$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maimeo
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 25, 2010

"Central but not up to standard"

Travelled to San Fran for a couple a days in between a trip to Vegas. I found the hotel rooms very small and they were a bit on the shabby side. Could have done with an overhaul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory shop which is situated just around the corner on the top floor of Macys - not to be missed

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mps
Business
San Diego
Aug 18, 2010

ok

Staff was great and attentive. I only had issue with 2 things. 1. The long wait for a cab if I depended on the hotel. 2. Unable to get a late check-out when I had a late flight. I wanted to relax and the airline had just delivered my luggage as I was going home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris06
Business
Sacramento, Kalifornien, Vereinigte Staaten
Dec 19, 2011

Not bad

Near Union Square, not very modern, would need a renovation, nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBradley
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 23, 2012

You get what you pay for

We paid for a small double room and it was tiny!! I'd spring for the extra and get the double queen. Also no wifi included and it's $10 a day per device! Which means if you want iPad and laptop it's $20 a day!! Ridiculous! But I think some other rooms have it included that are more expensive. Also the air flow is bad. We had to keep windows open most of the time. The good is location. All trains, buses, cable cars, etc. meet right there so you don't need a car to get anywhere. That included me taking the BART at 5:30 am to get to SFO airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Bart train to and from airport.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hartl
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 26, 2012

Great location but funny smell

This hotel was located in the Union Square area of city and it was perfectly located for my business appts. the restaurant The Daily Grill attached to it was great. The only thing I didn't like was it smelled funny like mildew guess because its so old other than that it was great will definitely stay there again and just bring Febreze with me next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfectly located for shopping and lots of dining and bars in this area. Great location

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 29, 2012

Quick Two Day Stay

The staff and restaurant were great. The room was a bit small but was ok as we didn't stay in the room much. Wifi had to be bought and there were no drinks in the vending machine on our floor. The staff did remedy the situation though by bringing my wife two bottles of water and a soda free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping, food, and art galleries within short walking distance.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob from WLA
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 20, 2012

Handerly Hotel Union Square

Common areas were dirty and worn. I am a business traveler and hotel was overrun by tourists. On other hand, rooms were very well appointed and clean. I am iffy on going back, but was the lowest priced acceptable hotel I could find in general Financial District area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Daily Grill (national chain, upscale and good for business meetings) in hotel is a great option

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yuliana
Business
Mexico
Jul 26, 2012

Good Location

The location of this hotel is very good and I had everything that I needed around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alon
Business
DC
Jun 13, 2012

It's right in the heart of things at a good price.

This is an older property, but you cannot tell in your room where it matters most and the price is really a steal in Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TAFF
Business
SOUTH WALES
Sep 27, 2012

Disappointed

As a disabled person I booked a premium room.I expected this room to be in the main part of the hotel instead I had to walk through five corridors to reach my room in the annexe.It was a nice room but it would have been nice to have been able to open the curtains and leave them open.With people constantly passing I was unable to do this The Daily Grill was good and the evening manager of the Grill was fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

around the corner of the hotel is LOREIS DINER good food at a good price

Back to menu Return to top