$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
315 reviews
Great all around hotel

Fantastic weekend at the Handlery. Was in town for a wedding, and this location put us right next... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel with outdoor pool just steps from Union Square

This Union Square mainstay, dating back to 1908, mixes old and new under one roof. Older rooms bring with them a hearty dose of history; newer accommodations, completed in the last 15 years, are more spacious and have upgraded amenities. There's an outdoor pool -- a rarity for downtown San Francisco -- a heated sauna and an on-site barbershop. One of the city's most popular taverns, The Daily Grill, is located on the ground floor.

Highlights
  • Serene outdoor pool with heated sauna
  • Stroll to some of the best shopping in town
  • Stellar on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, serves up American classics.
  • On-site barbershop
  • Discount coupons to nearby Macy's
Rooms

The Handlery has 377 rooms in all -- 284 in the "historic" section of the hotel, and 93 in a newer and recently renovated part. Newer rooms, dubbed "Premier," measure 450 square feet and look out on the outdoor pool deck. They also include bathrobes and electric shoe polishers. The older rooms, dubbed "Historic," are part of the original 1908 construction and include mini-refrigerators, in-room safes and ironing boards. Some of the latter rooms offer views of the San Francisco skyline; Wi-Fi is available in all (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has been family owned and operated since the 1920s.

Service has been a strongpoint for all of those years; today the property employs multi-lingual concierges who arrange everything from dinner reservations to babysitter services. Other exceptional services include same-day laundry and dry-cleaning, as well as the on-site barber shop.

All guests have access to a Club One fitness center one block from the hotel (fees apply).

Grab a burger and a beer at The Daily Grill, a swanky but reliable bar on the ground floor. The weekend brunch here is rated among the best in the city (try the Bloody Mary and understand why).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Fisherman's Wharf
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Two sizable meeting rooms can be configured a number of ways.
  • Additional meeting space inside on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill.
  • Business Center
  • Audio/Visual equipment available for rental.
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Handlery Union Square Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Queen bed with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Premier Queen Queen
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with two queen beds in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Some Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Premier King
Spacious 450 square foot rooms with one king bed in the upgraded and modern Premier Section of the hotel. Featuring Serta Super Sleeper mattresses. Most Premier rooms have balconies that overlook the pool or the city and have upgraded amenities including daily newspaper delivery, terrycloth robes, vanity area, custom bath products and MP3 docking station. Standard features include iron and ironing board, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen TV, individual climate control with A/C and heat and in room safes.
Petite Room-One Bed
225 square feet. One full bed, best for one guest. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.
Standard Double Double
2 double beds with newly renovated furnishings. Amenities include in-room complimentary coffee, irons and ironing boards, Internet access, flat screen TV, hairdryers and mini refrigerators. Rooms also feature individual climate control with A/C and heat.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Handlery Union Square Hotel offers a variety of meeting faciities to fit various needs. The Union Square Room is 1,250 square feet and features the latest meeting technology, hand painted murals and a classic San Francisco decor. Catering services are also available from the Daily Grill restaurant. Other meeting rooms include a host of smaller rooms ranging in size from 500 to 600 square feet that can be tailored to fit many different needs.

Dining

Daily Grill
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent American cuisine, extensive menu and great cocktails make this popular bar a San Francisco "Hot Spot."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 17, 2008

great location

Hotel was just off union square, so lots of great shopping within a short walking distance. hotel rooms were pleasant and clean. staff was helpful. hotel restaurant was great. would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

try the Daily Grill restaurant

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Jul 24, 2007

Handlery Union Square

We enjoyed our week stay at the Handlery Union Square. It is close to all sources of transportation and lots of great stores around. It is in the middle of a lot of action, very lively. We were able to rest comfortably in our lovely room and the service was great! They let us check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 great breakfast places within a block and lots of shopping, nightlife and fun within 2 blocks!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Sacramento
May 17, 2011

B2B weekend!

Bay to Breakers weekend! Great location for walking to the race and to accessing public transportation. Loved the fact that the room included a refrigerator for use (not to sell over-priced items).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sanatorini was awesome!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Apr 12, 2007

My review of Handlery Union Square

Great location in Union Square.Rooms were clean and quite large, with sofa, chairs, coffee table desk, and balcony. Check in was a littler slow but the staff were quite friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we look forward to staying there on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Daily Grill is right next door as well as numerous other good restaurants within a one block radius.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
London
Oct 10, 2008

Fantastic location ... for everything!

The Handlery Hotel proved to be a great find. Great location, great service - what more could you want for a short stay in San Francisco - everything was on your doorstep; or the transport to it was. Helpful check-in staff, clean, light quiet room at a great rate - I was offered an upgrade from a Petite Double and it was well worth it. Having read some of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised. I cannot fault the helpful services or good sized room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A great location for everything. You can literally fall out of the hotel into Union Square which has great shops but also transport to almost everywhere if Union Square isn't your type of shopping.

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2007

excellent location

The Handlery at Union Square was in a great location --- walking distance from BART on Market Street, close to Union Square, superb shopping, cable cars, and walking distance to everything San Francisco. The room was quaint and old-style, but clean and quiet. The bathroom was very small, but the shower was immaculate and hot water ran well! The check-in process was a bit slow, and the reception area had a rank odor, but the upstairs guest's room smelled clean and fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Powell Street and cable cars and even Chinatown was within walking distance!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Apr 15, 2008

My review of Handlery Union Square

The hotel was in a very central and convenient location. It took only minutes to walk to Union Square. Immediately around the hotel block were the cable car, bus and trolley lines so public transportation was easily reached. Although our room had absolutely no view out the window because it faced another wall of the hotel, it didn't matter much. We spent all of our time outside and not looking out the window anyway. Or when we slept, the shades were always pulled. The front desk personnel were very helpful in providing directions and maps for us to get around. We didn't dine in the hotel since there were many good dining facilities within short walking distance from the hotel. For example, Lefty O'Dhouls which is immediately to the left of the hotel entrance served good, reasonably-priced meals. Even in back of the hotel, there is a terrific japanese restaurant which was always crowded. If you want to eat at Fisherman's Wharf, it only takes about 20 minutes on the cable car to get there. We were surprised to see many Walgreen stores in the downtown area where we could buy snacks and drinks. The area around the hotel is quite safe for walking around although I frequently saw panhandlers at street corners but they didn't bother anyone. The city blocks are small and the streets are not complicated. I would not recommend having a car because parking is extremely expensive. I think the Handlery charges $38 a day. The best thing to do is use the public transportation and buy the Muni Passport. It gives you unlimited rides on the cable cars, buses or trolleys for either one, three or seven days. We picked up our Muni Passports at the Airport near the baggage claim and once we got checked into our hotel, we used it right away to ride the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 26, 2007

Great Location and Value!

Ideal location for shopping and exploring Union Square and SOMA. Rooms are on small size and hotel is older but very well kept. Very tourist friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleries

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
joven/jill
los angeles,california
May 31, 2009

100% you wil enjoy and fantastic

100% we enjoy our stay and the is clean.the staff ie very helpful and nice personality.so, you are the BEST in our personal taste.GOOD LUCK KEEP THR GOOD WORK............

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 11, 2011

Great location and fabulous service

This hotel is wonderful. It is centrally located and close to all different kinds of transportation. The staff was very helpful and courteous and made our stay beyond comfortable. The room was very nice, the king size bed was comfortable and I was impressed at how nice the decor and view was for the price. I liked that there were a lot of outlet plugs available since I was travelling on business and had to work on my laptop while charging two phones. There was also an ipod docking station which was nice. All in all it was a great experience and I will definitely stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top