$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2007

Great weekend get away

The Handley was in a great location. The concierge was very helpful and the staff was polite and efficient. The room was not large but nicely decorated and very comfortable. The hotel was quiet and certainly met our needs. We would definitely stay there again. Very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom's within a very short walk. Also, great restaurants, cable car and art galleries.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Jose, CA
Feb 24, 2008

Great quality and value for cheap!

This hotel was literally only a half block from Union square. It was decorated very nicely. I loved our room! Yet it was really cheap, considering all the above aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a really good & affordable breakfast/lunch restaurant around the corner on Mason called Cafe Mason, if you miss the breakfast at the hotel restaurant.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 10, 2007

Great Location

This hotel had very good amenities. The location was downtown Union Square and there was very good shopping nearby. It was very clean other than the fact that the carpet could have used a good steaming. There was a safe in the room. This location was convenient to access of cable cars and public transportation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not venture too far outside of Union Square - there are some sketchy-looking people in the Tenderloin district.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great service

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and speacious. The hotel is in a good location that allows you to walk to theaters, shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Oct 1, 2007

clean and efficient

Nice clean, quiet room for SF. Location was great. Well-trained staff and fun international guests...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to cable cars and BART and bus and express bus to 49er game...

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Dallas, TX
Jun 15, 2007

Great location

The Handlery Union Square was perfect for our family's visit to San Francisco. The rooms were small but were nicely decorated. The staff was extremely accommodating. We needed two rooms and our request to have them adjoining was met in spite of late notice. The location was great in that it was right off Union Square and so close to shopping, dining, night life, and the trolley. The continental breakfast, though having limited menu choices, was especially enjoyable since it involved an actual dining setting in a nice adjoining restuarant. Parking was a bit pricey, but the in and out privileges enabled us to come and go as necessary. We would definitely stay at the Handlery again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every major store is in the immediate vicinity. The location is supperb for the serious shopper.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 16, 2007

great local

The Handerly is a tired hotel although they are making improvements to update its appearance. New carpets in the hallways was evident. Our room was small but clean. The gift shop wasn't always open for our convenience and when we finally got in the clerk wasn't particularly friendly. The rest of the hotel staff was very friendly and polite.The location was excellent especially for first timers to San Fran. Transportation was readily available. We had no problems with the shuttle to and fro the airport. All and all a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you only have a short time do take a tour with the Cable Car Fun Tour...2 hour city tour crossing the Golden gate Bridge. Allow time for Fishermen's Wharf. Lots to see and do for kids and adults. Various boat tours to Alcatraz. We enjoyed Red Sox game at a local pub owned by a former Bostonian called Red Jacks.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Yorktown VA
Dec 19, 2010

Great location in Union Sq.

Great location in Union Sq part of the city. Friendly staff, told us the best way to use public transportion. Very nice room with king bed. Clean and comfortable. Found it easy to get anywhere in the city from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations for Alcatraz in advance, It gets crowded. If using public transportation make sure to get a multi-day pass.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 9, 2011

Great Hotel

I didnt know what to expect when we arrived. The hotel is located in a nice part of union square right across from the Westin. Friendly staff and great room. The room was remodeled and everything was new. Even though it is smaller than a normal room, it was very comfortable! The bathroom was very clean and roomy. We were close to all stores, the Macy's, Tiffanys, etc. Would def stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
De Pere
Sep 16, 2008

Well trained staff, nice accommodations, great food!

I had been wanting to try the Handlery for several years now. It was far beyond my expectations which were somewhat high to begin with. When I return to San Francisco on my next visit (and I go often), my stay will be at the Handlery! Clean, well maintained accommodations, well-trained friendly staff, many amenities like higher priced hotels provide, comfortable beds, and the on-premises grill was very good. Best buy in Union Square and downtown San Fran is on your doorstep. Great location! Great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top