$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
539 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel with outdoor pool just steps from Union Square

This Union Square mainstay, dating back to 1908, mixes old and new under one roof. Older rooms bring with them a hearty dose of history; newer accommodations, completed in the last 15 years, are more spacious and have upgraded amenities. There's an outdoor pool -- a rarity for downtown San Francisco -- a heated sauna and an on-site barbershop. One of the city's most popular taverns, The Daily Grill, is located on the ground floor.

Highlights
  • Serene outdoor pool with heated sauna
  • Stroll to some of the best shopping in town
  • Stellar on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, serves up American classics.
  • On-site barbershop
  • Discount coupons to nearby Macy's
Rooms

The Handlery has 377 rooms in all -- 284 in the "historic" section of the hotel, and 93 in a newer and recently renovated part. Newer rooms, dubbed "Premier," measure 450 square feet and look out on the outdoor pool deck. They also include bathrobes and electric shoe polishers. The older rooms, dubbed "Historic," are part of the original 1908 construction and include mini-refrigerators, in-room safes and ironing boards. Some of the latter rooms offer views of the San Francisco skyline; Wi-Fi is available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has been family owned and operated since the 1920s.

Service has been a strongpoint for all of those years; today the property employs multi-lingual concierges who arrange everything from dinner reservations to babysitter services. Other exceptional services include same-day laundry and dry-cleaning, as well as the on-site barber shop.

All guests have access to a Club One fitness center one block from the hotel (fees apply).

Grab a burger and a beer at The Daily Grill, a swanky but reliable bar on the ground floor. The weekend brunch here is rated among the best in the city (try the Bloody Mary and understand why).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Two sizable meeting rooms can be configured a number of ways.
  • Additional meeting space inside on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill.
  • Business Center
  • Audio/Visual equipment available for rental.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (539)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
539 out of 539
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vetty
Seattle, WA
Apr 14, 2011

Great Location !

Hop on hop off deluxe double decker bus to go around city .Went to Golden gate , china town , coit tower , union square ,north beach,Pier 39 ,took ferry to Tiburon . None missing we really enjoyed our stay the convenience and location close to BART station on Powell , cable car , double deck buses , cabs readily available , but also walking distance to chinatown . I have visited before but did not stay over and trip was limited . Checking in hotel really helps a lot to really stroll around San francisco and really enjoy it . San Francisco it so cool to vist you dont even need to rent a car , easy access to public transportation of all kinds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Nan king great chinese food. I loved Coit Tower great view of city of San Francisco . Our hotel is just across Westin hotel which has great glass elevator fantastic view of San Francisco .

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, HI
Mar 31, 2008

Good Value

Excellent Location, timely service, excellent concierge service, fantastic attached restaurant (Daily Grill), Good Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a block from Union Square.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinmanic
New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Perfectly decent hotel, great location

Our room was clean and perfectly fine -- not particularly big, but enough space to hang out in. Note: our guidebook said this hotel had free wifi, but when we tried to access it online, it wanted to charge us. I went to the front desk and asked about this, and the desk clerk decided to give us a coupon with an access code for free wifi. So be sure to ask about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Daily Grill is connected to the hotel and is a great place to eat.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rmlopaka
Honolulu, HI
Jul 14, 2009

Good hotel in a great location!

A very good hotel in an excellent location. Located a block or two from Union Square, Powell, and Market Streets. The staff is very friendly and room and maid service were very good. The room we were assigned was an end unit in the old wing and was very small. The room was very clean and was furnished with a number of amenities which included a small refrigerator which was an unexpected convenience. The bathroom was very small but adequate for our needs. We could only view an outside wall from our window. We suspect we were given this room because we booked it as a air/hotel package deal for a great price. The outside noise level was satisfactory. One complaint was the poor reception of the wireless internet which kept dropping it's signal and required numerous restarts. A call to the front desk did not satisfactorily resolve this issue. The great location of the Handlery made up for a few shortcomings as restaurants, transportation, and shopping are all within easy walking distance. We have stayed at the Handlery on previous visits and would recommend it to our friends and others. Overall we had an enjoyable experience at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Dojima Ann Japanese Restaurant and Starbucks. Both are just across the street from the Handlery♠ on O'Farrell St.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MWM
Richmond, VA
Jul 20, 2009

Great Place

Great location, friendly staff, nice rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied but Disappointed
Tulsa, Ok
May 30, 2009

Almost perfect

The location, the parking attendants and the Concierge were the best part of this hotel, not to mention the cleanliness and charm of the hotel. We had to walk a ways to the parking garage but you walk everywhere in SF anyway. I would have liked to have been able to use the pool either early in the morning or late at night but the hours were 8 am - 8 pm and there was no fitness room. We would also have liked to have used room service later at night but that too was only until 10 PM. This may be standard for other hotels also. The room - we were able to adjust our own temperature and it was spotless clean with extremely comfortable beds. The last night there the room above us was thumping and loud disturbing noises that kept us awake. The hotel staff said they would take care of it but it did not stop until I just left the room at 6:30 am to get some peace and quiet in the lobby. The hotel manager was not very agressive about taking care of the noise either. This may keep us from returning to the hotel in the future. We did not eat at the attached restaurant as there were cheaper choices nearby. I was given a complimentary cup of coffee my last morning there but rightfully so as it had been sitting in the pot a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Being centrally located we could have walked or taken the trolley to any place we wanted to go. Very convenient.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 8, 2010

Great hotel in the heart of San Fran.

We had a great time in San Francisco, thanks in part to having a great home base at the Handlery Hotel, located just off Union Square. The staff was super helpful and responded promptly to all of our needs, despite being very busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For great Indian food, try the New Delhi Restaurant, not far from the hotel.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eski
Oxnard, CA
May 13, 2011

Great Location Great price

The location of the hotel can not get any better and considering how expensive San Fran can be the price is reasonable. Couple of minor issues the walk from the parking garage to the front desk is somewhat of a maze and the price of the parking garage is $38 a night. The hotel is located in all the action of Union Square, close to all public transportation and you never have any problems getting a cab. Bars and restaurants are also top notch around the area. I recommend the hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

John Foley bar is great and is right across the street.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, ON
Jul 10, 2007

Right in the heart of the shopping district

The Handlery Union Square was comfortable accomodations, and centrally located to the heart of the shopping district, but also provided easy access to other parts of the city via public transit. We were upgraded to a king bed as our room was not ready when we arrived, and although the desk clerk made much of finding us a quiet room, we found this to not be so. Our room faced the main street (Geary) and every evening we were serenaded by loud drum/rock music from street musicians, as well as having our sleep disturbed by numerous sirens that screamed through the downtown. If you stay here, insist on a courtyard room overlooking the pool - the pool is only open until 8 PM, so if you want to turn in early, you can. The staff were generally very helpful and polite, and the concierge staff in particular were very knowledgeable about the area features and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Designer outlets abound within a 1-2 block radius around the hotel, but bargains are few to be found in this tourist area.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALRT
Business
Brookline, MA
Feb 28, 2012

Very Good Hotel

An old-style, well-maintained hotel with a sense of timelessness. Perfectly located, comfortable, a superb cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top