Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
295 reviews
Short stay

Although we could only stay one nite, It was a very good hotel. It is old,but renovated. Our room... See full review

  • Rabidroger
  • Aug 18, 2015
Great value and location

We stayed in the premier/deluxe room with balcony. The room was excellent value and was large with... See full review

  • NotoriousJDC
  • Apr 6, 2015
Located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, the family-owned and operated Handlery Union Square Hotel is just steps away from the Powell Street cable car line, world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or oversized rooms in the Premier Section. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. The Daily Grill, the on site restaurant, serves American fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Please note: Parking is $52.00 per day, plus tax with unlimited in and out privileges. Additional charge may apply for oversized vehicles.

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (295)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 3, 2007

Customer Service disappointment

We arrived in San Francisco and called the Hotel for A shuttle Bus, they said they do not offer one. When we arrive by taxi, whats sitting in front of the hotel? A Shuttle Bus. Check in took about 30 minutes and their proffesionalism lacked greatly. We get to the room and it is small and smeeled like a dirty football locker. Our view was a section between the hotels that resembled the alley you never wanna go down, that was damp and people on the upper floors used it as a trash bin. Immediately went to front desk and complained, was told they could move us but it would be on the same floor and nothing would be different. I so said it would smell like the other one(cleaned up). I asked for a upgrade instead, they offered me one for an additonal $30 a night. We got the upgrade 20 minutes later. By this time my wife is furious and asked for the manager, which was not around. Asked him to have manager contact us and never did. Everytime we came into the hotel we asked for the manager, never around. Ordered food that took an hour and half to get to us from dinner downstairs ( hamburger and salad ). Check-out tried to call concierges desk to get shuttle left messages no return call. Walked downstairs and was told its to late to get shuttle bus. I tried calling for 2 hours. Had to take taxi to airport. Very disappointed in Union Square Handlery Hotel. San Francisco was awesome. Will come back and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All sorts of shopping and dining in Union Square area.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Francisco
Oct 15, 2009

Disappointing Experience

The room was unclean in that there was an empty 6 pack of beer on the Armoir and the TV did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicagoan needing sun
Couples
Chicago, illinois
Nov 18, 2014

Please look elsewhere

I'm not quite sure what other reviewers saw in this hotel but please please do not read them. I made the mistake of trusting what others had to stay and found this hotel old, dirty and a waste of money. The staff was less than welcoming or friendly upon check in, the room was dirty and smelled like my grandmothers damp moldy basement. Absolutely horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Giang P.
Family
San Jose
May 5, 2015

Very bad trip

This room has no air conditioner,broken window, unable to open all the up. I can smell the food from lower floor. Every thing need to update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoannaNewyear
Couples
Sacramento
Jan 2, 2013

Couples Retreat

The hotel in my opinion was very overpriced. The lobby was really nice and that was about it. Rooms were very old and small and lacked certain ammenities such as toothpaste, soap, and minibar. However, we stated here for New Years so it didnt really bother us since we were out all day/night. Recomend this place for the location and for really short visits. Hope everyone had a great New Years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie in SF
Friends
Folsom, California
Apr 1, 2013

Friends get together

Front desk was really rude, will not go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xSF Local
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 13, 2010

Not for Business travelers

Good hotel, great location, but seems to be filled with families on vacation. That in itself is not an issue because the hotel is quiet. However, some important amenities for a business traveler are lacking - internet access. My room had a non-functional internet access. Even at their business center, which supposedly had the strongest connection, it was too slow and unreliable to hold a web conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disgruntled Half-marathon runner
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Nov 10, 2010

serious disapointment

When we first checked in, I received the parking slip for $39 and just figured it was a part of the price I paid online. That it would have included at least on parking for the night. When I spoke to the Front Desk Attendants, they were very rude, had a pompous attitude, and said that it was not covered and it will be charged to the credit card on file. I asked him to check that it was or was not covered on my payment for the room and they confirmed it was not. I told him I was very disappointed, he responded to me saying he could get my car from the lot and I could park across the street for $50…... REALLY? I responded with "that's ok, it's already parked, we can leave it there." Once we went up to the room we opened the door and saw two queen beds, a desk, a dresser, and a night stand stuffed into a room that was about 13' wide by 20' long the most. The bathroom was almost too small for one person let alone two people trying to get ready (we had five people that night) and there was only a shower stall and no tub. They did allow a roll away bed and it barely fit but caused up to block the only walkway in the room. Thankfully, there was not a fire or we might have had issues getting out. Our view from our window as we opened it up was of a brick wall surrounding all four sides. The only nice thing about the room was the updated décor. They had new furniture and a new 30"ish flat screen TV. I would not recommend this room to anyone. They have a heated pool but it closes at 8:30 and no spa. Parking for the hotel is at the rear of the building, which is not that big of a deal but the door attendant when we first pulled up told us the parking was up the street two blocks after the first left….Which is was not. It was just around the corner. For the $200 or so out the door, not including parking I would have stayed at a dozen other well-known establishments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Not great

I stayed at this hotel before and was very satisfied. This time we had 2 rooms that had double beds and were very small .... the bedspreads & decorative pillows ... questionable cleanliness ... the bathrooms were very clean & nice ... but the towels were thin & rough .... the pillows .... were very uncomfortable. I would not recommend this hotel unless you requested a better room. The location is great & the staff very nice. he restaurant was wonderful. Parking prices were excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nordstrom etc all

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 26, 2011

Bellhops are the only reason to stay

The hotel is old, but not terrible. They interestingly didnt use fitted sheets. The bellhops were amazing and helpful. The front desk staff... I think incompetent is a little strong but I can't think of a more accurate description. Location is great. Close to the BART and union square entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Explore dining options in other neighborhoods! SF had amazing food, but you have to leave union square to get it

Back to menu Return to top