visited before but did not stay over and trip was limited . Checking in hotel really helps a lot to really stroll around San francisco and really enjoy it . San Francisco it so cool to vist you dont even need to rent a car , easy access to public transportation of all kinds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Nan king great chinese food. I loved Coit Tower great view of city of San Francisco . Our hotel is just across Westin hotel which has great glass elevator fantastic view of San Francisco .

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ottawa, ON
Jul 10, 2007

Right in the heart of the shopping district

The Handlery Union Square was comfortable accomodations, and centrally located to the heart of the shopping district, but also provided easy access to other parts of the city via public transit. We were upgraded to a king bed as our room was not ready when we arrived, and although the desk clerk made much of finding us a quiet room, we found this to not be so. Our room faced the main street (Geary) and every evening we were serenaded by loud drum/rock music from street musicians, as well as having our sleep disturbed by numerous sirens that screamed through the downtown. If you stay here, insist on a courtyard room overlooking the pool - the pool is only open until 8 PM, so if you want to turn in early, you can. The staff were generally very helpful and polite, and the concierge staff in particular were very knowledgeable about the area features and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Designer outlets abound within a 1-2 block radius around the hotel, but bargains are few to be found in this tourist area.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eski
Couples
Oxnard, CA
May 13, 2011

Great Location Great price

The location of the hotel can not get any better and considering how expensive San Fran can be the price is reasonable. Couple of minor issues the walk from the parking garage to the front desk is somewhat of a maze and the price of the parking garage is $38 a night. The hotel is located in all the action of Union Square, close to all public transportation and you never have any problems getting a cab. Bars and restaurants are also top notch around the area. I recommend the hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

John Foley bar is great and is right across the street.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rmlopaka
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Jul 14, 2009

Good hotel in a great location!

A very good hotel in an excellent location. Located a block or two from Union Square, Powell, and Market Streets. The staff is very friendly and room and maid service were very good. The room we were assigned was an end unit in the old wing and was very small. The room was very clean and was furnished with a number of amenities which included a small refrigerator which was an unexpected convenience. The bathroom was very small but adequate for our needs. We could only view an outside wall from our window. We suspect we were given this room because we booked it as a air/hotel package deal for a great price. The outside noise level was satisfactory. One complaint was the poor reception of the wireless internet which kept dropping it's signal and required numerous restarts. A call to the front desk did not satisfactorily resolve this issue. The great location of the Handlery made up for a few shortcomings as restaurants, transportation, and shopping are all within easy walking distance. We have stayed at the Handlery on previous visits and would recommend it to our friends and others. Overall we had an enjoyable experience at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Dojima Ann Japanese Restaurant and Starbucks. Both are just across the street from the Handlery♠ on O'Farrell St.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Easton, PA
Jun 14, 2009

a nice getaway

The vacation was terrific. You must take the tours to see everything. The staff was great. Take warmer clothing, it's not that warm in SF in June.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy the muni passport to travel around the city. It will save you on fares.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Colfax, CA
May 18, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel is in the perfect location! Staff were excellent! Our room was very clean and nice but small with not a great view - others we were with had better views. We went with a group for the Bay to Breakers race and the hotel held our luggage until we could pick it up later - very accomodating and excellent bar/restuarant downstairs! Short taxi ride to the Wharf! We look forward to staying again and taking in the sites and food all around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls - great buffet and great price!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
regular customer
Family
San Diego CA
May 11, 2010

Great location for the price

I always stay here in San Francisco - the location is on Union Square adjacent to public transit and the cable cars and extremely walkable with lots of restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly and helpful without being too obtrusive. Room service is efficient and reasonable. The restaurant - the Daily Grill - is good, but very busy. The older part of the hotel has just been refurbished with new paint and furniture and the beds have been upgraded. Considering the busy location, rooms with peace and quiet are available, even with the windows open. The fact that the windows do open is a big plus. I stay here at least twice a year and wouldn't consider anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

If dining at the Daily Grill, try to eat early or late - there is a long wait at the conventional dinner hour, but you can call down to get on the list and the restaurant will call you in your room when they are ready for you.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mpaladin
Friends
italy
May 22, 2011

Very well located, nice and clean room

The hotel is very well located, in the core of Union Square. The backside of this location is the large amount of homeless people asking for money on the road. For the rest the hotel is in a very good position for visiting san francisco and for conferences at Moscone center. The room was big and clean, we didn't have any problem with the hotel and the staff. Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toppenish, WA
Aug 10, 2009

Great location

Friendly staff and great location in union square. Walking distance to many city landmarks and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

do NOT rent a car! Parking is hard to find downtown and expensive!! Purchase the muni transportation pass. $18 for 3 days or $24 for 7 days. U can ride any bus, cable car, or street car unlimited. The transportatin system is great! U can get anywhere quickly! Cable car rides are $5 a pop and buses $2. Pays for itself and eveyone downtown uses the transportation.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D.E.L.T.A.
Couples
Malibu, CA
Jun 29, 2009

Reasonably priced for awesome location!

Super friendly staff, awesome location (right by Union Square and all public transport), clean room with all the necessary amenities. Staff was totally accommodating -- we ordered breakfast for the next morning to be sent to our room after the cut-off time of 2:00 AM, but they took our order and brought us our breakfast right at the time we requested. Can get noisy late at night, but it's by Union Square near all the bars/clubs, so that's expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square's RIGHT there~!! You can go on a shopping spree and won't have to schlep your bags for blocks and blocks because your hotel's right around the corner!

Back to menu Return to top