$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mcpherson
Sep 16, 2008

good for big city stay

The Handlery was very cozy European influence. Small but adequate. I would stay in a heart beat again. Lots of places to eat and you get the pulse of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's 8 story's of it how awesome can that be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 26, 2009

Unbeatable location, and family getaway

Hotel was located in the best part of downtown, accessible to many attractions and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viktoriya
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2007

Great location

Handlery Union Square is located right on Union square and very resonably priced. Rooms are veryv clean and nice and for being historical property it is being kept in very nice shape. Service is great and there is Daily grill right on the forst floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are walking distance, few min away from shopping, dinning, Bart station and cable car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forouz
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 1, 2007

great location

The hotel is walking distance from shopping, China town, tour bus of the city, troly line, BART and many restaurants. Our room had a great view of the street and very clean. The bathroom was small but we managed. The room had refrigerator and coffee maker whcih made it very convenient. The closet was too tight and unfunctional but not a big deal. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alltrendy and none trendy stores are in Union Square and a walking distance from the hotel. There is a Macy's store building 8 story high for women only and another Macy's in 6 story building for men! There is a H&M store not too far away and they have the best outfits with reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Lakes
Oct 12, 2008

Great Locarion

My room was described as petite. They told the truth! It was on the tiny size but fine for one occupant. It was clean, quiet, & the hotel well managed. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right off Union Square. There are many eating establishments nearby, & the Muni is readily accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 1, 2007

Great Hotel and staff

The Handerly was a very nice hotel. The location was fantastic. It was in the hub of everything. I was very satistied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, cable cars, public transportation.... Everything was 1-2 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diman
Business
rhode island
Sep 17, 2009

Handlery Union Square

Great staff, good food,clean rooms and excellent location for getting on transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Aug 4, 2009

Wonderful Stay in San Francisco

We went to San Francisco for a wedding and found this hotel so convenient--there was always a taxi outside to take you anywhere the concierge had suggested (and he was tops with his suggestions!). Shopping, restaurants, transportation--all there right outside the door! Couldn't ask for anything more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is just a short block away and the store has seven floors!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 20, 2008

Great Location

The SF Handlery is a great location!! Very near shopping, food, and many of the city's neighborhoods like Chinatown, North Beach, Embarcadaro and Fisherman's Wharf. The room was smaller than most american rooms, however, it was perfect for a trip to San Francisco were you our sightseeing most of the time! Room 608 in on the inside (atrium side) of the hotel but still a little street noise came through. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be centrally located!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for Great Dim Sum Yank Sing's is the best in the city. It is out of the way on Stevenson Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 16, 2007

Great location, great room!

I wasn't sure what to expect from the Handlery Hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was large, roomy and clean. We were right in the heart of the city. The people were nice and helpful. The room was VERY comfortbale!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast next door at Lefty O'Doul's was also wonderful and in expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top